We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$256
View deal
Free cancellation until 03/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
US$266
View deal
FindHotel
US$140
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/01/22
Booking.comUS$240
eDreamsUS$240
Trip.comUS$307
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
142
161
21
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
142
161
21
4
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2019 via mobile

Highland Hotel Hakone had a nice spa (some areas required full nudity as a tradition) it has peaceful gardens with hammocks hanging from trees and lovely friendly staff, everything shut down in the hotel at 9pm except for the spa which opened until 11pm.
Not great for an evening drink as they will not serve you past this time at all.
The bar/lobby/garden terrace however would be absolutely beautiful for an evening drink.
If you like to have a beer they sell them in vending machines in the hotel, you can take it to your room!
During dry season this hotel would be a relaxing location for guests looking for some downtime, but it is out on its own in my opinion with a 20minute walk to the nearest 7eleven. Then it did rain for the whole time we were there so walking anywhere would be miserable.
We had a garden view and it was picturesque!! Great tea/coffee station in the rooms. Hotel provided Kimono style pyjama, crocs, slippers, binoculars and a birdwatching book!!
Definitely recommend for revitalising during busy travel through Japan.
Tip: keys come on a wooden keyring, they do not have a skeleton key.. do not lose the key. A member of our trip did so & they seemed appalled.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank LittleLittle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2019

This has opened in 1957, taking advantage of the baron's villa. It was rebuilt, and all 74 guest rooms became smoke-free from 2014. A comfort twin has an automatic massage chair in the room. A dog-friendly room is located separately. Open-air public bath is peaceful, with an excellent facility before its use. All members have to change a foot-wear there, and place it in a selected rocker. It is good for health when walk the wooden floor in a bare foot. There are many towels available at the dressing room. A communication hall at the entrance to a public bath provides cold natural mineral water springs up from the hotel ground. The only disappointing fact is a breakfast is so simple, and we cannot get a little satisfaction.

Room tip: Rooms not faced to a vast lawn garden
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrJayMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2019

Location is conveniently located right by the bus stop, so it's not difficult to walk right out and wait for the bus to take you to the main attractions in Hakone. It's also a short walking distance to the 7/11. This is IMPORTANT because Hakone literally shuts down after 7pm (especially during winter) and if you've got the munchies after that you'd be hard pressed to find any restaurant willing to seat you after 6:30pm.

The hotel itself is well maintained, the rooms are clean and spacious, there's a beautiful garden within the hotel and it's set against a stunning backdrop of the mountains. The amenities are generously provided - from onsen robes to slippers and bathing toiletries, and the room is adequately furnished.

A highlight of the hotel has gotta be the onsen. It is clean, features a couple of different pools to soak in and is totally the best way to unwind every night before bed. My room came with its own bath, but I ended up using the onsen daily and showering there before having a restful sleep back in my room.

The staff are well-versed in English, polite and very accommodating. They're also able to guide you in terms of directions before you head out for the day.

This was a wonderful stay and I look forward to returning again.

Date of stay: December 2018
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank do9berry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2019

Nice rooms and nice hotel. Breakfast was a bit disappointing, but everything ells was nice.
Wish there was a coffee-shop at the lobby, or something like that...
Onsen was nice and room was comfortable.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shlomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile

Very nice location of the hotel near to many museum and heart of town. They have inbuilt onsen geysars so no need to spend extra for hot springs outside. They have little tie up with websites so u would not find in many travel sites. I used agoda.com rooms and staff very courteous. Lovely place to chill. Glass museum is just outside the hotel

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Vivekparakh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews