We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$186
View deal
Hotels.com
US$208
View deal
Agoda.com
US$163
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.comUS$208
Booking.comUS$216
eDreamsUS$216
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
121
105
50
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
121
105
50
16
11
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 303 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2020

Really quiet hotel with a private onsen in the room. Really pretty area the hotel is located in but was not worth the price tag. Upon researching Hakone and finding out that restaurants and stores close relatively early, we opted in to do the coursed meal for dinner.

Getting into Hakone, the hotel never communicated that there was free shuttle at the train station. We had walked around the town and it was so cold that I ended up calling the hotel to then finding out there was a shuttle. That was frustrating. When we got to the hotel, it was nice and welcoming and very quiet. There is no bar to have drinks or hang out. However, our rooms had a wonderful private onsen. The private dinner was not worth the price tag either. However, I am glad we had a meal to eat since everything in Hakone closes insanely early.

Although, I think a private onsen is an experience you should try - I wouldnt recommend staying at this hotel.

PROS:
- Private onsen.

CONS:
- PRICE.
- No Bar.
- No Restaurant (unless you have a reservation and are in the dining area, checked in before 7pm.)

Overall, it was NOT worth the price tag. I wont be staying here again.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2020

One of the best parts of Japan that I experienced. If you enjoy hot springs, spas, saunas, and onsen, this is a must stay place. Resort is located very far up the mountainside but they provide transportation from the bus station. Private Onsens were the best part of the stay, and public onsens were nice as well.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank B2928CPbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2020 via mobile

This hotel s another Japanese style hotel offering public bathing in hot thermal pools. The bedroom was enormous in an elegant, minimalist style but with every facility plus a well equipped adjoining bathroom. The atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. Large reception and ,as always in Japan, the staff are polite and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank phale12017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2020

It could have been filmed here! Our transportation to Hakone was disrupted because of the cylone. We went on the hotel's website to find out what we might expect---no information. When we arrived in Gora by bus instead of the train whose tracks were washed away, we started to walk to the hotel. We noticed other hotels had shuttle buses. Not LaForet!!!! We walked and walked and walked. In fact my Apple Health App recorded 74 flights. Not kidding. WHen we arrived, we asked if there was a bar. The person at check-in said "no". We asked about dinner, He said you didn't make a reservation and besides it's very expensive.. Seriously? We would have left immediately if there was anywhere else to go. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

Room tip: Stay somwhere else!
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelNotDone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 December 2019

To us this was one of the traditional places (kind of a Ryokan) you expect in Japan and a kind of must visit during a stay in Japan. As common in such places you have to take off your shoes before entering the lobby, hence everyone is walking barefoot, in socks or traditional Japanese home shoes which are provided in the room. Also provided in the room are the so-called Yukata, traditional wardrobe which you can wear in the hotel. People are even having dinner and breakfast wearing it which is a great experience.
The staff is very friendly, as every Japanese, but do not have a good command of English. Make sure to speak slowly and don`t overcomplicate things as they won`t understand.
We opted for a room with an outdoor bath tube/ hot spring bath tube. Usually these are with the hot spring but as typhoon Hagibis hit Japan during our visit pipes were broken so it was not able to get hot water from the spring but only hot water. We totally understood the situation which didn`t bother us at all as even only the hoter water was great. The rooms itself are quite big and very traditional, quite dark but we felt very comfortable.
Dinner was very good even though a bit overpriced. There are some nice places for dinner in town but you need to walk for about 10-15 minutes which is not a big deal, though. Breakfast also here is only Japanese but very good.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RHZRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews