We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
US$211
View deal
Agoda.comUS$285
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
71
133
50
26
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
71
133
50
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden view dining rooms language barrier english onsen japan hakone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I stayed for two nights in May 2011 before going on to Kyoto. My lasting impressions of the Yoshiike are the great onsen - particularly the outdoor one - the wonderful food and most of all the helpful staff, who made an effort to speak English and were very tolerant of the clumsy foreigner in their midst!

On checking it I was shown to the traditional tatami room, which also has a more western table-and-chairs earlier where one can eat if kneeling on the tatami is not your thing. I was shown where the onsen were, served Japanese tea and sweets and offered a choice of times to have dinner. After a bath (reading up on onsen etiquette in advance will only enhance the experience) one of the best meals I've ever had was served. This is full-on kaiseikei cuisine, with some elements that are challenging to the western palate; but all was fresh, full of flavour and beautifully presented.

I would definitely recommend the Yoshiike. Parts of the decor are a little faded and translating some of the signage around the hotel into English are very minor improvements that could be made. A ryokan stay is a very pleasant culture shock that should form a part of any Japanese holiday if possible.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmetcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This is an excellent ryokan - great food, beautiful garden and onsen, wonderful service. There were five of us and we were given a (by Japanese measures) huge room (two connecting bedrooms, two balconies, one bathroom). It is true the rooms were quite old, but well preserved and clean. Both balconies faced the garden (which is absolutely lovely by the way).

The food was good, traditional kaiseki ryori served in your room. You can choose a time slot for dinner as well as breakfast, and it was served very punctually. The staff did not seem to speak much English, but that was not a problem for us. Everyone we met were very welcoming and professional.
The location is very convenient for travelling to/from Tokyo (~7 minutes walk to the train station in Hakone-Yumoto), but still far enough from the town centre to be perfectly peaceful and quiet.

All in all a wonderful, relaxing stay - the perfect treat after a day of hiking/sightseeing.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arevan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our stay at the Yosshiike Ryokan was shockingly bad and the worst ever out of the many hotels that we stayed at in our lives that involve a lot of travel. We arrived to be greeted in a hostile and ironic manner by a male staff at the reception who did not wish to answer my questions re: the procedures to book their spa - he just pointed me to the other staff member who took us striaght to our rooms without any explanation as the latter staff did not speak English. Our room was very dated, with numerous stains on the carpet and walls, lots of scratches and the whole place did not seem clean. There was no curtain at the bathroom or its window so we could not have a shower or otherwise the whole resort would have seen us from outside ! We went outside into the garden thinking at least this looked fairly nice - until we saw there a long snake that we were nearly bitten by.. unbelievable in a ryokan that costs over 33,000 yen per night. The food arrived, it looked and tasted disgusting - we can appreciate unusual dishes and had lots of goof traditional Japanese food but this was not edible and did not look fresh. We went to the spa but there was no way to book that and there was a long queue outside so we gave up. Overall, a terribly unpleasant experience so please save yourself the money and never stay at the Yoshiike Ryokan which is decaying away.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TRAVELLERMAUVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the roykan (hotel) for three nights. We were served breakfast and dinner Kansei style (lots of dishes served on beautiful dinnerware). The food was delicious, but be prepared for a Japane breakfast. The location of the hotel is convenient and is in "downtown" Hakone. After a day of sightseeing, one can relax in the mineral baths.

The room we were assigned was a traditional Japanese room with mats, but dinner and breakfast were served at a dinning table with chairs.

I highly recommend seeing Hakone in the fall. Hakone rivals New England as far as the fall foliage.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gar396
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I saw the reviews on TripAdvisor regarding Yoshiike, and got a bit apprehensive. Seriously, this place is great. I've been to ryokans in other parts of Japan and this one is really good. The garden has got to be the best feature. I mean, leave your window open and you can hear the rustling of leaves and gushing water from the stream in the garden. And you wake up looking at a golden lit mountain view. All rooms have the view of the garden, I checked.

This place is utter relaxation Japanese style. There are two rotenburos and 4 indoor ones, separate for men and women. There are also two private indoor onsens. Good enough to fit around 4.

The ryokan is also in a good location. Easily accessible by foot from the station, yet you wont hear cars or anything. It's located in an old Japanesey town. Loved the atmosphere.

If you haven't been to any ryokan in Hakone, Yoshiike will definitely not disappoint. What the others wrote about the food is right though, it's really traditional Japanese food. Sometimes you get lucky and get some modern Japanese food like karaage and kare, but really, take a look at the pictures posted by another reviewer. Everyone eats the same thing. Good for the eyes, not for the stomach. But hey, it's a good experience. You have the onsen, the garden, the room, just... the relaxation to look forward to anyway.

Enjoy your stay. :)

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japanweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews