We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bushbuck River House
Nearby Hotels
US$333
US$203
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Camp Nkwazi(Livingstone)
US$233
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gloria's Bed & Breakfast(Livingstone)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$138
US$127
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$352
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$690
US$582
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The River Club(Livingstone)
US$783
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islands of Siankaba(Livingstone)
US$1,019
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Tongabezi(Livingstone)
US$1,179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
133
18
0
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
18
0
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat hostsother gueststour of the propertybuffalo herdday trippatio watchingvictoria fallslivingstone islandinteresting conversationplace to staychobe national parkstayed here for three nightsan amazing placelocal marketsouthern africaeach eveningrhino walk
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed at Bushbuck River House for three days but wished it could have been for longer.

The location is brilliant if you're looking for somewhere to take in the beautiful natural environment. It's on the edge of Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park with a view of the Zambesi - a little way outside of Livingstone.

We weren't the only guests as some elephants passed through the garden on our first afternoon and we were also lucky to see buffalo one evening,

We were made very much at home by everyone at Bushbuck. Linda and Oriel were very helpful in helping us make the most of our short time at the Falls, happy to make bookings on our behalf and to offer advice on what to do and how to get about.

The room was good and cooked breakfasts set us up well for our days out exploring the area. We very much enjoyed the two meals that we had sitting outside as darkness fell and the sounds of the Zambian bush filled the air. Good memories of a lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Owner at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the wildlife and setting of Bushbuck. I hope we might enjoy your company again some time in the future, there is still so much more to see and do, and more memories to add.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

A good place to stay if you want to be in a rural setting outside of Livingstone. If you do not have your own transport you will need to take taxis which are not cheap as it is a bit of a distance from Livingstone. Recommended if you have your own transport and/or if you want a few days to chill. Close to national park so animals may pass through.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinna563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We stayed here for three nights in July and were sorely tempted to stay a LOT longer! Linda not only made us feel incredibly welcome but was a mine of info not only for travelling onwards and helping us plan our trip into the CKGR and Hwange National Park but also for the wildlife - both around the lodge and further afield. Our two boys cant stop talking about Bushbuck lodge and it was one of the highlights of our 8 week travels around southern Africa. We would like to thank Linda, Albert and all the staff for being so caring and attentive, helpful and friendly and making this one of the most special places we have stayed at. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vicki380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Vicki, Julian, Albie and Iggy for staying with us, shame it wasn't for longer. It was a pleasure looking after you and showing the boys lots of different things. I hope the elephant poo made it home in one piece for show and tell!
Hope to see you all again very soon, and thanks for a fab review.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This place is exceptional. The value is unparalleled but, the best part is that Linda and her staff knowledgeable, and exceptionally talented. The food was fantastic ( thank you, Albert, your dinner presentations and descriptions were impressive). The accommodation, friendly attitude and flexibility was continuous. Linda, thank you so much. You are very special and manage an excellent facility.

Room Tip: Our preference was to stay in the lodge and not the main building. The walk to the main building was less than 5 minutes.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for the very kind review Steve. So glad you had a great time here - it's been quiet without you all!
Hope to see you again one day.
Regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left Linda the manager made us feel so welcome! When we arrived she let us know that we were the only people staying at the lodge (2 couples) so she upgraded our rooms free of charge. The rooms were stunning, very clean and came with better tea, coffee and clean drinking water than you find in most hotels. We asked for a meal on arrival which was prepared by Albert, the friendliest man in the world! The meal was very tasty but slightly over priced for what it was (only bad thing I have to say about the place). The first morning there we got chatting to Linda that we had missed an episode of Game of Thrones, she had it recorded on the tv in the common area and insisted we watch it! Very nice touch She really puts in the effort with guests, showing us pictures of the night camera traps she had set up so you can see the wildlife surrounding the area if you didn't see any in person. If you are staying there to relax or go see the sites it would be silly not to stay here. I'm gonna miss Mojo(Linda's dog) so much, the sweetest little dog you'll ever meet! The next time we go back to Livingstone I will 100% be staying there!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thanks for a fab review Simon.
Mojo is missing you! Hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews