We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Priceline
US$258
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$242
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Hotels.comUS$258
CheapTicketsUS$258
eDreamsUS$242
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
252
272
104
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
252
272
104
32
23
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 683 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2019

Extremely great customer service and politeness. This place was just lovely! The service here is just out of this world. And we have been to a lot of hotels. One good example is how my father lost his phone in a taxi and we had a bus to leave waiting and the hotel was able to not only locate the phone but get it back to us right before we were scheduled to leave. They even bow with respect as you leave and insist on helping you with every task no matter how menial. 5/5 with the view as well. Tip: pay extra for the view. It’s worth the difference. We had an incredible view of the lake and Fuji. Great job to the staff!!

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Camper823912
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

Excellent location with breathtaking views of the lake and Mount Fuji. Ideal place to get away from the busy schedule and hustle and bustle of city life. Very close proximity to the golf course, Mount Fuji and premium shopping complex. I wouldn’t hesitate to go there again.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank thuahanben
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2019

First I should say that we stayed before typhoon Hagibis arrived and dumped a metre of rain on Hakone so I can't comment on how badly damaged the hotel was or the local area.
We stayed for 2 nights as members of a large party on a tour for the rugby world cup. The hotel is a sprawling complex with bedrooms located in two circular towers and an annexe. It includes a number of shops and an onsen plus a choice of three restaurants. It was obviously rather grand when it was first built, especially the soaring gallery room which links the towers and reception, but could do with a little re-furbishment in some areas. However it is still a very nice hotel and the staff are amazing.
It is in an ideal location on the shores of Lake Ashi and is next to the cable car (ropeway) up to Mount Komagatake which is famous for views of Mount Fuji and a shrine at the top. The boat jetty for lake tours is also a two minute walk away. Just outside are some rather tacky souvenier shops, a petting zoo plus some cafes - all intended to serve the substantial number of day visitors to the area so they close early.
We loved our bedroom in one of the round towers because of the curved walls. It was very spacious with comfy beds and a balcony with seats overlooking the lake. Unusually there was a lot of seating an a large table in the room so it was easy to get comfortable with some friends to play cards. In the bathroom there was a powerful shower and quality toiletries.
We ate all of our meals at the Lakeside Grill. The buffet breakfast offered a good choice of both Western and Japanese dishes although the toast was a bit odd. For dinner because we were a large party we had a set meal - delicious starters (part sushi, part meat), well cooked main courses which included the local beef and a wide selection of lovely deserts - thoroughly enjoyable.
We really enjoyed our stay and our day trip which included a ride on the cables car, a lake cruise, a trip up the switchback railway and a ride on a furnicular railway.
I would stay again unless Hagibis has destroyed the area.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LichfieldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2019 via mobile

We were a party of 6 family members travelling around Japan for a milestone birthday celebration. We had booked 2 nights here to unwind and explore the countryside after Osaka, Kyoto and Tokyo. We were due to check in on the Tuesday after the super typhoon Hagibis, and received a call on the Monday saying that the rooms we had booked were not available and that we would be in the annexe. The lady didn’t really speak much English so we were unclear just how much was affected by the storm.

We had precooked places on the shuttle bus from the JR station at Odawara which took about 50 minutes to get to the hotel. It was obvious that the typhoon damage had been severe as over 1 metre of rain had fallen in Hakone in 24 hours.

The staff were lovely and waited outside to bow and greet the shuttle. The only part of the hotel that was open was the annexe which was so dated it could pass as being fashionably retro. The rooms were huge but had twin beds rather than double / king. The style seemed from the 1970s with horrid net curtains and basic bathrooms. There was tea in the room but strangely they charged extra for coffee which is ridiculous. We were disappointed to find that only 1 restaurant out of 3 was open, and the bar and lounge were closed. The spa was closed and the grounds were shut off. The only thing still functioning was the Lakeside Grill which offered a very pricey buffet meal which was a bit odd. You could have soup, salad then a plate of amuse bouches, then steak / chicken / fish and dessert. The main courses came with either bread or rice ( weirdly they served chips at breakfast but not with the steak ). We had to eat here on both nights as there was nothing else open and the hotel is out of town. The staff were lovely but we had expected better.

The buffet breakfast had good quality items but was mainly Japanese in style.

I would like to go back in better circumstances and be able to walk along the lakeside and use the rope way. The shuttle bus into the local town was useful ( returns from beside the Lawson store ).

The hotel makes a big thing out of the Onsen and you get charged whether you use it or not. There are Onsen pyjamas and slippers in the rooms which were very nice. The attendant was very helpful at showing us first timers how to use the facility.

I feel there should have been some special offers / discounts on the accommodation and catering as this was one of the more expensive hotels on our tour, but without most of the facilities we had expected.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank AMTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2019 via mobile

As you step back in time to a hotel where time has been forgotten, you quickly adjust and throw away your stress. While the hotel and facilities are dated the view and the service makes up for it all. There is an aurora that engulfs this hotel and the old worldly charm the long great entrance hall, its all amazing. Be prepaid to pay top dollar for food here, we found that there were no restaurants open outside of the hotel other than 7/11 at this time of year in this area. $88AUD for the buffet dinner on a Saturday night. We choose not to eat at the hotel as we weren’t able to justify the prices for the amount we could eat.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank 849stewartb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews