We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here! No Seriously, Stay Here--It's Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Bushbuck is a gem in Zambia. When we were looking for places to stay in either Livingstone or Vic Falls I passed up booking here initially due to the location--we've had some bad experiences in the bush. In any event shortly before our trip I canceled our reservation at a hotel in town, and booked here--it was the best decision of the trip. Bushbuck gets you out of town and onto a beautiful property along the Zambezi. There were Hippos, Elephants, Bushbuck, Impala, and various other wildlife here that were easy to view. I'm a birder so I enjoyed being out of town and was able to see a lot of birds here. Alan was a good sport and twice took me to look for a bird I had hoped to see--we didn't see it, but saw a lot of other birds and it was a great time.

The beds were comfortable and I slept well here each night. The pool was nice and cool and felt great to dip your legs in during the hot weather. The food--amazing--the dinners were prepared fresh every night and really brought each day to a good end. Most of the other guest made for great company and conversation as well.

Oriel took care of booking our day trips to the falls, on the Zambezi, and to Chobe Park in Botswana. If you want something private to one of these place you'll need to book yourself, but if you don't mind group tours they make it easy.

Our last morning in Zambia Alan and I hike onto the island just off shore and saw Clawless River Otters--a great and unexpected way to end the trip!

Thanks Bushbuck for a great ending to our time in Africa!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the joint!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utah_Birdtographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for a few nights in September. Oriel and Alan did a fantastic job of making us feel welcome and we sincerely enjoyed our stay. All of our activities were arranged for us- which was a huge plus and made the trip extra convenient. First, a day trip to Chobe / Botswana. We saw elephant after elephant on the trip. We also did a game drive in the Mosi Oa Tunya park with Alan and we got to see Rhino! We also did the African Queen evening cruise and enjoyed seeing elephants and hippos on the river with cocktails. The farm house is really warm and inviting. We had a side room that had a nice bed (with a mosquito net, although we didn't need one then). There was also a small couch for reading. There was a nice warm electric shower in the bathroom. We spent one day just relaxing on the property- we enjoyed the pool, hanging out at the blind watching for hippos.

Two other favorites (in addition to everything listed above):
Nature walk with Alan when he was helping a bird watcher spot rare birds
Excellent dinners - both food and company

We appreciated the drop in town when my husbands glasses broke. They helped us find an optometrist to fix them ($2- much cheaper than anywhere else had quoted us).

I'd recommend staying here over one of the more expensive big hotels. The experience is better. The hosts are more welcoming. The other guests are fantastic. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay a Bushbuck. From Bushbuck we went on a River Cruise, to Chobe National Park for a day and canoeing on the Zambezi. Everything was organized for us so we were free to relax and enjoy. The property is lovely and is home to incredible birds and wildlife. Early morning on the patio watching birds and a parade of River Buck were my favorite. The accommodations were comfortable and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed at Bushbuck for 3 days in October and it was perfect. Alan and Oriel are knowledgable and attentive hosts and the other folks staying at the time were good fun so we became firm friends during our stay, they definitely added to the good feeling we have about Bushbuck. Our stay was relaxing tho we also managed to fit a lot in - Livingstone island, Devils pool, river cruise, dinner train, visit to the falls and the Victoria hotel in Zimbabwe.
The visiting elephants where a highlight as was dinner in the boma.
Do leave plenty of time to just stay and enjoy the lodge while here, a morning or pm of relaxing will be long remembered more than an other excursion.
We felt very fortunate to be staying here in what felt like home and for the knowledge and expertise about Africa and the region that Alan and Oriel shared.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontVt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed at Bushbuck River House for 4 nights with friends and had the most wonderful time. It was very relaxing, which was exactly what we needed after 5 exciting Safari days at Flatdogs Camp. We loved watching the elephants being so close to the property - just at the end of the garden. Also Alberts food was delicious, his dinner was a real treat. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
16.6 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,799 reviews
4.0 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
13.0 km away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.1 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
197 reviews
12.6 km away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $251 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing