We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Spice Grill

Spice Grill
Ranked #8 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Fusion
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 1 January 2019 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with the fare served at this resturant. Western and Indian.
We decided to have the set menu, main dish were the Lobster and the Lamb.
Starter soup was good, salad was tiny and could have been more than the small serving that appeared. Not bad but pretty tiny. Lobster was just that, not much but tasted pretty good. Lamb though was kinda overdone and a tad hard.

The live band playing just outside kinda spoilt the ambiance which I think on any other day except New Years Eve, would have been quieter. That night it was packed and the staff were trying their best to cope.
Enjoyed the experience (bar the tough lamb) Lamb over done is not easy on the palate. For me, scratch the lamb!
Set was RM200 plus plus.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank JeanWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2018 via mobile

This is the restaurant of choice for my family. We came here four times during our stay here. The kid loves the delicious western-style cuisines while me and my wife loves their spicy Indian offerings. The French/Italian western menu has the best in class ingredients and the somewhat-fusion Indian menu is very special and very tasty.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank byeung888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 December 2018

We were there for dinner on a busy Saturday evening.

The restaurant offers 2 different menus - Fusion (more of a Western cuisine) and North Indian cuisine. We ordered from the North Indian cuisine menu. The food was good and came with a decent helping.

We had originally ordered a squid dish but they served us the fish one instead. We brought it to the attention of the service staff and they were sincerely apologetic for the mix-up. We didn't pursue it and since we already started on the dish, we stuck with the fish instead (it tasted really good anyway). Unexpected to us, they provided us with a complimentary cheesecake and scoop of ice cream (for our kid) as part of their service recovery. I think this is really wonderful as it speaks volumes of their restaurant's culture.

Moreover, one of the service staff overheard us calling our son's name, and he proceeded to address my son accordingly whenever he came to service. I feel that this is a heartwarming gesture.

Will definitely be back again when I travel to Puteri Harbour. Two thumbs up

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Clement Yi Chen... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Madam president and I visited a few times over the months that we were staying here. The service and food was really very good, not cheap but well worth it, good wine, food and excellent service. Thanks to all of you.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank AloysiusLondon1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

we were there after visiting hello kitty, after 3 days in johar bahru, here only we found good indian food..
firstly we were welcomed by a beautiful diwali rangoli, that brought smile on our face..
masala papad was yummy , paneer banarsee was delicious(i had such a tasty paneer dish after so long) everything was perfect..

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank khushboo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Spice Grill also viewed

 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Spice Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.