We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
10
21
14
11
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
21
14
11
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night and did the full packed of room with private spa including dinner and breakfast in the room. As advised by a Japanese friend of ours. It was amazing, one of the highlights of the 18 day trip to Japan. Amazing food, beaches, great views from the public spa and perfect to have the private spa in the room. Dinner and breakfast in the room was wonderful, served by Hitomi who was awesome.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank miss_leyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015

I spent one night here . The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the station, but not too hard to find if you have a map, or you can get directions from the information centre at the station. The hotel has both indoor and outdoor Onsen which it shares with the hotel next door. The Onsen are great and used by locals aswell as hotel guests. We stayed in a traditional japanese room for 4 people, which had both a western style bedroom and tatami room where you can sleep on futons. The hotel offers a traditional style kaiseki dinning experience in a banquet room, where you have a private area. The food was excellent although there was no English menu. I would recommend this hotel for someone looking for the traditional japenese experience.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

It is not that close to train station, contrary to other review. about 2-3 city blocks. not doable with any significant amount of luggage. also far harder to find that suggested. we took a wrong turn and all the streets look the same. suggest a taxi unless you already know the area,and have little or no luggage. also, need to go up steps to the hotel (although they will help you with luggage if you go upstairs first and tell them).

Give you small vegggies/miso at dinner time if you don't get the kaiseki meal.

Hotel itself is nice. we stayed in classic tatami room, where futons are laid out every evening, and removed in the AM. 25 rooms so pretty small. Very japanese, so not great if no english, but we saw many Westerners staying there. The hot springs are shared with the hotel next door. you have to walk to another building, go up an elevator, but not a big deal. Hot springs scaldingly hot, both indoor/outdoor. quite large, could easily accommodate 20 people. fortunately we were in low season, so not too many people. too bad we couldn't tolerate the extreme heat. be warned.

Room itself was great. fairly large, easily accommodates 3 or 4 people. nice cedar tub, japanese style bath/toilet. excellent a/c (needed as >90F).

Outside hotel very near the beach (<5 minutes), which may explain premium pricing. Beach is not that great, kind of dirty, not western quality. however, my kid loved looking for crabs, other sea life. many fisherman.

Did not get meals there. There is a Johnathan's (like Denny's) next to beach/hotel, which is good for family eating. great ramen place and sushi place on the main street by the hotel and beach (near johnathans and 7/11 convenience store about 5 minute walk. innumerable other restaurants in main street area, but not time to try them all

Very little else to do except the hot springs, so only good if that is all you want. also, if you like beach.

Beachfront good for jogging.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dafdafd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

I followed tripadvisor review and found the hotel easily. The hotel building & layout is qutie unique in neighbourhood. Though not good at English, the hotel owners/ladies who serve you are trying their best to give you a pleasant stay experiences. The room is quite big, suprised to find there is a private orsen in the garden. The dinner that we booked is another nice surprise - very authentic Japanese food with many, many small dishes said inspired by tea ceremony. The public orsen is nice too. Following a downhill road opposite to hotel entrance, you will reach sea & beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purple_jz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

It was easy to find my way there from Atami Station. Just walk to the end of the shopping street at Atami Station, & you will find a Shell Station. Take the small downhill road next to the shell Station. Walk about 5min & you will see Wafukan on the right side of the street.
Booked a Japanese Tatami room with a private outdoor onsen. Room was quite big, with toilet & bath/shower separate. Outdoor onsen, however, was next to the street, so be careful not to be undressed.
Dinner was delicious, with many small dishes. Although the lady serving the meal didnt speak English, she made efforts by asking the hotel reception to write down in English what she wanted to express. Very pleasant & friendly people at the hotel.
Hotel location was right in the city. Walk a few minutes & you will see the Moon Terrace & Atami Ginza. Very near to the bus-stop too, if you want to take the Yu-Yu bus, which takes you around the attractions at 800Yen the whole day. You can hop on & off the bus by flagging a pass, which is given when you first pay for the fare. There is a tourguide on the bus too, but he only speaks Japanese.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hlmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews