We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something very different and intimate in Livingstone”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bushbuck River House
Ranked #6 of 37 Livingstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Bushbuck River House is well out of town - that is a large part of its charm as it is an intimate setting on the banks of the Zambezi. We didn't get a hippo visit, but we did see the local buffalo herd twice and had an early morning visit from a young bull elephant that gave us a great photo set - possibly because he took a dislike to my purple tee! Being out of town comes at a cost as transfers are expensive - but Oriel and Linda will work hard with and for you to plan things so that you can minimize the cost. The "house" itself is charming - thatch, river views and Mojo the "wonder dog". Breakfast was great (cooked and continental) but the evening meals were the glory. It's like sitting down with old friends to "chew the fat". Oriel and Linda are there sharing stories and if there are other guests it's a really interesting conversation, all set around Albert's (the chef) creation du-jour. There is not much choice, but tell them up front what you like and what you do not and Albert will do wonders. Some of the spiders in our room were incredibly beautiful. I know some don't like spiders, but we are Australian, and seriously, these were just gorgeous tiny babies compared to our locals. My one gripe is that the internet is slow and unreliable. My suggestion to Bushbuck would be to back off their wifi claims because they know there are issues. And having had that gripe, let me praise, not just our stay, but all that Oriel and Linda did for us before we arrived, while we were there and while we were between stays. Through them, we did the two best activities in the Vic Falls area: The longer heli flight and Livingstone Island / Devils pool. They also organised our transfers to/from Botswana for a fraction of the tour operators costs in immaculate vehicles with drivers who were safe, friendly, punctual, knowledgeable and helpful. Having "Frank" "chuck a U" in front of us and ask "Alex?" on the Zambian side of the Kazungula Ferry is one of my special "Africa" moments.

Room Tip: Talk to them (email). I learned / planned so much from my emails with Oriel months before we arrive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stitlown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed at Bushbuck River House for three days but wished it could have been for longer.

The location is brilliant if you're looking for somewhere to take in the beautiful natural environment. It's on the edge of Mosi-Oa-Tunya National Park with a view of the Zambesi - a little way outside of Livingstone.

We weren't the only guests as some elephants passed through the garden on our first afternoon and we were also lucky to see buffalo one evening,

We were made very much at home by everyone at Bushbuck. Linda and Oriel were very helpful in helping us make the most of our short time at the Falls, happy to make bookings on our behalf and to offer advice on what to do and how to get about.

The room was good and cooked breakfasts set us up well for our days out exploring the area. We very much enjoyed the two meals that we had sitting outside as darkness fell and the sounds of the Zambian bush filled the air. Good memories of a lovely place.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Owner at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the wildlife and setting of Bushbuck. I hope we might enjoy your company again some time in the future, there is still so much more to see and do, and more memories to add.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

A good place to stay if you want to be in a rural setting outside of Livingstone. If you do not have your own transport you will need to take taxis which are not cheap as it is a bit of a distance from Livingstone. Recommended if you have your own transport and/or if you want a few days to chill. Close to national park so animals may pass through.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corinna563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

We stayed here for three nights in July and were sorely tempted to stay a LOT longer! Linda not only made us feel incredibly welcome but was a mine of info not only for travelling onwards and helping us plan our trip into the CKGR and Hwange National Park but also for the wildlife - both around the lodge and further afield. Our two boys cant stop talking about Bushbuck lodge and it was one of the highlights of our 8 week travels around southern Africa. We would like to thank Linda, Albert and all the staff for being so caring and attentive, helpful and friendly and making this one of the most special places we have stayed at. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vicki380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Thank you Vicki, Julian, Albie and Iggy for staying with us, shame it wasn't for longer. It was a pleasure looking after you and showing the boys lots of different things. I hope the elephant poo made it home in one piece for show and tell!
Hope to see you all again very soon, and thanks for a fab review.
Cheers
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This place is exceptional. The value is unparalleled but, the best part is that Linda and her staff knowledgeable, and exceptionally talented. The food was fantastic ( thank you, Albert, your dinner presentations and descriptions were impressive). The accommodation, friendly attitude and flexibility was continuous. Linda, thank you so much. You are very special and manage an excellent facility.

Room Tip: Our preference was to stay in the lodge and not the main building. The walk to the main building wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriel S, Manager at Bushbuck River House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for the very kind review Steve. So glad you had a great time here - it's been quiet without you all!
Hope to see you again one day.
Regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Livingstone hotels
16.6 km away
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
AVANI Victoria Falls Resort
#3 of 18 in Livingstone
1,799 reviews
4.0 km away
Tongabezi
Tongabezi
#1 of 18 in Livingstone
414 reviews
13.0 km away
Protea Hotel Livingstone
Protea Hotel Livingstone
#5 of 18 in Livingstone
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Royal Livingstone Victoria Falls Zambia Hotel by Anantara
4.1 km away
The River Club
The River Club
#4 of 18 in Livingstone
197 reviews
12.6 km away
The David Livingstone Safari Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushbuck River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushbuck River House

Address: Plot 1607 Liyoyelo Farm | off Nakatindi Road, Livingstone 60060, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Southern Province > Livingstone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Livingstone
Price Range: $252 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushbuck River House is set in 105 acres of bush on the banks of the Zambezi, 16km from Livingstone. It is the first property beyond the Mosi-oa-Tunya National Park. The house is an owner-run traditional Zambian farmhouse, which has been renovated and thatched to a high standard. All rooms in the main house are en-suite and there is a swimming pool, pool boma and tree house/viewing platform overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bushbuck River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing