We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
African House Resort(Malindi)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$45
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Che Shale(Mambrui)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
B&B Mela's(Malindi)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel's Bay Beach & Villas Resort(Mambrui)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
184
64
21
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
64
21
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa poolbeach boyssister hoteljacuzzi bathplenty of loungerstropical villagepastaall inclusive packageextra milefive coursesthe hotel offerssmall hotelgreat ambienceholiday makersasante sanapublic beachspent two nights
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

Spent 3 nights here with my wife. Overall experience was good with a few underwhelming moments. PROS: Great location by the beach and in a nice part of town. Hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept. We stayed in a junior suite which was quite spacious and had its own balcony. We were on an all inclusive "honeymoon" package so got some special treatment e.g. the bed was covered in flowers, a complimentary bottle of wine etc. The staff were super friendly and very helpful. We went for a swim in the main pool which was also really nice. Their fresh fruit juices were amazing! CONS: Buffet menu was very underwhelming. Sometimes the food was really flat. I guess because it was low season the hotel was more or less empty and the staff tended to hover around us quite a bit...at some point it got kinda creepy. The spa was a disappointment. We were entitled to a couple's massage as part of the package we paid for but there was only one lady on duty the whole time. How can one person perform a couple's massage? And also be expected to do the manicures and pedicures etc? I guess because it was low-season they were keeping staff to a bare minimum. In their defence when I complained they offered to "call someone extra" to come join the lady on duty but we had lost interest by then.

In general, Malindi as a town appears to be struggling with the downward turn in tourism in the region. A lot of hotels had shut down and even some restaurants were closed until high season. Plus it was the Ramadan period so that also complicated things a bit. Nonetheless it's a nice holiday town and this hotel is certainly worthwhile.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DrSam_Oti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web M, General Manager at Diamonds Dream of Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear DrSam_Oti

Greetings from Diamonds Dream of Africa!

I wish to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and for taking your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to hear that our staff were very helpful and friendly.

I have noticed about some shortfalls you encountered during your stay and we are very sorry to hear about your experience in the SPA. Be assured that this is not the service we aim for and is not our normal service level we offer . Thanks for your understanding that we were on low season. hope we may have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Diamonds Dream of Africa as we will definitely exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,
Alexander Zissimatos,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

We’re just back from spending a 2 week Easter holiday at the Diamond Dream of Africa.
After a long flight to Mombasa and a long drive to the hotel, we received a fantastic welcome from the staff who brought us towels and much needed cool drinks!
It’s a small hotel and we were then taken to our room which was plenty big enough for a family of 4. The bathroom was well equipped, the mini bar was well stocked with cold drinks and there was a terrace.
We ate almost every meal in the hotel and the variety and balance was really good and on the 2 occasions when the kids couldn’t find anything they liked, the restaurant was super flexible and prepared them something special!
What made the hotel and our holiday to Kenya so fantastic was the staff, everyone was friendly, welcoming and super kind and helpful throughout our entire stay. As it was a small hotel, you got to know everyone that worked there and vice-versa.
A couple of small niggles, the 1st is the separation of the 2 hotels (dream of Africa and Sandies). We had an all inclusive package but it wasn’t really clear to us or staff whether this applied across the 2. One bar in Sandies insisted on charging me for drinks one evening when they weren’t charging other guests from Diamonds.....Personally I would just make it so that all inclusive applied to both. The 2nd issue is not with the hotel but with some of the guests! Controversial I know but there are some really rude guests there from Nairobi that treat the staff like dirt and during one lunch my wife told another guest to not talk to the staff in this way in front of our children.
All in all a definite 5 star experience! We’ve never been to the same place twice in holiday but are definitely considering coming back here!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank chrismbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web M, General Manager at Diamonds Dream of Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Dear Chrisbrewer,

Greetings from Diamonds Dream of Africa!

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to read that you fully enjoyed your stay and appreciated our rooms, food, staff and the excellent services offered to you.

We are also happy that you were able to enjoy services in our sister hotel Sandies Tropical Village. We appreciate your kind comments as it is from guest's feedback that we able to improve our services. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Alexander Zissimatos,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Definitely the place to stay in Malindi! Great spacious rooms, amazing service from everyone and delicious food. Great people like Moses and Constance (to name a few) go out of their way to make everything more enjoyable for you. I will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nikit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web M, General Manager at Diamonds Dream of Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Nikit S,

Greetings from Diamonds Dream of Africa!

Thank you for staying with us and for the perfect rating. Our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.

We definitely look forward to your next stay in the hotel.

Warm Regards,


Alexander Zissimatos,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We had a very pleasant stay at Dreams, with some exceptional Service from the likes of Moses and such.
Food was also very delightful and rooms were kept clean and very spacious.
Beach was full of weed but still a welcome break.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms away from the car park
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Akshay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web M, General Manager at Diamonds Dream of Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Akshay S,

Greetings from Diamonds Dream of Africa!

Thank you for staying with us and for the perfect rating. Our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay.

We Look forward to your next stay in the hotel.

Warm Regards,


Alexander Zissimatos,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

I didn’t feel welcome during my stay, the place felt abandoned. The rooms were big but that’s about it... common areas are not impressive and the staff didn’t seem motivated to me. Could definitely improve!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Web M, General Manager at Diamonds Dream of Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear David M.,

Greetings from Diamonds Dream of Africa!

I wish to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience online.

I have noticed your comments about some shortfalls you encountered during your stay and I am disappointed to hear about your experience. Be assured that this is not the level of service we aim and are known for, therefore I assure you the points you raised here will be investigated and addressed to avoid reoccurrence.

I hope we may have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Diamonds Dream of Africa as we will definitely exceed your expectations.

Warm Regards,

Alexander Zissimatos,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews