We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$175
View deal
Hotels.com
US$175
View deal
FindHotel
US$157
View deal
Booking.comUS$203
PricelineUS$203
eDreamsUS$203
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (787)
Filter reviews
787 results
Traveller rating
277
385
95
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
277
385
95
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shuttle bus large hotel hot springs onsen bath japanese style town spa floor alps conditioner shampoo yukata
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 787 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed 3 nights during the summer. This hotel is situated halfway up a hill and all the rooms and hotsprings have views of the town below and the hills besides the hotel. There is free parking also free shuttle bus to the Takayama JR station. Also free wifi internet, however the signal is very weak in the rooms unless you stand by the window. If you need ethernet connection, I think you could hire a device from them for 500 Yen.

Although not new, the rooms were big (we booked a twin but were given a triple room) and clean. Staff were nice and helpful. Restaurant wise, there was a Japanese Restaurant (quite pricey), a Buffet/French/Tapanayaki restaurant and another more casual Japanese canteen in the Spa area. The Spa canteen closed quite late (around 1100pm I think, whilst the other two were closed earlier. Otherwise there was not much within walking distance. If you do not have breakfast and dinner included in your stay, the buffet breakfast and dinners cost around 2300Yen and 3800Yen respectively.

The Japanese hotsprings were free for guests and consisted of two separate floors for male and female (they alternated daily so you can try both during your stay). Each floor of hotsprings had a number of baths both indoors and semi outdoors (with roof cover). It was pleasant in the summer but I could imagine it to be even better with all the snow outside in the winter.

All in all this was a nice hotel. Rooms were big and great for families and it is well located for you to explore the Takayama and the Hida area.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EdHK2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights just before the spring festival and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Amazed at the size of our room – huge by Japanese standards. Only negative about the room are the beds – they are hard but that is what we expected. Good clothing storage within our room. Fantastic view of Takayama and the Japanese Alps from our room. Shuttle bus is excellent and makes it easy to get into town and back again. Staff were excellent; found many were able to speak some English which made things easier. All in all a great stay and would definitely recommend it. Someone has mentioned Shirakawa – definitely make the time to go as its beautiful

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sailorpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2012

If this is not a 5 star hotel, it should be. Very well kept accommodations, wonderful views of Takayama and the valley, excellent food & service, and the most fabulous onsen spas! We were there for 3 days/2 nights during the Autumn Festival in Takayama (shuttle bus into town makes it very convenient). The natural hot springs onsens (one for men; one for women) have several different pools and waterfalls to enjoy, with great views. While you're in the area, don't miss a visit to Shirakawa.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dboth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2012

A classy resort with rooms much bigger than typical Japanese hotel rooms. Its Japanese bath facilities are highly impressive, with outdoors pools and tubs looking out on the mountains and the town of Takayama below. Many restaurants in the hotel, including an inexpensive one next to the Japanese bath facilities and looking out on the town below. A shuttle bus runs regularly between the resort and the Takayama train station downtown. Breakfast buffet offers a wide variety of choices. Strongly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puzzled02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Even though the hotel is situated 10 minutes out of town it really wasn't a problem as a bit of forethought and planning ensured that the hotels free bus was available. We were most impressed with the quality of the professional service provided by the staff. The hotel is very impressive with room views of Takayama and the Japanese Alps that are worth the the room charge by themselves. The meals were excellent as were the onsens. The early morning views from the onsens were sensational. We would rebook tomorrow and stay at least a week if it was possible.

Room tip: Work out the bus service early
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews