We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff and delicious food ”

Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru
Ranked #4 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$35
Cuisines: Chinese, Indian, Malaysian
Description: An eclectic mix of famous local cuisine prepared in a live, interactive kitchen, showcasing the diversity of many native favorites from all over the country.
Restaurant details
Description: An eclectic mix of famous local cuisine prepared in a live, interactive kitchen, showcasing the diversity of many native favorites from all over the country.
Reviewed 16 September 2019 via mobile

friendly staff tilek,patricia,fadzilah,keminda,malathy,priya and hanin.so helpful and kind person.
the food so fantastic and delicious.
i sure will come again !!tq!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank shima2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2019

Dear Shima2227,

Your thoughtful and descriptive review reaffirms that we are heading in the right direction and it helps other guests know what we are all about.
Our leadership and frontline staff is constantly looking for ways to do all that we do in ways that delight every single customer that gives us a try
We hope to become one of your favorites. Do let us know what we need to do to earn your continued loyalty.
Our goal is to make you a part of our family and make you feel welcome every single time.


Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 180 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2019

We went on a day tour of Johor Bahru;, our guide had arranged for us to eat lunch here. The dining room is huge, and the buffet spreads from end to end. There are different areas devoted to different types of food (e.g. Indonesian, Chinese, dessert, etc.). There was plenty of food (including a few American dishes tucked into one corner), and everything I sampled was very good. As an American, there was ample opportunity for me to try new dishes -- and do so without being overly adventuresome, according to my desires. Our lunch included hot tea and coffee; I wished a glass of water had been offered. Would I recommend this place? Absolutely.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2019

Dear Scott G,

Thank you for taking time to complete a review after your recent visit to Makan Kitchen. We greatly value your feedback on our service & offering.
I was pleased to note that you find our extensive food & beverage selection to your liking and your kind comments are much appreciated - we would certainly share with the team as it is always a great motivation to note we have added value to a guest’s experience.
Thank you so much for your positive comments which will certainly be shared with the team.

Kind regards
Tilek Kerisnan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019 via mobile

Lovely spread and very prompt seating of patrons. The selection of food was amazing, from Asian to Western. Restaurant staff were so friendly and efficient. You would see a smiling and welcoming face at every live station - Chinese noodles, beef noodles, egg and more. There’s really no neglect of customers at all. The food was delicious and every dish was replenished with minimal delay. We also found a fascinating array of cereals, pastries and bread. The types of spreads available for toast were also plentiful. I’d love to come back again for this buffet that was worth every penny of my money. Nice!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank peonyk256
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear Peony256,

We are thankful for your time and your willingness to write this review We believe that our business is all about people and the greatest compliments we can receive are those that highlight the commitment of our team to deliver the best possible service.
Our goal is to be the leaders in the industry and have everyone walk out of our shop with the sense that we are part of their family We know that you have options and are very honored that you selected us and proud to have served you. Thank you for taking time to share your opinion with others.
Please come again.

Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019 via mobile

AWwesome breakfast and great services from all staffs. Variety of foods and cleanliness maintained. Keep it up!

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Azlanazis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2019

Dear Azlanazis,

Thank you for your high rating on us.
Really boost up the spirit of my team to deliver more and best service towards guest.
Will share with the team.

Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

I visited doubletree Johor Bahru this summer break with my family and we had the most amazing experience ever. Malaysia is great but visit this hotel to complete your experience. Great food, the staff really looked after us. Thanks to the general manager, Leena from sales who arranged this experience, thanks to the concierge manager always very amazing and helpful with our transportation, the staff at the pool bar and Mr SASHI at the executive lounge, I used to catch up with him every day about our experience and he will listen patiently, he’s such an amazing man. I shall definitely come back because we felt safe and our visit was worth while

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank 542ashiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tilekkerisnan, Manager at Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Dear 542ashiaa,

We are glad to hear you had a great time during stay
Your review serves as a confirmation to all of us that our efforts in the selection process are making a difference in the daily lives of our customers
Everyone here is working hard to create experiences and deliver first class products that inspire you to continue visiting us.
We hope you make us part of your traditions and we have the privilege to serve you for many years to come.
Know that we are here to serve you and will always try our best.

Thanks,
Tilek Kerisnan,
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Makan Kitchen at DoubleTree by Hilton Johor Bahru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.