We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Grand Park Otaru(Otaru)
US$209
US$151
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$262
US$172
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Emina backpackers(Otaru)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$212
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$282
US$232
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Trip.com
View Deal
Kuramure(Otaru)
US$664
US$638
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$493
US$453
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
9
7
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
7
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge collectionliving roomone nightmangamomoaffectionatejapan
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

Located in a quiet residential area, less than a 10 minute walk from the Otaru-Minami train station (on the JR line to Sapporo). Also a 10 minute walk to the start of the tourist area / main commercial street of Otaru. The property has a little of character, and the common area and reading area are especially charming.The corgy dog and the cat are affectionate and well-groomed. Can feel a little cluttered in general. Bathroom are quite old. Minimal privacy and soundproofing in the dorms (I could hear the guy in the next dorm snoring as if he was in my bed!)

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank IWanderAr0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Love the cosy setup of this dorm. Everything was great and if given a chance to return to otaru i will definitely book this place again. A pity i stayed for only 1 night. Everything is clean and there are lotsa domestic games and dvds to enjoy

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank cowjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2015 via mobile

Morinoki is very good place. It near minami-otaru station , Letao and otaru music box museum. Every part every room is very very cute and host make me feel like I live in my home. If you come to mirinoki I recommend you to have they breakfest.it very cheap and so delicious.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
Thank warit w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hostel was a warm decoration , lot of cartoon book , clean , cute dog and pretty cat, small garden. I like it. The owner speaks English ^^

location is near to the otaru working street, but a bit hilling.

ps. recheck about check-in time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ZINEKAEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I stayed here one night in Oct 2013 and as a frequent backpacker I can say that this is one of finest hostels I have stayed in. The rooms are clean and very cosy. Masa san (the owner) and his wife are very friendly and welcoming and they have a large collection of manga comics and other books and there is always very nice music playing in the living room. It's a very homely environment. There is a cute little balcony outside. The whole house is very well kept and kind of cute. It's up on a hill and you can walk down to the canals in less than 15 mins. There is a short cut to the canals down - you need to go up this hill on the right side of the hostel and then keep walking down till you hit the canals. The train station is also walk able distance but maybe not when you are tired. It will take a good 20 mins at least. If you are a backpacker looking for a good and clean hostel with a homely environment then this is your place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suhritk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews