We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Renaissance Hotels
US$48
View deal
Expedia.comUS$48
Booking.comUS$48
Hotels.comUS$48
PricelineUS$48
Trip.comUS$48
TravelocityUS$48
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,338)
Filter reviews
1,338 results
Traveller rating
671
458
131
36
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
671
458
131
36
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the club lounge wan li chinese restaurant dim sum aeon mall five star hotel breakfast buffet business trip f b pleasant stay rain shower duty manager nasi lemak deluxe room city square bld cafe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 1,338 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2019

Recently stayed for one night. This is my 4th time staying here since the hotel soft opening in 2014 if I am not mistaken. The room is well maintain, clean and tidy. Stayed in room 1115 but unfortunately the shower rain is not working and just wondering why the hotel use a low quality face towel. The face towel is so light and not as good as previous one. Other than that all are OK. One thing I love about the hotel is the breakfast. A lot of choices and I love the juice bar. Unfortunately for my dinner during the function, the roasted lamb is too dry,the kung pow chicken is so so except for the fish taste really good. For the dessert I tried the chocolate éclair but doesn't taste great. I knew this hotel had a great pastry team but dont know why their dessert like something is missing.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank CikLiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2019

Dear CikLiH,

Thank you for your feedbacks and we're always happy to welcome a familiar guests. Your feedbacks in some areas have ben relayed to the relevant department for their action and we hope despite your experience, you had a wonderful time.

Our team always serve with passion and dedication in making one's stay memorable. We hope we had successfully rendered our services and attention to you as we share the joy of having you with us.
Please do visit us again should your travel take you to Johor Bahru.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

Did a night stay at this property, which we have been regularly over the last 4 years since it’s opening in April 2015.

10 days passed birthday but associates took the time to ‘celebrate’ still. Thank you!

Item went missing during turn down and as it was a small item, expected, it was caught between all the sheets. Housekeeping with the assistance of Dr of Rooms, Marshall Chai and Omar Faruk of HK, item was retrieved within half an hour of reporting. Thank you!

Executive lounge... to associate Jasmine Lim, thank you for all your hard work and will miss you.. truly an asset to the hotel. Always good to see management coming up to lounge, chatting with guests. Nice touch.. Executive Chef Arnold as the ice cream man ...

Again to quote Mr JW Marriott, ‘If you take take care of your people, your people will take care of your customers, and your business will take care of itself.’ Kudos to GM Mr Gagan Singh and his team of associates.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank ibach63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Dear ibach63,

Thank you for sharing with us your review and talking about your experience! It's always great to welcome back our regular guests and it's a pleasure to be a part of any celebration as we believe a joyous occasion should always be celebrated no matter what.

It's very thoughtful of you to mention Marshall and Omar who always serve with passion and we thank you for your kind words towards them. Along with Jasmine, Arnold and the team.

Please by all means, visit us again when you chance upon Johor Bahru as we'd love to welcome you back with delight!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2019 via mobile

Stayed one week for business and I have absolutely no complaints. Varied and good breakfast, friendly staff, quick service, clean and comfortable rooms at decent prices. Will not stay in any other hotel in this city.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank hhhh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2019

Dear hhhh1973,

Thank you for sharing your review with us and especially for choosing to stay with us. We always love it when our guests are happy and well taken care of by our ambassadors as we strive to serve with sincerity and passion.
We are most glad that you could experience the quality of our services and products which inspires us to continue with the good work.

We do hope you will continue to choose staying with us again whenever your travels take you to Johor Bahru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for our training service are well except for one time they failed to pickup on time. The issue can be neglected due to their good food and free shuttle service to Lego Land Malaysia. Dinner is great and there are more selection than breakfast which is already enormous.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Godfrey_Quedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2019

Dear Godfrey_Quedz,

Thank you for taking some time to share a thing or two about the hotel. We hope you had an eventful moment in our hotel and it seems you truly enjoyed the wide spread of food by our team of culinary.
Our chefs simply adore pampering and spoiling our diners with an abundance of food options and we hope you find the quality to be great.

We look forward for your next visit as we surely love to welcome you back. Until then, we wish you a wonderful day and a great week ahead.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

During our stay in S'pore, we decided to drive and spent 3 days in JB. We could not ask for a better place to stay.

Location wise, it is out of the way from downtown JB, but if you are driving everything is near by in JB anyway. It is a fairly well maintained property. There are various restaurants near and most of them comes alive in the evening.

Check-in process was quick. We checked in online and the room was ready when we arrived.

The room was modern and well maintained. Ours was upgraded to a suit with Titanium. It has a separate living room, 1.5 bath, rain shower, and walk in closet. No issues noted.

To save electricity we noticed that the A/C in hallway was not on, on purpose. Since we were on the top floor, it tend to be warmer than the room. Similar story with executive launch. A bit on the warmer side. It does serve variety of snack/food during high tea and dinner.
Parking was free and connects through the lobby.

The breakfast selection at the restaurant was impressive from local food, Indian, western, Chinese all the way to various of juices, bakeries and even local tea and milo tarik. That was probably the highlight for our daughter in the morning :)

There was a Chinese restaurant in the lobby which we did try on the first night. It was quite empty when we came in (~9PM). We tried seafood, and beef/chicken but it didn't really hit the spot; not that tasty.

Despite all the drawbacks, at the end of the day the staff what made all the differences. All the way from the front desk, concierge, executive lounge, breakfast, etc. everyone was helpful, attentive, warm and welcoming.

Kudos to the team. We will definitely go back!

Room tip: higher floor facing the pool
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CTX_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Gagan-Singh, General Manager at Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Dear CTX_Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your adventures in our hotel as well as in JB. It seems that you had some discoveries and we're happy that you had an overall positive experience. We appreciate your compliments on our room, products, facilities and especially, the services rendered by our ambassadors.

We firmly believe that delivering and attending with passion is utmost important thus we always continue to strive improving in this area.

We hope nonetheless, that you will continue to choose staying with us and recommending our hotel for a staycation or simply to dine in, to your friends and families as we'd love to welcome them as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews