We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Meal”

Kam Long Curry Fish Head
Ranked #13 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

Been here a couple of times. Same taste so far. Recommended!

Tip: Use your spoon and scoop up the curry (top part oil/spice) with a bit of white rice, fish, slice of red chilli, dark and light soya sauce and chew/swallow that. Amazing

Date of visit: March 2019
1  Thank 981betya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Worth queuing. However, there is possibility of no waiting before lunchtime on weekdays. Fresh ingredients and aromatic curry sauce!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank SETSUDA Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 February 2019

We were on a day trip to JB and we were introduced to this place by the driver.
It was lucky that I had cooler bags with me.
The que was long, but the driver call ahead and book 4 sets of Curry Fish head , take away.
We arrive and the items were ready for us.
The raw fish head was deep frozen and was wrap up in newspaper. They give a very generous portion of curry and some veg pack separately..

The fish head was well frozen , such that when we got back to Singapore 4-5 hours later, the fish head was still in ice.

We cooked the fish head the next day and it still very fresh. Its a great meal with rice.

The curry that Kum Long gave was so much that we kept 1/2 of the and cook it with more veg the next day.

very worth the money .. will buy again

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank sunbeamrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2019 via mobile

We were there at 9.30am & place was full. Waited for awhile to get a table.

Not difficult to find this place as it is located not far from behind City Square Mall. Along a row of main road shophouses, directly opposite a Silk Temple & Galleria at Kotaraya.

Food is just average. The curry is quite diluted. It comes in 2 versions. The head or tail portions. Tried both.
Portion looks big because they used a big claypot filled with lots of curry. But as said, the curry is pretty diluted ,& not fragrant.

Have eaten many other better fish head curries, which usually their curries are thick & fragrant.

This being a typical old coffee shop, don't expect much in service or hygiene.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Travelove58
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 January 2019 via mobile

I have been frequent visitor to JB. Always on my own. But this time round i went to Jb with my bf. He rarely comes to JB and heard about Kam Long fish head curry. I have always walked pass the shop and there is always a queue outside the shop. Surprisely on a thursday morning at 9plus, me and my bf were ushered to a table. But after ordering my curry, a queue started forming up.

This is my first time trying the store. We waited about 15-20mins for our dish. The curry fish head was served piping hot in a claypot. First spoon of the curry, it is so favorful. I can easily eat two plates of rice with the curry. It goes so well.

I noticed alot of solo eater having their curry alone too. So solo jb visitor, dont have to wait for friends. You can have the fish head curry all by yourself.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank charhugkiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Kam Long Curry Fish Head also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Kam Long Curry Fish Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.