We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$61
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
108
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
108
13
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at Rindou-No-Ie for two nights during our visit to Nikko. Only thing we regret is that we didn't stay any longer there! The owners, Shizuo-san and Keiko-san, were most friendliest and made us feel more than welcomed. We highly recommend to take the dinner option. It was definetely the best meal we ate during our trip to Japan! Shizuo-san even adjusted the dinner to fit our vegetarian diet. Also the breakfast was excellent. Room was clean and matched our expectation.
There's a traditional Japanese bath in the shared bathroom downstairs which is worth trying. After a full day of hiking it was really relaxing. We were able to leave our baggage there for the last day and Shizuo-san delivered them to train station upon our leave.
For an authentic minshuku experience we highly recommend this excellent place!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This was our first experience with a ryokan, so I was a little nervous not knowing what to expect. It turned out to be one of the best weekend get aways we've had! Shizuo-san and Keiko-san made us feel totally welcome and made our weekend in Nikko as easy as possible. Shizuo-san picked us up at the train station and allowed us to drop off our bags while we went sightseeing. That evening, he drove us into town, and after dropping us off at our restaurant went in with us to ask the staff to call him when we were finished eating so he could pick us up! What incredible service! Since this was our first stay in a traditional Japanese home, we were a little unsure of the etiquette, but our hosts were very patient in explaining everything, and I'm sure overlooked some of our faux pas with grace. To be honest, I was very hesitant about the communal bath and shower. I am the type of person that will pay extra for an en suite. But, the experience was so amazing, it was really easy to appreciate the tradition of it all and not get caught up in my hang ups. Add to this the delicious (and beautifully presented) breakfast and the fantastic value, you just can't beat the stay at Rindou-No-Ie.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanlors
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our stay at Rindou-No-Ie was the high point of our trip to Japan. One of the biggest issues for non-Japanese visitors traveling in Japan is the extreme difficulty involved in connecting with local Japanese people, due to language and cultural barriers. One gets to see the sights but is left feeling frustrated at the lack of meaningful human connection with the local people. In that sense it was really great that we got to stay at Rindou-No-Ie and experience Mr. Shizuo's genuine friendliness, warmth and hospitality. Initially we were a little apprehensive about staying at a Minshuku because of reports that some of these establishments do not welcome foreign visitors, however Mr. Shizuo was absolutely delightful and put our minds at ease right from the start. He picked us up at the train station multiple times and dropped off our bags when we left, which was great since we were there during a typhoon and the rain made the walk difficult. He patiently and non-condescendingly explained to us the procedures and etiquette involved in staying at a traditional Japanese minshuku, which was a fascinating cultural journey for us. Staying in the tatami room, sleeping on the floor and using the shared bath and toilet facilities was a refreshing change from your standard anonymous hotel experience. The bath supplies (like everywhere we stayed in Japan) were of much higher quality than anything available in the United States. Best of all was the home-cooked breakfast Mr. Shizuo prepared for us in the morning ... it was a work of edible art, each little dish was indescribably pretty and delicious, and at 700 yen per person it was a complete bargain for Japan. Highly recommended!

Room tip: E-mail Mr. Shizuko to directly reserve your room instead of going through a third-party agency.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utqiagvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it made an excellent start to our holiday in Japan. It is about a 15 minute walk from Nikko JR station, half of which is uphill. However the owner will pick you up from the station if you phone when you arrive.

The room was Japanese style with futon and tatami, with the added benefits of heated rugs, aircon and tv. On arrival the host made us tea and talked us through a map of Nikko. The rooms are not ensuite, toilets just across the landing and bathroom downstairs. Bathing in Japan tends to be an evening activity and there are fairly limited times and hot water for bathing in the mornings here. This wasn't a problem for us.

The breakfast here was great.

In summary a comfortable, good value place to stay with a very welcoming owner.

Nikko didn't particularly impress us and seemed rather dead when we were there. Enjoyed the park though, apart from the fact that one of the main attractions has been encased in a giant warehouse.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squaquerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2012

A friend recommended this place to us. We booked for one night and requested breakfast and dinner. The price of the room and food were very reasonable. You must get the food here. Both the breakfast and dinner were amazing. The quality and presentation of the food were excellent. It is obvious that Ms. Keiko put in a lot of time and effort into preparing these meals. Mr. Shizuo picked us up and dropped us off at the JR station. The hospitality was very warm and I felt right at home. The room was large and comfortable. Would come back here in a heart beat and would highly recommend it to all my friends and family.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetpotato123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews