We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
US$211
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
71
133
50
26
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
71
133
50
26
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden view dining rooms language barrier english onsen japan hakone
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 304 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our stay at the Yosshiike Ryokan was shockingly bad and the worst ever out of the many hotels that we stayed at in our lives that involve a lot of travel. We arrived to be greeted in a hostile and ironic manner by a male staff at the reception who did not wish to answer my questions re: the procedures to book their spa - he just pointed me to the other staff member who took us striaght to our rooms without any explanation as the latter staff did not speak English. Our room was very dated, with numerous stains on the carpet and walls, lots of scratches and the whole place did not seem clean. There was no curtain at the bathroom or its window so we could not have a shower or otherwise the whole resort would have seen us from outside ! We went outside into the garden thinking at least this looked fairly nice - until we saw there a long snake that we were nearly bitten by.. unbelievable in a ryokan that costs over 33,000 yen per night. The food arrived, it looked and tasted disgusting - we can appreciate unusual dishes and had lots of goof traditional Japanese food but this was not edible and did not look fresh. We went to the spa but there was no way to book that and there was a long queue outside so we gave up. Overall, a terribly unpleasant experience so please save yourself the money and never stay at the Yoshiike Ryokan which is decaying away.

Date of stay: May 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TRAVELLERMAUVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 November 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the roykan (hotel) for three nights. We were served breakfast and dinner Kansei style (lots of dishes served on beautiful dinnerware). The food was delicious, but be prepared for a Japane breakfast. The location of the hotel is convenient and is in "downtown" Hakone. After a day of sightseeing, one can relax in the mineral baths.

The room we were assigned was a traditional Japanese room with mats, but dinner and breakfast were served at a dinning table with chairs.

I highly recommend seeing Hakone in the fall. Hakone rivals New England as far as the fall foliage.

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gar396
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2009

I saw the reviews on TripAdvisor regarding Yoshiike, and got a bit apprehensive. Seriously, this place is great. I've been to ryokans in other parts of Japan and this one is really good. The garden has got to be the best feature. I mean, leave your window open and you can hear the rustling of leaves and gushing water from the stream in the garden. And you wake up looking at a golden lit mountain view. All rooms have the view of the garden, I checked.

This place is utter relaxation Japanese style. There are two rotenburos and 4 indoor ones, separate for men and women. There are also two private indoor onsens. Good enough to fit around 4.

The ryokan is also in a good location. Easily accessible by foot from the station, yet you wont hear cars or anything. It's located in an old Japanesey town. Loved the atmosphere.

If you haven't been to any ryokan in Hakone, Yoshiike will definitely not disappoint. What the others wrote about the food is right though, it's really traditional Japanese food. Sometimes you get lucky and get some modern Japanese food like karaage and kare, but really, take a look at the pictures posted by another reviewer. Everyone eats the same thing. Good for the eyes, not for the stomach. But hey, it's a good experience. You have the onsen, the garden, the room, just... the relaxation to look forward to anyway.

Enjoy your stay. :)

Date of stay: September 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank japanweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 May 2009

We stayed here at the Yoshiike Ryokan at Hakone-Yumoto in May as part of a Tour. We stayed for 2 nights/3 days.
Check- in was at 3pm and dont expect to get in much before, we just chilled out in the lobby for half an hour.
We were then showed to our room on the 3rd floor. All aspects of the room were explained in full and times agreed for Dinner and Breakfast to be served in our room. The room is a good size with the usual small bathroom, Tatami mat living area and a small comfy chair area infront of the window that opened up to over look the beautiful gardens.
The Gardens are really well kept with amazing Koi ponds all over the place. Well worth a leisurely stroll.
The Onsen area has a choice of indoor or outdoor bathing. Obvioulsy seperate areas for male and female.. no mixed bathing,
So relaxing and well worth it. Life just slows down afterwards.

Now for the fun part, the food...
Dinner was served in our room at 7pm prompt as requested, around 20 or so small individually prepare dishes. All I can say is we tried to eat it..... be prepared for a different experience to anything you will see in the west and europe.

There is also a steak house attached the Ryokan which if you cant stomach the food or dont like fish is ideal and you receive a 20% discount if you dont eat in the room and use the staeak house instead. But again be prepared to pay. Its not cheap, around £120 for a decent steak, soup, rice salad. although the steak was to die for, melt in the mouth.

The hotel is a good location for visiting Lake Ashi and getting great views of Mt Fuji. Take the switch back train and then the ropecar train, followed by the cable car. If you only want to see Fuji only buy tickets on the cable car to the first station not the full length.. its not needed if you dont plan to go to Lake Ashi and the Pirate ships.

A real cultural experience!! try it

Service was overall good and worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MadManYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our time travelling to, from and around Hakone. The overnight stay at a ryokan was something entirely new for us--a bit daring even--but a highlight of our trek.

We took a bullet train from Tokyo to Odawara, then transferred to an express train which rolled gently into the small station at Hakone. From there we walked along the sidewalk up a slight hill, turned left over a bridge, and entered the lobby of the Yoshiike Ryokan.

We were escorted to our room which was 10 tatami mats in size. The room contained a short large table in the middle for dining, an alcove with two large chairs for reclining and admiring the scenery, a private bathroom, shower, futons and comforter in the closet, and slippers and robes.

The grounds are lovely, filled with all sorts of greenery, flowers, trees, walkways, and a koi-filled pond.

The 'onsens' (hot spring baths) are just wonderful. There are private onsens for one person and separate inside and outside onsens for women and men. The onsens are not mixed since bathers do their communal soaking dressed only in birthday suits....

A traditional Japanese dinner the first night, and then Japanese breakfast the next morning, are served in multiple courses in the room. We are adventurous diners, and thus enjoyed the meals (even if we could not recognize some of the items or eat them all).

The staff are all very friendly, but speak little English. All the guests are Japanese. We boned up on some basic Japanese prior to our visit and so had little difficulty communicating with our hosts and hostesses.

We awoke early to make use of the onsens one last time. Check out was easy. We made our way back down to the train station to continue our journey to Kyoto.

Overall, we heartily recommend staying at a ryokan, if not Yoshiike, then certainly another. There are many to choose from, in all price ranges. We have never experienced anything quite like it and were thrilled to have done so, though we suspect not everyone, particularly those seeking familiar surroundings, will feel the same.

Date of stay: March 2008
5  Thank HelloThereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews