We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Booking.com
US$136
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
FindHotel
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/01/22
Hotels.comUS$130
PricelineUS$144
Agoda.comUS$183
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
25
69
33
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
69
33
18
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We spent two nights there. Our room had a nice view of the mountains. The Onsan was very nice with an outside area in the fresh air. We enjoyed the bath in the evening and again in the morning and never even used the tub or shower in our room. The only problem we had was that the meals were out of our price range, so we went elsewhere to eat

Room tip: Every room looks like they have a good view. There is an elevator so accessibility is no problem.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuko-Stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 April 2018

My wife and I stayed in late March.

Positives:

Hakone is a beautiful area.
Transport around the region is fun. I really enjoyed the ropeway.
Bus driver at the hotel was great. Could not be more helpful.
Our room was a great size.
Great restaurants nearby.

Negative:

Biggest mosquito's I have ever seen in the room.
Not a lot of English spoken at the hotel. Totally understand this isn't an issue for locals but its worth knowing if you are not Japanese.
Hotel is pretty old.
Bathroom was old and water pressure was variable.
Breakfast served was odd and unlike anything else we had in Japan.

Ultimately I wouldn't return, but it could have been worse.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank V1110UBpaulm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2018

As many have mentioned that the hotel is a bit dated, well, unless you enter the rooms, you don’t get the feeling. And once you do feel, its an old hotel, you kind of love it. It has that old world charm. Very large rooms by Japanese standards, well furnished and beautiful location. What else do you want? Even the robes they have in rooms, are provided in 3 sizes and those are printed ones, not the standard white ones which you find in other Japanese hotels.
Around 30 mins of drive by taxi from the Hakone ropeway gate, its located in the hilly region, and it was raining the day we checked in. Reception is on the 2nd floor, and 1st floor is the one for onsen, and spa and tennis court.
Hakone is city of onsen, Japanese style of public bathing, in naked. So obviously the resort has one. It also has a spa and provision for free massage through their motorised chairs. Tried the foot massage chair (desperately needed as you have to walk so much in Japan), and full body massage chair. Both were very comforting.
Hotel doesn’t have coin laundry. Apart from that, everything was there.
There is no buffet system for food, so you got to book your breakfast and dinner in advance. Since we were vegetarians, they made efforts to make a lavish dinner for us which consisted of marinated veggies, boiled ( actually grilled)veggies, and dessert ( 5 course meal) but I was just not able to eat another plate of raw vegetables next day in breakfast. I think , they should update the chef that vegetarians are not vegans. A bowl of cereals, milk and bread would have been just enough for the 2 of us . But still I highly appreciate the effort they put in feeding us. And boy, someone has to learn from Japanese how to present food.
There is free shuttle to Gora station from where we took the mountain train to Odawara, hardly a 5 min drive, but very handy in rain, and also because it’s a hilly region. The first shuttle leaves at 9 am.
If there is anything that I would like them to change, then it will be their exhaust system in the bathrooms. It was very weak, and it made the bathroom very stuffy, and I could see mould in some parts of the ceiling.
In all, I loved the hotel. Kind of regret it that we just had few hours to spend in the hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolIndiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Hotel trying to live up to its past glory, but falling way behind competition. Price are up there, location is good, but its look rundown. However it is clean. The hot spring is functional but look tired. Being a foreigner, I was very disappointed by the food. There were no Japanese food, only international or french at good price ( $70.00 average for a set meal per person). Complimentary continental breakfast was OK, again with no Japanese flair. You have to set your choice the night before (only 3 choices). After 3 days you want something else than croque monsieur. Rooms were confortable with no luxury. Service was cold (dining room) Friendly at reception

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morenaGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 November 2017

surprisingly large bedroom and an adjoining Japanese style sitting room with mats and featured wall. bedroom have a double bed and plenty of space. have good view of surrounding. autumn colours of foliage. lovely garden area. hotel staff are very friendly and shuttle service offered.
The meals are certainly unexpected. Dinner is full serviced, French cuisine, set menu and changes daily. one have to book meal times on each day of our stay.

Room tip: we have an upper floor room and very quiet
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews