We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$251
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Hotels.com
US$251
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Trip.com
US$210
View deal
PricelineUS$251
Booking.comUS$214
eDreamsUS$214
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
14
9
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
9
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern japanese style fire pit men gora floor bath hakone station dinner onsen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2020 via mobile

The main entry and staff are open and friendly. Highly accommodating. Rooms are more spacious than typical Japanese hotel rooms. The beautiful outdoor garden terrace is lovely with swings, fire pit, foot bath and lounge area With Japanese books/magazines. It’s quaint and quiet. But other guests are not so friendly or inviting so be bold and do what you want. Everyone (in the evening) was wearing yukatas, but we wore our clothes. We got stared at. Used to that. We smiled. There are “private” smaller baths for you and your family/mate, as well as a women’s open bath and a separate one for men. (20 people at a time at max during corona.)

Breakfast is from 7-8:30am. Fish, rice, miso soup, salad, cold-poached egg, plus croissant, natto, juices, teas and coffee. (Online says breakfast is until 9:30; that is incorrect. 8:30am finished.) We didn’t have dinner there, but they offer beer and mixed drinks as well. The lounge area has self-serve drinks all day/night. It’s a welcomed touch!

The hotel is a maze with loads of stairs. The elevator doesn’t go to every floor.Parking is 150 meters away but an easy, straight-street walk.

Check-out is 10am. Late checkout is ¥2,000 per hour. We paid ¥45,000 for 4 people with breakfast in late August, 2020.

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank dro_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

We just arrived and we immediately get an upgrade of our room at the reception.
The staff is always smiling and polite.
They have an amazing library we’re you can read and small vending machine FREE.
The wifi is really fast and they have a huge tv were you can watch Netflix all the time.
They also have private Onsen were you can chill in case you don’t like to share with other people. FYI you need to book a time with them and you can go there only one time per day.
Amazing experience overall

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Callahansteev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2020

Hakone Yutowa is located about 200m from the Hakone Gora rail station, which is the end station for the OH railway. (However at the time of writing the mountain railroad is still out of action from the typhoons in October 2019, i.e., 3 months ago, with a replacement bus service running but failing to keep up with demand, causing delays of an hour or so for our arrival and a great deal of confusion around the Hakone region.)

This hotel/ryokan was heavily refurbished, reopening in August 2019, and I think the prices are probably still a bit lower then they will be in the future. We had a deluxe 2 — 4 person room, and it was more spacious than the photos revealed, with mountain views from two corners. There are two western style double sized beds set up on the (plastic?) tatami floors, plus a deep bath separate from the toilet, and a classic ryokan style lobby to the room. Although it didn’t brand itself heavily as a Ryokan, it would easily classify as a modern version I think.

The hotel has pristine onsens for men and women, including sauna. Each onsen has a couple of bath choices, although speaking to my wife these seem a little different between the men’s and women’s. The onsen were spacious with more than enough room to cope with the peak times. Yukatas can be selected on arrival and were commonly worn around the leisure spaces and to breakfast/dinner.

I saw criticism on TA that the dinners were expensive for what they are. They are expensive (6,600 Yen PP during our stay), however this was pretty much close to a Kaiseki style menu, including Sashimi and hot pot, plus a buffet, plus all you can drink self-service Sake, Beer, Whistky, Sochu. We opted for this one night out of four, which was great for the experience, and we felt like we got a lot value out of it (and a bit off a hangover), but also enjoyed eating out of the hotel the other nights. We ate out at some of the better Gora restaurants and spent a good deal more than 6,600 each.

That’s a good segway onto the staff. Like everywhere in Japan they tried very very hard, and were unfailingly helpful and polite. English was enough for most things, although a bit variable across the front desk. Miscommunication did lead to one amusing error where we asked to book an outside restaurant for one night and ended up booking it for all four nights of our stay. We were blissfully unaware of this until the second night and we got a phone call which wandered why we weren’t at the other restaurant. It only took two phone calls and a visit to the front desk to sort things out. They were also very helpful by letting us do some laundry in the adjacent condo block, even thought it’s not normally accessible by hotel guests. I felt this was above and beyond since they had to accompany us to let us in.

Other reviews mention the great common area library with drinks. This has mostly Japanese books, of course, but more than a few interesting English books, including translations of famous Japanese texts. And a few games. During the day, drinks are various teas, coffee, juices and soft drinks. But from 7pm to 10pm two bottles of (Jamisons?) Whisky came out ;) That’s when the adults came out to play.

It’s not the most luxurious or elite Ryokan in Hakone, but for the fresh touch, unbeatable location, generous Onsen, large rooms, and great value, we’d go back in a flash. Thanks!

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank DouglasA587
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 December 2019

Highly recommended. It was such an awesome stay at this place. Though it was raining when we got there, this beautiful place has brighten our day. I like how the room is so spacious with amazing view, the private onsen which was good and the relaxing library / lounge place with free flow of drinks. The breakfast was very good especially the bacon and enjoyed the curry udon too. And it’s only about 200m away from Gora station which allow one easy access to do the loop or travel to Gotemba Premium Outlet. An awesome place for an amazing stay in Hakone.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lunalynn9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and wow what great value. Free drinks, breakfast was included and the rooms were clean, quiet, modern and comfortable. Friendly staff and a thoroughly 4/5 star experience for two star prices

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank thomastJ1659EQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews