We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Booking.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Agoda.com
US$62
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
108
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
13
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it made an excellent start to our holiday in Japan. It is about a 15 minute walk from Nikko JR station, half of which is uphill. However the owner will pick you up from the station if you phone when you arrive.

The room was Japanese style with futon and tatami, with the added benefits of heated rugs, aircon and tv. On arrival the host made us tea and talked us through a map of Nikko. The rooms are not ensuite, toilets just across the landing and bathroom downstairs. Bathing in Japan tends to be an evening activity and there are fairly limited times and hot water for bathing in the mornings here. This wasn't a problem for us.

The breakfast here was great.

In summary a comfortable, good value place to stay with a very welcoming owner.

Nikko didn't particularly impress us and seemed rather dead when we were there. Enjoyed the park though, apart from the fact that one of the main attractions has been encased in a giant warehouse.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squaquerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A friend recommended this place to us. We booked for one night and requested breakfast and dinner. The price of the room and food were very reasonable. You must get the food here. Both the breakfast and dinner were amazing. The quality and presentation of the food were excellent. It is obvious that Ms. Keiko put in a lot of time and effort into preparing these meals. Mr. Shizuo picked us up and dropped us off at the JR station. The hospitality was very warm and I felt right at home. The room was large and comfortable. Would come back here in a heart beat and would highly recommend it to all my friends and family.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetpotato123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I made my trip to Nikko in winter month and decided to stay here for a night. The hotel is actually not too far from Nikko Station but the owner, Shizuo san and Keiko San, were kind enough to pick us up at the station.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we received very warmth welcome. Keiko san was kind enough to help us to dry our wet shoes while Shizuo san explain to us the facilities available in the hotel so that we had a comfortable stay there.

Too bad I did not try the dinner as I was travelling to Yumoto in the afternoon and returned to Nikko quite late.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay here.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kookaaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We reserved this minshuku after reading the reviews here. It seems to be the best value in town. Made the reservation with booking.com requesting only the room and breakfast. Later we communicated with the owners directly via email and added dinner The food was very good and it was fun because there were also three retired Japanese gentlemen who had drunk just enough sake and possessed just enough English to be outgoing. The owners are very sweet, Shizuo & Keiko,
The rooms are very simple Japanese style with two futons, one low table and cushions for sitting at the table. It would have been nice to have a cushioned seat with a back to sit on, as there are at some accommodations. There were a few tiny beetles that flew up and hit the overhead light in our room, but they didn’t bother us, nor did they fly about when we turned the light out. The room was definitely very clean.It would have been nice not to go the few steps down the hall to the toilet, but it was only one night, and, if it was being used, there was one downstairs also. The bath was in a separate room downstairs and could be reserved for private use. This was probably one of our most basic accommodations but it was fine for one night.
We walked from the bus station, but it was a little far when carrying luggage and we should have called the owners for a ride; the walk is fine without luggage. The owners are happy to pick you up. They held our luggage for us all the next day while we were hiking and when we arrived back at the bus/train station after hiking, we called them and they brought us our luggage.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I traveled to Japan for 2 weeks for our honeymoon in Oct 2011. One of our best experience was the stay at minshuku Rindou-no-ie at Nikko. We've never stayed at a minshuku before and it took us awhile before we decided to stay at Rindou. It was no regret at all. We booked Rindou through the email provided on their website. It was very easy to make the room booking and meals arrangement in English.

As we had very limited time at Nikko, we requested for them to pick up our luggage at the train station so that we can head out for our sightseeing immediately. Shizuo-san came to pick up our luggage when we rang him from the public phone at the station. It only took him 5 min to arrive. He was very polite and even handed out a map to us with tourist spots and restaurants marked on it. If you are walking from the JR or Tobu station to rindou, it takes about 10-15mins. You will walk pass a bridge that has a beautiful view of Daiya River. There was no problem finding the place as they had a road sign placed at the main road. There's a little bit of uphill walk so it may be tiring if you have heavy luggage.

The room was spotlessly clean. The room had all the amenities you need such as towels, tooth brush & toothpaste, hairdryer and yukata, It also has tv, aircond/heater and hot tea. Even though it is a shared bathroom, we had no problem using it. Rindou also has free wifi which was very useful to us as we did not travel with heavy notebooks but just our iphones.

If you are staying at rindou, you have got to try their dinner. Keiko-san prepared the meals with a lot of dedication. The quality of the food is excellent and very value for money. It's one of the best we've tried during our trip to Japan.

We had communication trouble with another hotel that we were going to stay after our trip to Nikko. Keiko-san was very kind to translate the message for us and even helped us call the hotel to ensure our booking is ok.

Breakfast was also fantastic. They prepared it early to cater to our travel schedule. After breakfast, Shizuo-san sent us to the train station. This kind service is hard to believe.

My husband left his contact lens case behind at Rindou. It wasn't really worth anything, so we didn't bother about it. But to our surprise, when we arrived at Kyoto the receptionist informed us that we had left the case behind and Rindou had sent it out to the hotel and we received the package the next day. Another unbelievable service.

If we are visiting Japan again, we will definitely stay at Rindou again!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korilakkuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews