We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds, busy hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Almaty
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel & Resort Altyn Kargaly
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I chose this hotel because it is near our office, but it is far from city center. The setting is parklike with lots of grounds for walking and picnics, which limits noise from neighborhood. There is also an indoor swimming pool and outdoor sports areas. Rooms are large but show some age, especially the bathrooms. My toilet was continually dripping and noisy. Shower often switched between hot and cold water. Staff speak mostly only Russian and Kazakh so difficult for tourists to resolve issues or ask for help. Internet is only available in the lobby, which is challenging because often busy with people talking and seeking internet. My bed was bowed in the middle, so made sleep difficult. Breakfast was included with room, and breakfast buffet was limited but filling with good service. Rooms are not soundproofed so could often hear neighbors talking, phones ringing, noise from hall. We had a three-hour water outage and one hour electric outage during my stay.

Room Tip: It may be better to choose a room in the tower, as the floors are smaller, and rooms are not well so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peacemaker100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

Having a local guide is necessary as the receptionist and other staff would not help best places to visit, and even do not have map of Almaty nor any tourist place leaflets. They do have just one leaflet about the hotel, with the map showing the location of the place at a very small scale!

One man did not bring the plug adapter and cannot use his laptop, the receptionist would not help him nor even tell where the local shopping centre are, leaving him stuck, unable to use the laptop.

Location is not very ideal, middle of nowhere, there is a small shop nearby selling fruits and vegs, snacks and drinks. Local market is 20 mins walk crossing a very busy road.

Taxis - there are very few taxis in properly colour, mostly likely you would get picked up from unofficial taxis - be ware about the price and make sure you agree the price before taking off as the price can vary, there is no meter in the taxi - 700 to 1000 Tenres to city centre.

Rooms - need to be updated, most of things are neglected, housekeeping is very poor can see lots of dust under bed. Light saving bulbs which takes a long time to get fully brighten.

Bring your touch is advised as the lights are usually turned off, dark corridors, stairwells - is ok when there is daylight outside, long narrow corridors can be dark. Sometimes the lights are off at the stairwells at night which is pitch black, sometimes there are poorly light. Seem money saving measures

Food - terrible, I do not think they are cooked hot enough believe to save money on energy bills. You may have soup with full of fat and vary meat / cheese. You do not know what food are in as they do not provide menu and sometimes you have no choice of the food. Waiter/ess are very grumpy and unfriendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 652ian21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Quite far away from the city centre and lacks the public transport. Local amnelties 20 mins walk away. Reach the city by taxi at KZT 2,000 or, if you speak Kazakh or Russian, KZT 700. Food - disappointing (strangely, 'cabbage pie' for dessert) and could do with some improvements. At lunch they serve you the soup and main course at same time, allowing food to go cold. Apart from that, standard rooms quite spacious with balcony.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this hotel due to the location unless you can speak Kazakh or Russian AND can dr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SmileyDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Dastorkon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Мне больше нравятся номера в административном корпусе с видом на горы. Они теплее и тише.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almaty hotels
19.5 km away
Shymbulak Resort Hotel
Shymbulak Resort Hotel
#37 of 75 in Almaty
50 reviews
7.3 km away
Almaty-Sapar
Almaty-Sapar
#35 of 75 in Almaty
32 reviews
13.6 km away
Saraichik
Saraichik
#13 of 75 in Almaty
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Rixos Almaty
Rixos Almaty
#2 of 75 in Almaty
684 reviews
7.7 km away
International Hostel City Center
9.4 km away
Nomad's Guest House
Nomad's Guest House
#4 of 291 in Almaty
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Resort Altyn Kargaly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Resort Altyn Kargaly

Address: Saina st., 184G | Dzhandosova st., 204, Almaty 050043, Kazakhstan
Region: Kazakhstan > Almaty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 75 Hotels in Almaty
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Altyn Kargaly is the place, where your dreams come true. Hard working day, stress of the modern city life… Our hotel will help you to energize, get a punch of positive emotions, and come back to the usual way of life with new ideas. In Altyn Kargaly we offer standard rooms, suites and elite residences. All rooms are equipped with a satellite TV, mini bar, and international phone line. Secure parking is available. Our restaurant of multi-national cuisine will serve needs of everyone and offer 4 times board per day. Dietary and vegetarian cuisines are available. Our restaurant is ready to hold banquets and celebrations. The banquet hall capacity is 250 seats. If you like active relaxation, then you will enjoy the tennis courts, swimming pool, volleyball courts, badminton, sauna, billiards and table tennis that are available within the Altyn Kargaly resort. In the summer time, we offer opportunities for outdoor activities with swimming pool and sunbathing. Altyn Kargaly Hotel is a perfect place for you and your family. There is a special playground and swimming pool for kids. In a hot summer day, you may enjoy sitting under a willow, drinking cocktail from our bar and watching squirrels play in the sun. Our winter garden will impress you with a variety of wonderful plants brought to Altyn Kargaly from different parts of the world. Altyn Kargaly hotel complex is the service, quality, and attentive staff that you deserve. In our comfortable complex you will have an opportunity to have a get-away from the city's hectic life and noise. Come and experience hospitality of Altyn Kargaly by yourself. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing