We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Restaurant For Baked Paper Wrapped Chicken & More In Johor Baru”

Restaurant Teck Sing
Ranked #16 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 24 January 2016

The three of us had lunch there & ordered paper wrapped kampong chicken,
curry fish head, fired squid with thai sauce, fried kangkong (sweet potato
leaves was unavailable) & steamed rice.

For drinks we had young coconuts.

Their baked paper wrapped chicken with herbs & their secret sauce was
particularly good. It came tender & moist with the herb infused gravy
particularly tasty.

The rest of the dishes of curry fish head, fired kangkong &
fried squid were satisfactory. I must add that the fried squid
was well executed, the battered squid was crisp without being
oily.

Prices are reasonable.

The restaurant is nice & tidy and air-conditioned and is well
patronised as compared the next door restaurant also
offerring baked paper wrapped chicken.

Service at Teck Sing restaurant is prompt.

The only negative is that they need to renovate their washroom/toilet.

Food rating : 7 out of 10 points.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LowHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 83 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2016

chicken wrap is their signature dish. have brought a few different visitors there several times. they all liked the food there. Black bean soup and steamed shrimps were great

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Soon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 December 2015

If you are looking for excellent food at reasonable prices, Teck Sing is the restaurant. It offers a wide variety of dishes but my favorite is the paper-wrapped herbal chicken and fish head curry. Best of all, you will not burn a hole in your pocket when settling the bill.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2015

I haven't been to Teck Seng for years so this visit with my mum and nephew was down memory lane. We ordered the paper wrapped chicken. My mum loved it and between both of us we finished the chicken. Even my picky nephew had a few slivers of chicken. I found some parts of the chicken very dry but with the sauce it was alright. The prawns cooked in wines was superb as the prawns were very fresh.The sweet potato leaves were good. However, what I didn't like was the waiter placed a plate of watermelon which we didn't order and charged us rm$2. Anyway, we even tapau another paper wrapped chicken to take home. The white fungus drink was good.Go early for dinner if you want to have a place to park.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bertha52323
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 October 2015

Restaurat Teck Sing is well known for their Chicken Wrap. Other food are also very tasty and good quality

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank PToh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Teck Sing also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Restaurant Teck Sing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.