We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$340
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Priceline
US$352
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$304
View deal
Hotels.comUS$340
Booking.comUS$331
Trip.comUS$372
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveller rating
427
387
151
61
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
427
387
151
61
31
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2018

This hotel catered to the top of society, first to the Japanese then also to the foreigners from the 1920's onwards. This current management has totally lost the way, its self respect and its respect for the client and has turned it in a tourist attraction with just ruins remaining of the old glamour. The worst is the service, reduced to McDonalds level. The confuse old with antique, reputation with service. It is sad to experience and is no longer worth a stay. A look, yes, maybe a cup of tea or coffee in the veranda and walk in the garden, hurry !! before they manage to mess that up too. It is a disgrace to the descendants of the founders.

Room tip: stay away, until they learn to respect their heritage AND their clients again
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2018

This isn't the fanciest hotel with the newest, coolest amenities, but it is gorgeous and has so much history! The interior of the main building is gorgeous and feels like taking a step back in time. You can take a stroll through their lovely gardens during the day. And at night you can relax in their onsen, or even in the private bathtub in your hotel room which has water supplied by the natural hot spring as well. Each room has yukata for the guests to use. The staff are very friendly and polite. The restaurants are pricy, but the hotel is located by several more affordable restaurants. We really enjoyed our a stay at the Fujiya and wished we could have stayed longer. When we return to Hakone, we will definitely stay here.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atwikatydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Although I wanted to stay in one of the older building, the rooms were already full. So, we stayed in Forest building.
The room was old but well maintained. We could see the Hakone Tozan Trains through woods. We are very content with the view of red train going through the green woods.
French dinner at the restaurant "Wisteria" was awesome as well.
Also, there is a room which displays the history of the hotel near Onsen and indoor pool. Old menus, photos, and actual tableware and guestbooks were displayed, and we enjoyed going through this small "museum".
It is sad that the hotel seems to be closed from April 2018 to 2020 for renovation, but I would certainly like to stay in this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank NorthWest777
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

Spent one night at Fujiya Hotel with my husband in December 2017. The hotel was old and in need of serious TLC. My husband enjoyed the relic from the past feel but for the price the furnishings need a serious update. The bed was like sleeping on concrete and the pillows and coverings needed a refresh. Beautiful property grounds and the onsen on sight is convent. Close location to mountain train. Service was very good but i think this hotel has seen its time. Food options were limited and the eateries in the basement were depressing and stark. The bar downstairs is dark and has potential but needs a menu refresh. The breakfast in the beautiful wood carved dining room was the highlight. Furniture in all areas of hotel look worn and in need of refurbishing. If you are looking for a hotel from the 70s that hasn’t been touched since, this ones for you.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank KLMnyc517
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We stayed at this hotel with families including an infant. While staying for 2 nights I enjoyed lunch at the main dining, swimming at the pool and walking around the Japanese garden. The building of the hotel was aged, but it was kept very well and kept clean. It was decorated in a traditional old Japanese style and old western style mixed with a unique design. The staff were kind to our baby.

Room tip: Garden view room is better than Mountain View room
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat_mak
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews