We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reaching Out Tea House

Reaching Out Tea House
Ranked #1 of 40 Coffee & Tea in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$5
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: After-hours, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Reaching Out Teahouse, a second location for our social enterprise, was created because we wanted to share authentic Hoi An (which means peaceful meeting) through the tradition of drinking tea and coffee with friends and visitors. Tranquility is assured in our ancient house furnished with antiques. Our servers are all speech and hearing impaired and the joy of silence is reflected throughout the experience. Customers enjoy the high quality of our teas and coffees as well as the gracious service. All of our tableware is hand crafted in the style of the imperial families of Hue and is available at our workshop and retail store a two-minute walk from the teahouse. In addition to ceramics, we feature embroidered tablecloths and unique accessories. Fair trade operating principles ensure that our disabled artisans and servers receive fair wages and work under safe conditions. We invite you to experience our teahouse and to let us know about your experience. We learn to make improvements to our products and services through customer feedback and good reports encourage others to find their way to our shop to enjoy the silence.
Donnybrook, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Teahouse experience was really good! Recommend the coffee tasting and tea tasting - beautiful staff, relaxed setting and lovely handmade biscuits.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello Tony
Thank you for recommending the tea and coffee tasting flights. We agree this is the best way to experience all of the flavours and aromas of our locally grown and processed​ leaves and beans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,749
    201
    22
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Excellent service and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Drinks and cookies were so delicious. Waitresses were very attentive and helpful. Best service we got in Hoi An so far. Relaxing cafe with a good view of the street. The only down side is that it's not very wallet friendly for budget travellers.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Coke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are happy to hear that you got the "best service in Hoi An so far" at the Reaching Out Tea House. Hope that you appreciate that our prices reflect the premium quality of our locally grown teas and coffees and homemade cookies and treats and of course our fair trade practices ensure fair wages for our staff and fair prices for our suppliers.

We really appreciate that you shared your precious travel dollars with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Unique experience ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very calm and beautiful peace place in the center of Hoi An.
I have loved the decoration and all the details!
Waiters are very nice and I had a delicious tea with coconut and chocolate cookies.
I recommend it without doubt!!!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank berta a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your recommendation. So happy that you enjoyed​ your peaceful experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely tea room which employs staff with disabilities, our waitress used sign language. There is also a linked shop which sells some lovely hand crafted product. Please support this ethical business!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank IMWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for encouraging Trip Advisor readers to experience our silent tea house, where the traditional service adds to the enjoyment of our teas and coffees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place was beautiful and relaxing. It was great to get some peace while sipping on a gorgeous cup of tea and watching the world go by. Definetly go if you want some peace and quiet!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Pippa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jothvn, Volunteer at Reaching Out Tea House, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Silence and tranquility are what sets the Reaching Out Tea House apart. Thanks for helping us to spread the word.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Reaching Out Tea House also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Reaching Out Tea House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing