We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views of the Alps” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shinhotaka Ropeway

Shinhotaka Ropeway
Ranked #1 of 146 things to do in Takayama
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Beautiful views of the Alps”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

I travelled here on a day trip from Takayama at the end of May and there was still snow on the mountains! Buses left from the Nohi bus building next door to the train station in Takayama, and it took about 90 minutes to reach to ropeway. There wasn't many food options once you reach there so it's a good idea to pack your own lunch. There were spectacular views from the top! The only downfall is that a roundtrip to the ropeway from Takayama takes a whole day, so is only worthwhile if you have a little time up your sleeves.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank trutraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    211
    65
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome way to get up the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Used it as a starting point to hike over to Kamikochi.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BSHinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everywhere USA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Japanese trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We varied from our train tour to add a bus trip from Takayama to Matsumoto. Fabulous decision. Easy bus transfers and the Ropeway provides unbelieveable views. Highly recommend a stop here!!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pshurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Snow Snow Snow....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We took a day trip to Shin Hodaka from Takayama with a pass that cover both the bus ride from takayama to shin hodaka and the ropeway up to the mountain. For Y5000, i think this pass is excellent value. We got this from the JTB office beside the JR train station.
Unfortunately it snowed heavily on the day we went, it was early April 2012. It was -12C on the top. We saw nothing as it was all foggy up there except for a snow man ! But we still enjoyed our day out here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank whereisfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pricey but good view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

2800yen for return ticket can be a bit too expensive.
But the view is awesome especially in fall - with autumn color of leaves.
You can see Northern Alps up-close.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shinhotaka Ropeway also viewed

 
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
Takayama, Gifu Prefecture
 

Been to Shinhotaka Ropeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing