We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant for dinner in Tala bay”
Review of De Soto Restaurant

De Soto Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 97 Restaurants in Aqaba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$69
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Coffee . Wine . Books. DeSoto restaurant & Bar offers fine wine and delicious food with an outstanding experience in the heart of Tala Bay Resort, the interior of the restaurant looks like the hull of a ship, outdoor terrace is available that overlooks the Boat Marina and the Red Sea. DeSoto Restaurant & Bar is named after Hernando De Soto, a Spanish explorer & trader in 1533 who went on expeditions sailing through seas to claim remarkable discoveries and treasures; he was an explorer with great courage. Therefore, DeSoto gives you the opportunity to explore our delicious food, special wines and unique ambience.
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

FOOD
Had the Denise fish which was fantastic. Prices are slightly higher than usual Amman prices.

LOCATION
Located at the marina of Tala bay, De Soto has the best view and space for any group size.

SERVICE
The place was packed, so the waiters were somewhat overwhelmed with orders. But they managed well.

Thank AqlAql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz i, Public Relations Manager at De Soto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Dear AqlAql
Thank you for giving us a perfect rate, and taking time to write us a review.
We highly appreciate it, we hope to see you again at De soto.

Best Regards,
De soto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Great food, great service and very nice music. We have been there 3 times in our holidays and it was amazing every time.

Thank maia047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz i, Public Relations Manager at De Soto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear maia047
Thank you giving us a perfect rate, and taking time to write us a review.
We highly appreciate it. We hope to see you again at De soto.

Best Regards,
De soto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This place covers it all, beautiful decoration, Good and refinded food, nice drinks & local the and of cours kindness...
I would certainly recommend this restaurant wich alos has a large an beautifull terras with a view on the port and the sea.

Thank clifford_radmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz i, Public Relations Manager at De Soto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Dear clifford_radmore
Thank you for giving us a perfect rate, and taking time to write us a review. We highly appreciate it, and we hope to see you again at De Soto.


Best Regards,
De soto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

Just passed by the marina for a walk about and felt a bit hungry.
The service was quick and professional.
Nice outdoor sitting overlooking the marina / yacht club...
- spicy tandoori chicken skewers with mango chutney, a rather small portion and priced at JOD 6.950
- a pint of heineken beer at JOD 5.95
- an american hot pizza as the ham pizza was not available at JOD 7.95,an 8' pizza not spicy at all, with peperoni and to my liking too much cheese, the crust was ok.

These are normal Aqaba prices unfortunately not total price add 10% service charge and 7% local taxes, it's a bit of a calculation game. Portions are ok if you have 2 courses friendly smilling service by filippino a waitresses, however overpriced for quality on offer. Please keep in mind that there are not many places around to dine.
The food and service found here was the best I had in Aqaba so far in 11 days. Plenty of room to improve. Considering what else is on offer it was great.


Thank Foodie226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz i, Public Relations Manager at De Soto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Foodie226
Thank you for taking time to write us a review, it's highly appreciated. We hope to see you again at De soto.

Best Regards,
De soto management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We ate here twice. Once for lunch where my companions had fish and chips and I had a smoked salmon salad. All good except for the chips had a real seafood taint from the oil they were fried in. We went for dinner and few nights later and two of us had sandwiches which came in a big, bready stale bun. Not so good. The wait staff were very apologetic and gave us a piece of cheesecake on the house. I think that they are really trying to make something of this restaurant and the staff were great- they just need to improve the food.

Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz i, Public Relations Manager at De Soto Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Catherine B
Thank you for taking time to write us a review, we highly appreciate it. We hope to see you again at De soto.

Best Regards,
Desoto Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Soto Restaurant also viewed

Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
Aqaba, Al Aqabah Governorate
 

Been to De Soto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing