We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steak Looking Good”

George & Dragon Cafe at Taman Tasek
Ranked #27 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Price range: US$1 - US$19
Cuisines: European
Description: Family run English restaurant in Johor Bahru, Malaysia that was etablished in 2002. Here at George & Dragon Cafe we aim to bring a little slice of England to Johor Bahru not only with our authentic English cuisine, but also with the genuine English antiques that adorn our restaurant walls. These antiques are sourced from various markets across the UK and helps create an ambience like no other in JB! We are open for lunch and dinner so please do come in to sample our fish & chips, steak or traditional British afternoon teas (just to name a few!). We also have a second branch located at Johor Premium Outlets, and a third at Genting Highlands Premium Outlets.
Restaurant details
Description: Family run English restaurant in Johor Bahru, Malaysia that was etablished in 2002. Here at George & Dragon Cafe we aim to bring a little slice of England to Johor Bahru not only with our authentic English cuisine, but also with the genuine English antiques that adorn our restaurant walls. These antiques are sourced from various markets across the UK and helps create an ambience like no other in JB! We are open for lunch and dinner so please do come in to sample our fish & chips, steak or traditional British afternoon teas (just to name a few!). We also have a second branch located at Johor Premium Outlets, and a third at Genting Highlands Premium Outlets.
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

During shopping, the advertising in front of the restaurant catch my eye and look delicious. Going to have a try. A bit disappointed info by their staff, they are not open yet. It's open at 11am

Date of visit: April 2017
2  Thank leecK9330OU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 32 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2017

Went to G&D for my 2nd year anniversary. Loving the vibe and hospitality, and the food, was amazing. Had the Norwegian Smoked Salmon for appetizer and the Rib Eye Steak for main course...never a disappointment! Will come back soon for sure. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HazleeS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George and Drag... C, Manager at George & Dragon Cafe at Taman Tasek, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you so much for the lovely review! We're glad you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Not sure if it has become a fine dining restaurant since the price is so expensice since i last went there.taste is ok for my taste buds. They charge you gst and service charge still. But suitable for romantic dinner for 2 if you dont mind the expensive price with small potion plate with a so-so taste.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank 629kins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George and Drag... C, Manager at George & Dragon Cafe at Taman Tasek, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Hi Kin S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. We are saddened to hear that your experience wasn't the best. However, we'd like to clarify that all of our prices already include the GST amount as required by law, and we do not add any service charge whatsoever. So the prices that you see displayed on our menus are truly the final price!

We hope to see you again someday.

Many thanks,
GnD Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

My wife and I always pass this place along the roadside and I always think to myself, "that's an interesting name for a restaurant." So we finally decided to try the place and had a wonderful experience.
As a celebration of my wife's M.B.A. achievement, we made a reservation on a Saturday night at 8.30pm, despite we were 20mins late, they still held our table. As we walked through the door the staff greeted us with smiles and remembered our name from the reservation.
The menu is western style cuisine with a heavy English influence. However, their wine selection was quite impressive with global varietals. I chose the Malbec to accompany our main course.
My wife had the Sherwood Chicken and I had the lamb. Both were quite delicious and not too fatty, served with an ample supply of cut vegetables.
Even though there were several large groups, the restaurant was spacious enough for us to have a private feeling. The staff was extremely attentive and I will definitely return to try more dishes.

Date of visit: March 2017
1  Thank zacharyr827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George and Drag... C, Manager at George & Dragon Cafe at Taman Tasek, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for the lovely review! It is great to hear that you both enjoyed yourselves and our heartiest congratulations to your wife on her achievement! We're glad you both decided to visit and we look forward to having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

Unexpected visit to the branch in Taman Tasek. We must say great service, speedy serving of food, and a lovely atmosphere to dine. Very clean and cozy. Top notch for that.
Price is reasonable, however the taste of the food is just average, its all good, but its lack the flavour you could get elsewhere. Still a good place to eat, just doesnt have the repeatable wow factor.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KevinJ1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed George & Dragon Cafe at Taman Tasek also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to George & Dragon Cafe at Taman Tasek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.