We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bushbuck Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2017

A wonderful stay, particularly made possible by the attention to detail and knowledge of the manager, Linda. Nothing was too much trouble, even completing a job application form for me on her Apple Mac. Food, rooms and service were great. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Wifi available in main building. Wonderful views from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2017

10 of our family spent a wonderful week at the lodge for our daughters wedding in Livingstone. The owner (Oriel) and manager (Linda) were great hosts. The food far exceeded our expectations and Albert produced some great dishes and he and Linda made sure that as a vegetarian my food was just as surprising and delightful. The lodge is in great surroundings with game (elephant, bushbuck, monkeys etc)regularly in the grounds and has views of the Zambezi from the hide. The swimming pool was very much appreciated, particularly by our grandchildren.
It was an excellent base from which to explore all the wonderful attractions that Livingstone and the surrounding area has to offer - Victoria Falls, Chobe National Park, Crocodile Farm etc. All of us had a great time there and we plan to return.

Room Tip: The cottage next to the main lodge had air conditionig
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickmorris7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights, great rooms and brilliant food cooked by Albert with a great explanation of each course. Whilst there we could hear lions across the river and on 2nd day a whole herd of elephants crossed the river right at the end of the garden. Was great to see these great animals crossing the river helping the little ones. Orial the owner has great knowledge of all the animals around

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed at Bushbuck River House for 3 nights and it could not have been better.
The location is a short drive from Livingstone and not far from the airport, but just inside the park, so there's a very good chance of seeing lots of wildlife, there are no fences around the property so there a real feel of being in the bush, rather than in the grounds of a hotel. There is even a hide in front of the property which is a great place to sit with a drink waiting for any passing wildlife. There is also a pool and large pool house, which is very comfortable place to sit in during the evenings.
There is free wifi in the main outside dining area which although not super fast, was perfectly good.

We stayed in the 2 bedroomed downstairs cottage which was very comfortable, very nicely designed, spotlessly clean and with every necessary amenity. Perfect for us with our 2 teenage boys.
We booked with half board and both the breakfasts and evening meals were really excellent - thank you Albert!

The highlight for us however was the warm welcome, friendliness and the helpfulness of Alan and Linda, who really are the perfect hosts. They gave us many top tips on what to do and where to go and well as telling us all about the area and the wildlife. They are very professional and run the lodge perfectly and you can really see that they have a passion for it.

There is a very comprehensive list of activities available which we were advised to book in advance and they were all extremely well organised and ran like clockwork.
We canoed on the Zambezi, did a game drive and went on a sunset cruise on one day and on the second we visited Livingstone Island and swam in the "Devils Pool", which was absolutely amazing and then we walked all around the falls.
In all we had a wonderful and would love to return to Bushbuck Lodge some day.
We would recommend Bushbuck to anyone visiting Livingstone and Victoria Falls.

Room Tip: The cottage is a great option for families and has lovely views towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlpineHuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Very welcoming owner (Oriel) and Manager (Linda) We felt very welcome and were well looked after "as if we we were staying in someone's private home"
Lovely meals thanks very much Albert and for your charming explanation of the menu each evening
The transport provided to the various sightseeing activities made things easy for us
and we enjoyed coming back at the end of the day to the beautiful and peaceful environment on the farm on by the bank of the Zambezi River away from the main
tourist area

Room Tip: Both our rooms were excellent - we easily accessed wifi in the dining area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rosecdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
16.6 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,798 reviews
4.0 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
13.0 km away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.1 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
197 reviews
12.6 km away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $252 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing