We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Thistle Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
US$87
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tune Hotel Danga Bay(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$493
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$124
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mutiara Johor Bahru(Johor Bahru)
US$50
US$43
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bliss Boutique Hotel(Johor Bahru)(Great Value!)
US$36
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
US$18
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princeton Hotel(Johor Bahru)
US$28
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,001)
Filter reviews
1,001 results
Traveller rating
489
355
105
24
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
489
355
105
24
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungewan lipasir gudangchinese restaurantaeon malldim sumjunior suitewelcome drinkfive star hotelbreakfast buffetspecial thanksservice levelbusiness tripjb townnight marketf bupon check
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
929 - 934 of 1,001 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel has recently been entirely renovated or is new altogether. I don't know. The hotel is very clean and modern inside. My room was comfortable with all amenities expected at this price point. Bathroom: new, clean, modern. Room Service: non-existent, disappointing. Security: No checking of tourists/westerners at entrance. No metal detector, etc. Makes for a nice entrance to hotel. The hotel seemed like a buttoned-up business hotel without the noise and atmosphere of a more edgy hotel in a nice local neighborhood. Bottom Line: Great value for price, go for good sleep and new facilities, this is not a young party hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGE5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review regarding your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools that we have to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs. I apologize for the missing room service booklet in your room. Be assured that I will forwarded your remarks to the concerned managers, meaning the Executive Housekeeper and Loss and Prevention Manager so that they can take all necessary measures to improves the areas you mentioned.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property.

Live Life to Discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

7 of us needed a place away from home, so that we could do some serious planning work. We were looking for a nice place away from home and also facilities where the 7 of us could chill and get some serious planning discussions. Found this on the Internet. We booked one suite and 3 standard rooms. The standard rooms comes with 2 super single beds each and the suite ... well it is a suite, a king size bed, a king size bath & toilet, a living room large enough to for the 7 of us to gather comfortably for some serious planning. We stayed for 2 nights and got a total of 16 hours of fruitful discussions. It is located just a 10 minute drive from the town, so we were able to get into town for some great lunch and dinner. When I place the booking, only the suite has breakfast covered, however when I checked in, the counter staff delighted us and breakfast was included in the standard room rates too.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHLim_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review regarding your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. First of all, we would like to thank you for the comments regarding our staff and our service were greatly appreciated. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools that we have to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property.

Live Life to Discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel has only been open for a few months and therefore was still in perfect condition with regards the accommodation. The beds are amazing and so comfortable. Rooms very typical of a modern hotel with the glass window separating the toilet / shower room from the bedroom. Views are not great as the hotel borders the edge of the small town of Permas Jaya. Perhaps a room on the other side of the building would have offered a better vista.

Breakfast was acceptable but an extra on our rate. At MYR50 I would consider it poor value as less than 5 minutes walk away there are local (nice) restaurants where a good breakfast can be had for less than MYR15.

The only real compalints I had were firstly with the swimming pool which we did not use as it had a green algae growing in it. It appeared that some attempt had been made to clean it but it was still very apparent on the ladders into the pool and all around the pebbled edge of the water. This is totally un acceptable and an obvious health hazard.

second issue was to do with taxis. On the two occassions I required a taxi it took 20 minutes each time for a taxi to arrive. There is no light system where passing cabs can see whether a guest is waiting for a taxi and drive into the hotel entrance.

All in all however it is a welcome addition to Permas Jaya where a hotel of this standard has been long overdue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the golf course on a high floor.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review regarding your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs. However I was very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction in regards of our pool and taxi service, and on behalf of the hotel and of the staffs I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered. Be assured that I will forwarded your remarks to the concerned managers, meaning the Executive Housekeeper and Front Office Manager so that they can take all necessary measures to improve the areas you mentioned.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property, under improved circumtances.

Live Life to Discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Visited the new hotel in May and June, room was spacious with a unblocked good view.
Bathroom was equipped with rain shower.
Bath room amenities were provided in a presentable black box, however, only the showercap, shampoo, shower gel, conditioner and body lotion are provided.
After checking with housekeeping, we were informed that dental kits, razor and cotton buds are only available upon request.

Cleanliness was fine on the first visit, on the second visit, dustball right in the middle of the table was seen, just in front of the mineral water, spots on the counter.

Overall service was good and friendly, efficient check-in and check-out.
Some hawker food towards the back and a mall (Aeon) a short distance away.

Will definitely be back again.


Wifi only available in the lobby unless you are comfortable with paying for it to use in the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xrainedropsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review regarding your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. First and foremost, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our services and our staffs are greatly appreciated. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs. I am thrilled to know that you had a great stay with us and have had an enjoyable experience with our bedroom and amenities.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property, under improved circumtances.

Live Life to Discover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Our family of 6 stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be a solid choice in JB. We are gold members with Marriott so it was an obvious choice for us. The beds were of classic Marriott quality and the bathrooms were clean and well-equipped. I really like the Tokyo milk toiletries that were provided. It was a nice change from the standard issue Marriott brands.

The staff is ever-willing to please and the club level rooms and executive lounge were well managed. Our daughter joined us in the lounge claiming she couldn't find her shoes so the staff ran and grabbed her some slippers. Each morning we enjoyed a peaceful breakfast of eggs, potatoes, fruit, noodles cheese, pastries, breads, yogurt, cereal, and various juices.

The pool area is pleasant and the gym well equipped.

Given that the hotel is only three months old I was a title surprised that a few things were not in stellar working order. Our shower drain was clogged and the doorbell to our room was not functioning and one whole side of the mirror lighting was out. In our children's room the handle for the sliding bathroom door kept popping off. I hope these are not maintenance issues but rather kinks that will be ironed out with time. Maintenance did fix the shower quickly but never did address the mirror light.

There are a number of good restaurant options, like the barbeque shop, right behind the hotel as well and food stands just a short walk up the road.

The views from the 16th floor were great. If we ever return to JB we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aglaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ervina M, Public Relations Officer at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Aglaure, Thank you for your recent stay at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel and your feedback on Trip Advisor. The Tokyo Milk toiletries was something that we recently purchased for our guests and we are glad to know you like it. We were delighted to read your kind comments about your stay at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, and we appreciate that you mentioned the technical issues in your room. We have notified our Maintenance team and they have taken action accordingly to rectify the issues you have highlighted. Meanwhile, we all look forward to welcoming you and your family to our hotel in the near future once more. Kind Regards, from Ervina Masduki, Public Relations Officer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews