We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bushbuck River House
Nearby Hotels
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$282
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
US$233
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fawlty Towers(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$68
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$358
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The River Club(Livingstone)
US$793
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$703
US$515
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
US$1,331
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
133
18
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
18
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsother gueststour of the propertybuffalo herdday trippatio watchingvictoria fallslivingstone islandinteresting conversationplace to staychobe national parkstayed here for three nightsan amazing placelocal marketsouthern africaeach eveningrhino walk
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2017

10 of our family spent a wonderful week at the lodge for our daughters wedding in Livingstone. The owner (Oriel) and manager (Linda) were great hosts. The food far exceeded our expectations and Albert produced some great dishes and he and Linda made sure that as a vegetarian my food was just as surprising and delightful. The lodge is in great surroundings with game (elephant, bushbuck, monkeys etc)regularly in the grounds and has views of the Zambezi from the hide. The swimming pool was very much appreciated, particularly by our grandchildren.
It was an excellent base from which to explore all the wonderful attractions that Livingstone and the surrounding area has to offer - Victoria Falls, Chobe National Park, Crocodile Farm etc. All of us had a great time there and we plan to return.

Room Tip: The cottage next to the main lodge had air conditionig
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rickmorris7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights, great rooms and brilliant food cooked by Albert with a great explanation of each course. Whilst there we could hear lions across the river and on 2nd day a whole herd of elephants crossed the river right at the end of the garden. Was great to see these great animals crossing the river helping the little ones. Orial the owner has great knowledge of all the animals around

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed at Bushbuck River House for 3 nights and it could not have been better.
The location is a short drive from Livingstone and not far from the airport, but just inside the park, so there's a very good chance of seeing lots of wildlife, there are no fences around the property so there a real feel of being in the bush, rather than in the grounds of a hotel. There is even a hide in front of the property which is a great place to sit with a drink waiting for any passing wildlife. There is also a pool and large pool house, which is very comfortable place to sit in during the evenings.
There is free wifi in the main outside dining area which although not super fast, was perfectly good.

We stayed in the 2 bedroomed downstairs cottage which was very comfortable, very nicely designed, spotlessly clean and with every necessary amenity. Perfect for us with our 2 teenage boys.
We booked with half board and both the breakfasts and evening meals were really excellent - thank you Albert!

The highlight for us however was the warm welcome, friendliness and the helpfulness of Alan and Linda, who really are the perfect hosts. They gave us many top tips on what to do and where to go and well as telling us all about the area and the wildlife. They are very professional and run the lodge perfectly and you can really see that they have a passion for it.

There is a very comprehensive list of activities available which we were advised to book in advance and they were all extremely well organised and ran like clockwork.
We canoed on the Zambezi, did a game drive and went on a sunset cruise on one day and on the second we visited Livingstone Island and swam in the "Devils Pool", which was absolutely amazing and then we walked all around the falls.
In all we had a wonderful and would love to return to Bushbuck Lodge some day.
We would recommend Bushbuck to anyone visiting Livingstone and Victoria Falls.

Room Tip: The cottage is a great option for families and has lovely views towards the river.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AlpineHuckle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Very welcoming owner (Oriel) and Manager (Linda) We felt very welcome and were well looked after "as if we we were staying in someone's private home"
Lovely meals thanks very much Albert and for your charming explanation of the menu each evening
The transport provided to the various sightseeing activities made things easy for us
and we enjoyed coming back at the end of the day to the beautiful and peaceful environment on the farm on by the bank of the Zambezi River away from the main
tourist area

Room Tip: Both our rooms were excellent - we easily accessed wifi in the dining area
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rosecdodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

We have recently stayed here for 10 days and had the best holiday of our lives! Oriel and Linda planned our whole trip for us and made sure we had a great time from the moment they picked us up from the airport.

They were more than happy to transfer us to all our activities we had lined up and if we needed to pop into town for anything at all.

Couldn't recommend a place to stay more, will definitely be returning.

We even had a hippo come and see us every night at dinner! Was an amazing place, with comfy beds and awesome showers :)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews