We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Booking.com
US$58
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
108
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
13
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our stay at Rindou-No-Ie was the high point of our trip to Japan. One of the biggest issues for non-Japanese visitors traveling in Japan is the extreme difficulty involved in connecting with local Japanese people, due to language and cultural barriers. One gets to see the sights but is left feeling frustrated at the lack of meaningful human connection with the local people. In that sense it was really great that we got to stay at Rindou-No-Ie and experience Mr. Shizuo's genuine friendliness, warmth and hospitality. Initially we were a little apprehensive about staying at a Minshuku because of reports that some of these establishments do not welcome foreign visitors, however Mr. Shizuo was absolutely delightful and put our minds at ease right from the start. He picked us up at the train station multiple times and dropped off our bags when we left, which was great since we were there during a typhoon and the rain made the walk difficult. He patiently and non-condescendingly explained to us the procedures and etiquette involved in staying at a traditional Japanese minshuku, which was a fascinating cultural journey for us. Staying in the tatami room, sleeping on the floor and using the shared bath and toilet facilities was a refreshing change from your standard anonymous hotel experience. The bath supplies (like everywhere we stayed in Japan) were of much higher quality than anything available in the United States. Best of all was the home-cooked breakfast Mr. Shizuo prepared for us in the morning ... it was a work of edible art, each little dish was indescribably pretty and delicious, and at 700 yen per person it was a complete bargain for Japan. Highly recommended!

Room tip: E-mail Mr. Shizuko to directly reserve your room instead of going through a third-party agency.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utqiagvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it made an excellent start to our holiday in Japan. It is about a 15 minute walk from Nikko JR station, half of which is uphill. However the owner will pick you up from the station if you phone when you arrive.

The room was Japanese style with futon and tatami, with the added benefits of heated rugs, aircon and tv. On arrival the host made us tea and talked us through a map of Nikko. The rooms are not ensuite, toilets just across the landing and bathroom downstairs. Bathing in Japan tends to be an evening activity and there are fairly limited times and hot water for bathing in the mornings here. This wasn't a problem for us.

The breakfast here was great.

In summary a comfortable, good value place to stay with a very welcoming owner.

Nikko didn't particularly impress us and seemed rather dead when we were there. Enjoyed the park though, apart from the fact that one of the main attractions has been encased in a giant warehouse.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squaquerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A friend recommended this place to us. We booked for one night and requested breakfast and dinner. The price of the room and food were very reasonable. You must get the food here. Both the breakfast and dinner were amazing. The quality and presentation of the food were excellent. It is obvious that Ms. Keiko put in a lot of time and effort into preparing these meals. Mr. Shizuo picked us up and dropped us off at the JR station. The hospitality was very warm and I felt right at home. The room was large and comfortable. Would come back here in a heart beat and would highly recommend it to all my friends and family.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetpotato123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I made my trip to Nikko in winter month and decided to stay here for a night. The hotel is actually not too far from Nikko Station but the owner, Shizuo san and Keiko San, were kind enough to pick us up at the station.

Upon arrival at the hotel, we received very warmth welcome. Keiko san was kind enough to help us to dry our wet shoes while Shizuo san explain to us the facilities available in the hotel so that we had a comfortable stay there.

Too bad I did not try the dinner as I was travelling to Yumoto in the afternoon and returned to Nikko quite late.

Overall, it was a comfortable stay here.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kookaaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We reserved this minshuku after reading the reviews here. It seems to be the best value in town. Made the reservation with booking.com requesting only the room and breakfast. Later we communicated with the owners directly via email and added dinner The food was very good and it was fun because there were also three retired Japanese gentlemen who had drunk just enough sake and possessed just enough English to be outgoing. The owners are very sweet, Shizuo & Keiko,
The rooms are very simple Japanese style with two futons, one low table and cushions for sitting at the table. It would have been nice to have a cushioned seat with a back to sit on, as there are at some accommodations. There were a few tiny beetles that flew up and hit the overhead light in our room, but they didn’t bother us, nor did they fly about when we turned the light out. The room was definitely very clean.It would have been nice not to go the few steps down the hall to the toilet, but it was only one night, and, if it was being used, there was one downstairs also. The bath was in a separate room downstairs and could be reserved for private use. This was probably one of our most basic accommodations but it was fine for one night.
We walked from the bus station, but it was a little far when carrying luggage and we should have called the owners for a ride; the walk is fine without luggage. The owners are happy to pick you up. They held our luggage for us all the next day while we were hiking and when we arrived back at the bus/train station after hiking, we called them and they brought us our luggage.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camelSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews