We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Priceline
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Rakuten Travel
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
146
95
16
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
146
95
16
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2019

We booked the special suite with its own onsen and full Kaiseki 8 course dinner so it was expensive but well worth the cost. The staff were wonderful, the suite lovely with a nice view and the onsen hot as it should be. We are quite picky eaters but the staff tried very hard to adapt to our tastes but still give us a high class elaborate Japanese dining experience. If you want an insight into a high class ryokan but with some western conveniences (like western beds although the special suites also have a Japanese style room) and are prepared to pay for the experience then I highly recommend the Otaru Furukawa.

Room tip: Choose the special suite with its own onsen and vies of the canal
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2019

At first glance, the hotel appears somewhat bizarre but our stay there is wonderfully cozy and homely. We booked the Canal View room and that comes with a cute little balcony complete with a hanging birdcage seat. The room is wonderfully decorated like someone's home. The staff were super friendly and check-in process is super efficient Parking costs a very reasonable 500 yen for the stay. The Otaru canal is within easy walking distance. The breakfast is wonderful with an extensive Japanese and Western selection with freshly baked breads. We would highly recommend this hotel for location, friendly staff and value-for-money.

Room tip: The canal view rooms are worth paying for!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ching Liang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 July 2019

Understated exterior--you could easily walk past it without knowing it was there. We had a lovely, large room with a great view of the harbour. Saw our cruise ship come in. Booking private time in the onsen was great. Sure, it was hot, but that is the point.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Storyteller297665
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 January 2019 via mobile

They discriminate against customers and are very unfriendly. I do not want to go again. From welcome drinks to towels, hotel staffs discriminate their customers. The worst is the unfriendly staff. It was the worst trip.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank TrailBlazer807276
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 January 2019 via mobile

Otaru is one of my favourite city in Sapporo. Decided to stay for 2 nights during my recent 2nd visit. Was very impressed with the service at Otaru Furukawa. The room is small but it is good enough for a solo traveller like me. The location is just right opposite the canal. The breakfast and the dinner is superb and you can get a nice seating facing the canal- try to avoid busy dining area. The onsen is small but I am happy to have it all to myself most of the time. Will stay here again for sure if the room rate is within my budget next trip.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank huanyinchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews