We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
US$275
View deal
EtripUS$275
CheapTickets
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveller rating
57
116
48
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
116
48
11
9
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2019 via mobile

Room with private open air onsen, spacious room, tatami beds, yummy Japanese in-room breakfast and dinner . Very relaxing! Worth the price. Sure will come back again!
¥100 shuttle bus from yomoto station or ¥730 by taxi.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank raanwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2019 via mobile

We were a family of 6, 2 adults and 4 children. This was our first experience in a ryokan and onsen. We thought the employees were so friendly and the room was incredibly clean and nice. The bathroom and toilet are separate. The bathroom is so spacious and has all the amenities you would ever need. There is a lot of closet space and the sleeping room is huge. There is also an outdoor patio area.

We had dinner in a separate room since we were also travelling with other family. The set meal was delicious and included shabu shabu, beef to grill, sashimi, salad, amuse bouche, sake, and dessert. So yummy.

The yukatas provided are lovely patterns and very comfortable.

The onsen was very clean and had 2 indoor pools and 2 outdoor pools. In the showering area, there are mostly sit-down options but there is a Western stand-up option as well. They also swap the men and women onsen areas so that you can experience something different. The attendants working in the onsen locker rooms are so friendly and kind.

I love that Japanese hotels are so thoughtful, providing so many things in the shower and "locker room"--high quality shampoo, conditioner and soap; hair ties; shower caps; qtips; facial wash; lotion; hair styling products. Everything is purposeful.

There is also a little arcade for kids to play in to change things up. There are vending machines for drinks as well as ice cream. There is a gift shop that has a wide variety of souvenirs.

The breakfast buffet was very big and had many Asian and Western options. However, we didn't think it was particularly delicious, compared to other Asian hotels we've stayed in. There were a few things that we did like, but it wasn't a big percentage of what we saw. The Japanese-style omelettes are exceptional though, so don't miss those!

Overall, we loved our first onsen and ryokan experience at this hotel. We would come back for sure!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank littleyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2018

Location: from Hakone-Yumoto station, cross the street and look for bus stop "A." The A bus costs 100 Yen per person, payable in cash. Buses are scheduled for :15 and :45 past the hour at present. Nanpuso is the very last stop but it really takes just 10 minutes once the bus leaves.

Common area/reception: it's a comfortably sized area. While Nanpuso itself has been around for years, they have either renovated or maintained the property well. Even the carpet is bright and clean.

Room: I stayed at a Japanese style room. Again, the room is very well-maintained. The size is excellent as well. There is a small seating area. The flat screen TV is also of decent size, something not always a given at such ryokans.

Bath: public baths are good and comfortable with just about the right temperature. They are also large enough that it never feels crowded.

Dinner: served in our room. Most of the items are good and tasty. The only real weakness is the tempura. The pieces are small, and they aren't too crispy.

Breakfast: the true weak point. It's served buffet style in the Annex building. The best item is the freshly made tamagoyaki. Most other items (mix of Japanese and Western) are just so-so. I have stayed at budget business hotels that serve a better quality breakfast.

Overall though, my stay at Nanpuso is very pleasant. The price/quality ratio is excellent.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SammyFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

Reception staff had very good English and helpful. Rooms and dinner meal totally authentic Japanese style. Highly recommend this place for a taste of Japanese. Didn't use the Onsen baths however. Lovely setting.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TaylorVP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

I’ve slept only one night in this hotel but I really enjoyed it! Bedrooms are very big and are organized as small homes with a living room where everything is ready to have a tea in Japanese style. Receptionist are very helpful and ready to solve any problem.
Food is quite good both dinner and breakfast.
There are the hot pools!
It’s not really in the village center but there is a bus that brings you down hill

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Giuliadeca
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews