We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Booking.com
US$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$70
View deal
Free cancellation until 26/08/22
Hotels.comUS$78
TravelocityUS$78
ZenHotels.comUS$82
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (855)
Filter reviews
858 results
Traveller rating
252
458
117
21
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
458
117
21
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 858 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2020

This hotel has everything you need. It is located near major sightseeing spots. It has an Onsen. It has great breakfast buffet. Rooms are very clean. We were in the west wing which is a bit dated but our room has amazing view. The main building just got renovated so rooms are better.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jenferlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2019 via mobile

Stayed at the Hakodate Kokusai Hotel as past of a tour. It is a very comfortable hotel with good size rooms, good facilities and comfortable beds. Air conditioning is a problem and I had to turn this off to make the room cool enough. We had a dinner at the hotel that was delicious with a number of courses of very fresh local foods. Breakfast was just as delicious with a wide choice of foods.

Date of stay: November 2019
2  Thank 669JennyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2019

We had an enjoyable stay at this hotel which is close to the Morning Market, Red Brick Warehouse and Ainu museum. It is very clean with refurbished bathroom that had complimentary amenities that substitues for a toilet kit except for aftershave. The bathtub was "furo" sized. The bedding was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was very good with Japanese, Asian and Western items including grilled steak strips! We paid $20 but if ordered at the time of the reservation, there is a discount.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stanley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2019

Stayed at Hakodate Kokusai for 2 nights in October. Our room was large and clean. The bed was comfortable. Hotel onsen public area was nice with Dyson hair dryer. But since the hotel is in the city so no view.
There is a cheese cake shop at the hotel’s lobby and it is so good.
We did not take hotel breakfast so no review but there is a sign telling guests what are peak and off-peak hours for breakfast so you can avoid crowd.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wareemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2019

I would have given a higher rating had the room in the Main Building allocated to me met my needs better. During check-in, I was informed the hotel has upgraded me from a standard twin to a premium twin. However, I discovered the premium twin was designed to allow a third bed to be placed rather than allocating the space all around; ie. bigger bathroom, etc. While the separate toilet with miniature wash basin was quite useful, the extremely tight bathroom without vanity top was not too comfortable. Also, the placement of the dressing table plus mirror at the foot of one of the super single beds caused the circulation path to be very tight.

We also had to get rid of the big bulky coffeemaker and toiletries rack to free up space to put our toiletries and purchases.

Anyway, it was too much of a hassle to ask for a room change, so we rearranged the furniture as best we could to make ourselves comfortable for our 4-night stay.

Apart from the room design, location was great - it was a breeze getting to the bay area including the morning market, Mt Hakodate and the Motomachi area.

Although the hotel was pleasantly new from its recent renovation, the air conditioning system appears to require further fine tuning. In the room, we found the air con to be erratic and unable to maintain the temperature set - it gets colder or warmer gradually...! In the public area, we found the lounge to be stuffy and warm and therefore only visited it exactly twice. If it had been more comfortable and inviting, we would have dropped in a lot more. The Japanese restaurant, Matsumae offers an extensive enough menu, fair prices and fresh seafood.

I will not hesitate to return to this hotel should I be in Hakodate again but I will certainly take more care in selecting or accepting the room type.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank pl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
ホテル 函, 支配人 at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying at Hakodate Kokusai Hotel, and sharing your comments with us.
We are very glad to hear that you found the location of our hotel to be convenient. However, we deeply apologize for the fact that the upgrade of the room, which should have brought comfort to the guests, resulted in causing a great deal of inconvenience to you this time. We cannot change what already happened, but we can assure you this case will be closely examined to improve our services and operations. We appreciate your feedback, and it will be used to improve our hotel's operations. We hope this experience would not discourage you to return to our hotel, and we would be sincerely grateful if you would grant us another chance to have you as our guest in the future.
Sincerely,
Kazumi Sasaki, General Maneger Front Office & Room Sales, Hakodate Kokusai Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews