We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in JB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“The Best in JB”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was quite upset when the Hyatt left JB, luckily Renaissance JB came in to fill the void. Although it is in Permas Jaya, further from the city centre, but it is a very good location, with lotsa shops and mall around it.

The lobby is big and spacious, i love the awesome chandelier that look like a school of swimming fishes. My bedroom was spacious, the shower stall have none-slip tiles which is a good move. Wifi in the room is fast and stable. Everything is very new for now, i hope they will maintain it for years to come.

The swimming pool at the 6th floor roof top is not bad though i wish it is bigger. There are some rooms here that have direct access to the pool.

Breakfast at BLD Cafe was Fantastic ! The decor is as good as the Grand Hyatt Singapore's Straits Cafe. Lotsa food to choose from and there is even an in house bakery !

This is now my choice of hotel to stay in JB, highly recommended !

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plwh888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review on your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs.
We are thrilled that you had a great stay with us and have had a good experience with our bedroom, pool and breakfast buffet.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property.

Live Life to Discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    317
    92
    18
    27
See reviews for
275
140
30
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel has recently been entirely renovated or is new altogether. I don't know. The hotel is very clean and modern inside. My room was comfortable with all amenities expected at this price point. Bathroom: new, clean, modern. Room Service: non-existent, disappointing. Security: No checking of tourists/westerners at entrance. No metal detector, etc. Makes for a nice entrance to hotel. The hotel seemed like a buttoned-up business hotel without the noise and atmosphere of a more edgy hotel in a nice local neighborhood. Bottom Line: Great value for price, go for good sleep and new facilities, this is not a young party hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGE5R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review regarding your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools that we have to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs. I apologize for the missing room service booklet in your room. Be assured that I will forwarded your remarks to the concerned managers, meaning the Executive Housekeeper and Loss and Prevention Manager so that they can take all necessary measures to improves the areas you mentioned.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property.

Live Life to Discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

7 of us needed a place away from home, so that we could do some serious planning work. We were looking for a nice place away from home and also facilities where the 7 of us could chill and get some serious planning discussions. Found this on the Internet. We booked one suite and 3 standard rooms. The standard rooms comes with 2 super single beds each and the suite ... well it is a suite, a king size bed, a king size bath & toilet, a living room large enough to for the 7 of us to gather comfortably for some serious planning. We stayed for 2 nights and got a total of 16 hours of fruitful discussions. It is located just a 10 minute drive from the town, so we were able to get into town for some great lunch and dinner. When I place the booking, only the suite has breakfast covered, however when I checked in, the counter staff delighted us and breakfast was included in the standard room rates too.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHLim_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review regarding your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. First of all, we would like to thank you for the comments regarding our staff and our service were greatly appreciated. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools that we have to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property.

Live Life to Discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel has only been open for a few months and therefore was still in perfect condition with regards the accommodation. The beds are amazing and so comfortable. Rooms very typical of a modern hotel with the glass window separating the toilet / shower room from the bedroom. Views are not great as the hotel borders the edge of the small town of Permas Jaya. Perhaps a room on the other side of the building would have offered a better vista.

Breakfast was acceptable but an extra on our rate. At MYR50 I would consider it poor value as less than 5 minutes walk away there are local (nice) restaurants where a good breakfast can be had for less than MYR15.

The only real compalints I had were firstly with the swimming pool which we did not use as it had a green algae growing in it. It appeared that some attempt had been made to clean it but it was still very apparent on the ladders into the pool and all around the pebbled edge of the water. This is totally un acceptable and an obvious health hazard.

second issue was to do with taxis. On the two occassions I required a taxi it took 20 minutes each time for a taxi to arrive. There is no light system where passing cabs can see whether a guest is waiting for a taxi and drive into the hotel entrance.

All in all however it is a welcome addition to Permas Jaya where a hotel of this standard has been long overdue.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking towards the golf course on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam Carr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review regarding your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs. However I was very disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction in regards of our pool and taxi service, and on behalf of the hotel and of the staffs I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered. Be assured that I will forwarded your remarks to the concerned managers, meaning the Executive Housekeeper and Front Office Manager so that they can take all necessary measures to improve the areas you mentioned.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property, under improved circumtances.

Live Life to Discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Visited the new hotel in May and June, room was spacious with a unblocked good view.
Bathroom was equipped with rain shower.
Bath room amenities were provided in a presentable black box, however, only the showercap, shampoo, shower gel, conditioner and body lotion are provided.
After checking with housekeeping, we were informed that dental kits, razor and cotton buds are only available upon request.

Cleanliness was fine on the first visit, on the second visit, dustball right in the middle of the table was seen, just in front of the mineral water, spots on the counter.

Overall service was good and friendly, efficient check-in and check-out.
Some hawker food towards the back and a mall (Aeon) a short distance away.

Will definitely be back again.


Wifi only available in the lobby unless you are comfortable with paying for it to use in the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrainedropsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc_Cosyns, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Warmest Greetings from Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking your generous time to write this rave review regarding your recent stay with Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel. First and foremost, I would like to thank you for your comments regarding our services and our staffs are greatly appreciated. We appreciate hearing from our guests, the comments that we receive are the best tools to help us enhance and tailor our services up to their needs. I am thrilled to know that you had a great stay with us and have had an enjoyable experience with our bedroom and amenities.

Your patronage of Renaissance hotels is very important to us, and we are looking forward to warmly welcoming you back soon on board our property, under improved circumtances.

Live Life to Discover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
6.8 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
19.4 km away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
5.8 km away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 110 in Johor Bahru
1,292 reviews
19.4 km away
Somerset Puteri Harbour Iskandar Puteri
6.8 km away
Amari Johor Bahru
Amari Johor Bahru
#5 of 110 in Johor Bahru
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel

Property: Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Address: 2 Jalan Permas 11 | Bandar Baru Permas Jaya, Johor Bahru 81750, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 110 Hotels in Johor Bahru
Price range (per night): $111 - $160
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5-star elegance and personalized service await you at the luxury Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Collection. Located half an hour from the Senai International Airport, and just 10 minutes from Singapore, our hotel offers a wide range of amenities to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Beautifully appointed rooms and suites feature beds with luxury linens and spacious, contemporary bathrooms; upgrade to a Club level room or suite, and take advantage of access to our hotel's exclusive Club lounge. If you're in Johor Bahru for work, you'll appreciate our well-equipped business center and 16 flexible meeting rooms; we also offer a modern, 24-hour fitness center and an outdoor pool. Dine on modern Cantonese cuisine at WAN-LI, our hotel restaurant, or venture outside of the hotel and explore Johor Bahru's 5-star dining and entertainment options. Additional nearby attractions include Johor Premium Outlets and LEGOLAND® Malaysia. Visit us today, for a memorable getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing