We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ryokan 
US$179
US$165
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$128
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$127
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$233
US$148
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$196
US$143
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$75
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$235
US$109
Rakuten Travel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
125
229
58
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
229
58
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsramennoodlesoutdoor bathrooms are smallprovided freelots of restaurantsfood streethot watershopping areafew metersrooftop onsenbasic toiletries were providedwalking distancetrain stationwould highly recommend this hotelwithin minsminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Hotel Dormy Inn Takamatsu is touristy, thanks to its amazing location at the center of the strategic shopping area surrounded by shops, restaurants, Karaoke and clubs.

We stayed there as a hub to travel to other neighboring prefectures, didn't really stayed inside that much. The services, staff performances and facilities are good, can't complain indeed. We think this hotel is being loved by many tourists from mainland China particularly as Mandarin speaking receptionists are ready. A bit surreal that a few moment you would think you were staying in a hotel based in China.

Room area is small, forgivable though, it is pretty a standard you have to accept in any cities of Japan. But absolutely clean and neat, good sleep is not a problem.

There is a hot spring (artificial) facility at the 11 floor. It's a lovely one but small that will have "capacity" issue if more guests keep coming up. The opening time is very long too, means hotel maintenance team could just have a few hour a day to do the cleaning.

If you ask me the water quality of the hot spring, I would say "acceptable", it is my personal view that you can't just expect what you can get in a quiet and low key ONSEN in other remoted location mainly for local Japanese. I believe the management of this hotel is already trying their very best to keep the quality of everything as I can see notices in multiple languages to "educate" tourists the "etiquette" of doing hot spring.

Japan is a prestige and one of the best places in the world for tourism, but if tourists keep coming and not learning to treasure the ways how they get used to keep things clean, neat and quiet. This amazing country, just like this lovely hotel will sooner or later overwhelmed by us - as a tourist !

If anyone will visit this hotel, while enjoying the hot spring let's think how we can do our part to keep the water clean and not talking for few minutes.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LEUNGUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, reception at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you very much for your comments. As you have mentioned in this message, a plenty of guests from the mainland of China have kept coming to visit us since longtime and unfortunately many of them don't respect the rules actually and we get frequent complaints from Japanese guests, that is at the moment one of must solve for us. We need to reflect on this problem to reduce it as soon as possible and we believe at least this effort would also bring a better result to everybody in Japan for the present and the future as well. We know it is not low and cultural problem so quite hard to be realised on their own for non-Japanese, but we are just required to carry on looking for a good answer until when we can figure it out. We thank you again and hope you will find it better next time.

reception Miyagawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

The accommodation in Takamatsu is very tight no matter is Dormy Inn or Tokoyo Inn……………Last Nov, I tried Tokoyo Inn Hyogomachi (兵庫町) and it was closed to JR Takamatsu Station (with 15 mins walking distance). This time, I booked Dormy Inn which located in Kawaramachi district (瓦町) from 25-27 Mar 2017. We needed to take 2 tram stops from Takamatsu tram station, it cost 190 yen per journey. Of course, it could be walked from JR Takamatsu Station to Dormy Inn but it took around 30 mins. Therefore, it’d better taking tram.

For tram, we got off at Kawaramachi station and left the exit of Kawaramachi FLAG. Took escalator to the ground and there was a drug store at right side. Then, crossed the road and went straight………….after few mins, we reached the entrance of food street and we went in the street………..walked………..till the exit of food street………..turned left………….Dormy Inn was there within few meters. Within 10 mins walk from Kawaramachi station to Dormy Inn.

Dormy Inn is located the centre of Takamatsu. Shopping malls and food street are nearby Dormy Inn. There was an onsen in the inn but I didn’t try. Also, the inn provided free soy sauce ramen as late supper from 21:30 to 23:00. I tried and it was ok.

For room, I booked a twin room and it was a bit bigger than Toyoko Inn. It was clean.

For breakfast, the food was more than Toyoko Inn but we needed to wait for long to have seats. On 26 Mar, we waited for 15 mins to have seat. On 27 Mar, we waited for 30 mins to have seat. Haaaahaaaa………the queue time was depends on when and how many occupants stayed in the inn. Anyway, the taste was standard level but not excellent as what other comments stated in the web.

For dinner, I tried 2 restaurants on food street and one of them was highly recommended by me. It named “燒肉ホル乇ソ けむリ家”. It was a bbq restaurant and mainly provided wagyu (和牛) and other meats. It was very delicious and price was very reasonable. We (total 7 person) spent 22,000 yen to have wagyu, pork, chicken and etc.

If you travel Shodoshima – Marukin Soy Sauce Factory (小豆島丸金醬油廠), I would like to recommend a restaurant for lunch, it named “イート” which near the soy sauce factory with 10 mins walk. This restaurant is operated by a young couple. The exterior look of the restaurant is not like a restaurant. The inner is a warm family restaurant. There is a set menu for lunch. The man is a cook and his wife is an assistant + waitress. They cooked the dishes very fast and all dishes like artworks. The taste was very good!!!! I recommended to try dessert and you won’t disappoint.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank idasweetdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, reception at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Thank you so much for your stay with us this time. And thank you for taking time to leave your review on your experience in Takamatsu. How did you find us comparing to Tokoyo Inn? We are very sure you absolutely prefer us! We would love to try your recommended restaurant when we have an opportunity! We feel sorry to have bothered you making a queue each time for breakfast, so we will try our best to control it better than before. Thanks a lot again and we hope to welcome you back in the future!
reception N.Miyagawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Stayed here for three nights early April. Loved this city. The rooms are very small but like everything in Japan, also very efficient. There was a permanent hot coffee machine in the foyer which was great, the onsen was very lovely also. Lots of guests wearing their yukatas around the hotel which I loved, made you feel most at home.
They provide free noodles apparently for breakfast which we never did, but you can also buy a great breakfast at a good price. We found a fantastic breakfast place a block up the road for around $6 AUS. Totally authentic and fresh. Would recommend.

Room Tip: They would be all the same.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank loveachardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, reception at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you so much for having stayed with us this time. We are sure your choice was not wrong and you found many things which have satisfied your hearts. We are so pleased to learn that you have found your favourite place for breakfast, that means there would be a big possibility of your return to Takamatsu! Free noodles in our hotel are provided around 10 pm for those who feel still a bit hungry and we hope you will have a try next time! We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Reception N.Miyagawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We had a three night stay at the Dormy Inn Takamatsu whilst travelling with our adult daughters. The check inn was easy but they did stick to the 3pm check in time even though we arrived about 1.30pm - something to note. We were able to leave our luggage and it was delivered to our rooms when we came back at 3pm. The hotel was clean and tidy - quite a busy spot with 150 rooms. The 11th floor onsen was great and it had washing machines in both the male and female onsens. The rooms are small as per Japanese standards but they were more than adequate - shower and toilet in one area with the sink in a bench in the room which was good for kettle refills etc. one good feature was the ability to open the window for some air - we found most hotel rooms had a setting of 25C when we arrived - way too hot for us! The breakfast at 600 yen was basic but good and in fact on the one day we went elsewhere it was hard to find somewhere open early in the morning. Overall a very good stay and I would stay at the dormy inn chain again - just one thing to note _ the pillows are really hard but the mattresses were fine. Good option at a good price.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road - it's noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngiePAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, reception at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Thank you so much for your stay with us this time and your review on your experience. We are so pleased to hear that you found our hotel good and worth to revisit. At the same time, we feel so sorry about that we were unable to guide you to your room when you just arrived though we always try our best. We thank you again and hope you will have a chance to stay at Dormy Inn chain in the future. By the way, you have some choices of pillows at reception desk and we are sure you will have the best one for you next time! Have a good night and see you tomorrow!
Reception N.Miyagawa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

The location is right in the middle of the city. It is just next door to the main shopping street. Everything that you need is just within a minute walking distance. Very convenience!

Staff is nice and room is clean and tidy. Everything is up to Dormy inn normal standard. The hot spring inside the Dormy Inn is nice. It is worth to visit.

Breakfast area is small and choice is limited. If you want to have a very nice western style breakfast you might feel disappointed. But you can enjoy a good Japanese styles one.

They have a paid parking lot inside the hotel but if your car is higher than 2.2M. You need to park another parking lot which is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SallyCheung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DRMYTAKA, 支配人 at Dormy Inn Takamatsu, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2017

Thank you so much for sharing your experiences of your stay with us. We are so glad to learn that you have been satisfied with our services and time you have spent here. We are sure that your honest and plain review would be a big help to those who are looking for accommodation in Takamatsu. Looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews