We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Agoda.comUS$197
EtripUS$203
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveller rating
194
191
38
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
194
191
38
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake hakone shrine hotel onsen pirate ship cable car outdoor bath dinner toiletries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 443 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2019 via mobile

There are much better hotels or ryokans in Hakone areas which offers much better stay-in experience. Although the door bell attendants and porters provide good service, this is expected for a hotel like De Yamal. Only stay here if you want a nice lake view otherwise please bring your money elsewhere. It feels cold despite the good service. There are only 2 restaurants, a lounge and a shop. Note that the Japanese restaurant is a better choice for dinner and breakfast unless you love French food. The tea lounge looks great but we have no time. The shop closed at 8pm and we have no chance to explore it till next day.

1. Upon arrival, the front desk receptionist at the lobby asked about food allergy and we asked ok to put down beef and sashimi, we were told ok and the front desk lady helped us to write down in Japanese. So we thought that the French dinner would not have beef or anything raw. We were told the earlier dinner slots were fully booked thus we have to make do with either 7.30pm or 8pm. So we took the 7.30pm and was told to wait in the room till the staff called us to go down to Level 1 for dinner. We waited till almost 7.35/7.40pm and decided to call them instead and was told to wait, which is ridiculously wrong for a hotel like De Yamal and moreover this is japan. Around 7.50pm, they finally called and we went down. We took a look at the set menu and was dismayed to find that it contains lamb and half-grilled fish salad. The lamb is forgivable since we did not think of putting down no lamb but not the fish salad as we already indicated no raw stuff. Well...I guess half grilled do not equate to raw food. We asked for the ala carta menu and realizes not a lot to offer.

2. The female public indoor bath is the only redeeming factor as it consists of a sauna too. The public outdoor bath is rather small. There is a massage chair, bath towel and body towel, water, comb, facial cotton pad etc provided. What is lacking is the hair tonic for ladies.

3. The room is spacious with a nice little safe, 2 pillows, a bathtub and a long couch for resting.

Nothing much to rave about for this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ediamond42
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

Nice elegant hotel on the lake shore. We only stayed one night but were upgraded to a corner room which was large and comfortable, except maybe the lack of heating in the bathroom. We struggled a bit with the heating system in the bedroom as no English explanations were provided.
The staff is very helpful and kind but not all of them speak good English which made the communication a bit difficult especially in the restaurants.
We had a kaiseki (traditional) lunch at the Japanese restaurant which was truly an eye candy. The flavors were quite surprising and we didn't always know what we were eating but it was overall good. We had dinner at the French restaurant, which is elegant and stylish. Food there is quite good but expensive (even bread is not free). Breakfast was OK, not a buffet but a menu or a la carte only. The standard menu includes tea or coffee, fruit juice, one choice of eggs, green salad, one croissant and a small milk bread, and a tiny fruit salad. However no standard French bread. I don't eat eggs so I found it a bit light for the price we paid.
We enjoyed the onsen in the late afternoon by a rainy and chilly day and it was great, especially as we were the only ones there! The place is clean and peaceful.
The hotel offers a shuttle service from/to Moto-Hakone. Walking to the hotel from there is quite fast but difficult with a suitcase as the path is paved with stones (not flat). The local public transports are very limited in the area. We came with a bus from Odawara which turned out well (one hour - about 12500¥ per person). On the way back we didn't take the bus as the journey to Odawara takes 70 minutes and the bus leaves every 20 minutes. We took a taxi and paid about 6100¥ to go to the Odawara station for a 40 minute drive which was actually a good deal for two people.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paquerette1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2019 via mobile

They have completely renovated 3 times since the opening 71 years ago but the hotel has a timeless sense of beauty with magnificent gardens and a gorgeous view of Lake Ashi. Unfortunately we were too early to see the Azaleas which the hotel is so famous for. Close to Mt Fuji and many places to hike or stroll that are but a ropeway or cable car ride away. If you are only going for the day call ahead to reserve for lunch at either of their top class restaurants

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank richardgG1237GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2019 via mobile

Lake focused splendor in the mountains! Upon arrival one is greeted by the bell staff who are anxious to collect your bags and take them to your room. Dinner of French and Continental cuisine was a treat. Rooms were nice but relatively small. Barely room for our two bags.

Bathing in the communal tubs was a treat to a westerner and a way to enjoy the Japanese culture.

Very nice hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Cavydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 January 2019

This hotel near the Hakone-machi by Lake Ashi has an old world charm that is not quite like the others. Buses from Shinjuku in Tokyo arrive here direct. At night there is not much activity around the small village but some restaurants are open for dinner if you do not dine at the hotel. It has a very elegant garden that is worth spending some time in. Onsen is good and clean.

Room tip: By all means, get a lake view room. It's worth the money.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank eymwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews