We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Relaxing enjoyable, and Educational - Great place to stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This place is exceptional. The value is unparalleled but, the best part is that Linda and her staff knowledgeable, and exceptionally talented. The food was fantastic ( thank you, Albert, your dinner presentations and descriptions were impressive). The accommodation, friendly attitude and flexibility was continuous. Linda, thank you so much. You are very special and manage an excellent facility.

Room Tip: Our preference was to stay in the lodge and not the main building. The walk to the main building wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for the very kind review Steve. So glad you had a great time here - it's been quiet without you all!
Hope to see you again one day.
Regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Linda the manager made us feel so welcome! When we arrived she let us know that we were the only people staying at the lodge (2 couples) so she upgraded our rooms free of charge. The rooms were stunning, very clean and came with better tea, coffee and clean drinking water than you find in most hotels. We asked for a meal on arrival which was prepared by Albert, the friendliest man in the world! The meal was very tasty but slightly over priced for what it was (only bad thing I have to say about the place). The first morning there we got chatting to Linda that we had missed an episode of Game of Thrones, she had it recorded on the tv in the common area and insisted we watch it! Very nice touch She really puts in the effort with guests, showing us pictures of the night camera traps she had set up so you can see the wildlife surrounding the area if you didn't see any in person. If you are staying there to relax or go see the sites it would be silly not to stay here. I'm gonna miss Mojo(Linda's dog) so much, the sweetest little dog you'll ever meet! The next time we go back to Livingstone I will 100% be staying there!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for a fab review Simon.
Mojo is missing you! Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Comfortable, homely and scenic accommodation set in the Zambian bush right beside the Zambezi river. The stuff made us feel at home from the moment we got there. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast especially catered to each individual guest. The guest house is roughly 13 km from the town center and for ease of movement having a personal vehicle would be recommended.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sepon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks Sepo,
Great having you to stay, and glad to hear you had a good time.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

We chose to stay at Bushbuck after reading all the great reviews and we weren't disappointed. Linda picked us up at the airport and from the moment we met she made us feel welcome. She shared with us her recommendations for trips which were spot on and helped maximise our time there. Including her advice to also visit Zimbabwe to see the Falls from both sides. The food was outstanding, Albert was an absolute star and created delicious vegetarian options for me alongside meat dishes for my husband plus yummy puds! The staff were friendly and we felt very safe and secure during our stay, despite passing elephants and hippos during the night! Special shout out must also go to the handsome Mojo, the Jack Russell! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the look out point was an amazing place to watch the Zambezi. Linda was very knowledgeable and made our trip for us from driving us round the local market to our drop off points for our trips. We would also recommend kayaking along the Zambezi and watching the sun set at the Royal Livingstone. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shirly310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for the kind review, it was great having you guys to stay and a pleasure looking after you. Mojo is proud to accept his position of handsome dog!
Hope to see you again so day.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We had a great time staying at BRH in the cottage for 3 nights, in fact it was the best place we stayed in our 2 week holiday. Rooms were very clean with everything you needed for a comfortable stay, including mosquito nets, insect spray and toiletries.
After game drives it was very relaxing to spend time in the garden, looking out over the Zambezi from the hide or having a quick swim.
Food was great, thank you Albert. In fact all the staff were lovely; really friendly but in a non intrusive low key way. Basically nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Linda for a great stay. Would highly recommend. So much better than a hotel.
Jenny, David and co.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Owner at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Jenny, David & Co.
Thanks very much for taking time to post your review. We are very happy to know that Bushbuck was just right for you. All the staff would like to thank you for deciding to stay and are really pleased that you appreciated them. I hope you might find time to stay with us again should your travels take you to Livingstone again.
Best Wishes,
Oriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
16.6 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,803 reviews
4.0 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
13.0 km away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.1 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
197 reviews
12.6 km away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $252 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing