We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
135
17
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
17
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews other guests tour of the property buffalo herd day trip victoria falls livingstone island chobe national park interesting conversation place to stay stayed here for three nights an amazing place local market southern africa each evening rhino walk helicopter ride oriel
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Linda the manager made us feel so welcome! When we arrived she let us know that we were the only people staying at the lodge (2 couples) so she upgraded our rooms free of charge. The rooms were stunning, very clean and came with better tea, coffee and clean drinking water than you find in most hotels. We asked for a meal on arrival which was prepared by Albert, the friendliest man in the world! The meal was very tasty but slightly over priced for what it was (only bad thing I have to say about the place). The first morning there we got chatting to Linda that we had missed an episode of Game of Thrones, she had it recorded on the tv in the common area and insisted we watch it! Very nice touch She really puts in the effort with guests, showing us pictures of the night camera traps she had set up so you can see the wildlife surrounding the area if you didn't see any in person. If you are staying there to relax or go see the sites it would be silly not to stay here. I'm gonna miss Mojo(Linda's dog) so much, the sweetest little dog you'll ever meet! The next time we go back to Livingstone I will 100% be staying there!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank simonmT3849JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for a fab review Simon.
Mojo is missing you! Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Comfortable, homely and scenic accommodation set in the Zambian bush right beside the Zambezi river. The stuff made us feel at home from the moment we got there. The rooms were lovely and the breakfast especially catered to each individual guest. The guest house is roughly 13 km from the town center and for ease of movement having a personal vehicle would be recommended.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sepon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks Sepo,
Great having you to stay, and glad to hear you had a good time.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

We chose to stay at Bushbuck after reading all the great reviews and we weren't disappointed. Linda picked us up at the airport and from the moment we met she made us feel welcome. She shared with us her recommendations for trips which were spot on and helped maximise our time there. Including her advice to also visit Zimbabwe to see the Falls from both sides. The food was outstanding, Albert was an absolute star and created delicious vegetarian options for me alongside meat dishes for my husband plus yummy puds! The staff were friendly and we felt very safe and secure during our stay, despite passing elephants and hippos during the night! Special shout out must also go to the handsome Mojo, the Jack Russell! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the look out point was an amazing place to watch the Zambezi. Linda was very knowledgeable and made our trip for us from driving us round the local market to our drop off points for our trips. We would also recommend kayaking along the Zambezi and watching the sun set at the Royal Livingstone. Thank you for such an enjoyable stay.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shirly310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Thank you for the kind review, it was great having you guys to stay and a pleasure looking after you. Mojo is proud to accept his position of handsome dog!
Hope to see you again so day.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We had a great time staying at BRH in the cottage for 3 nights, in fact it was the best place we stayed in our 2 week holiday. Rooms were very clean with everything you needed for a comfortable stay, including mosquito nets, insect spray and toiletries.
After game drives it was very relaxing to spend time in the garden, looking out over the Zambezi from the hide or having a quick swim.
Food was great, thank you Albert. In fact all the staff were lovely; really friendly but in a non intrusive low key way. Basically nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Linda for a great stay. Would highly recommend. So much better than a hotel.
Jenny, David and co.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Owner at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Dear Jenny, David & Co.
Thanks very much for taking time to post your review. We are very happy to know that Bushbuck was just right for you. All the staff would like to thank you for deciding to stay and are really pleased that you appreciated them. I hope you might find time to stay with us again should your travels take you to Livingstone again.
Best Wishes,
Oriel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

My husband and I brought a group of 17 to stay at Bushbuck for 4 nights and it fit our needs perfectly! We were mostly naturalists, interested in seeing as many animals and birds as possible (Rhino Walk, Zambezi river float, River Dinner Cruise, and Botswana Day trip for jeep and river safaris), as well as Vic Falls, and the markets in Livingstone. Linda helped arranged some last minute add-on activities for several in our group though we had thought all needed to be done in advance. Our overland truck with driver and cook were able to park on site and cook for us as they had all trip. Transportation in and out of town was done by our driver as needed by our group, to attend planned activities, but only took about 20-30 minutes. The wonderful birding, view of the river from the patio, and sounds of hippos in the river were worth the drive!
The beautiful rooms were somewhat small, but most had private baths, and all were clean and very comfortable. We were outside from dawn until dusk each day, soaking up the beauty of the area, so the small size did not matter to us. Laundry services were available, and Linda and Alan went out of their way to make sure we all had everything we needed. Alan even took those in our group who wanted bird watching tips on a tour of the property, sharing great stories and pointing out birds we might not have noticed if he were not with us!
Wifi was a bit slow, but where is it any other way in Zambia? When on vacation I almost hope it is slow, so I can stay on vacation and not think about work!
Linda's stories of her overland truck driving days were fantastic! I'll be going back to Bushbuck with another tour group as soon as I can! It is the prefect place for groups between 12-18 people, so you can take over the entire lodge like we did this time. Incredible place!

Room Tip: Rooms in the cottage have no wifi and offer shared bathrooms, but those in the house have private baths and slow wifi.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Scott E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews