We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Halal Chinese food restaurant”

Wan Li Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Restaurant details
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Reviewed 16 November 2016

From being seated with a welcoming and caring smile to helping navigate the extensive Halal Chinese food menu and upon our request suggesting Chef's specialties, restaurant Manager NG Shen-Ynn's personality is a great asset to this restaurant, such a excellent service from her and assistant Coby made our second time around meal (Dim Sum) even more pleasant. The Chef's culinary expertise and dish presentation are superbe in every aspect. The Chef's homemade plum sauce for Peiking Duck is unique in it's texture and flavour.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank Rickfai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Rickfai,

Thank you for your positive and motivating review which has assisted us in ensuring we're meeting if not exceeding our guest expectations. Obviously, we have exceeded your expectation.
I have conveyed your appreciation to the team whom in return have also mentioned "It's our pleasure".
Looking forward to your next intended visit so that we can 'WOW' you again.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 60 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2016

We had a good time there celebrating hubby's birthday. Yes, the food is good and we love the Peking duck, if the wraps were bigger it would better. The standard serving of spring onion was missing though. Guess they were replaced by the mango slices. The service staff is excellent. Place is quiet, with a nice ambience.. Good for family bonding time over a nice meal. Will definitely visit again. Thanks Wan Li.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iloveperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Dear iloveperth,

Thank you for your review and recent visit to the Wan Li restaurant. We're truly glad we've met if not exceeded your expectations and your comments on the Peking duck have been noted and yes, it was missing the spring onions which has been addressed with the kitchen team.

In which case, we're looking forward to having you again with us and thank you again for the positive and constructional feedback.

Best Culinary Regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Stopped by Renaissance Hotel yesterday to see if they had lunch specialities. We were greeted by the F& B Manager Mr.Jimmy who took us to the main buffet and opened up our options for variety. We decided to dine at Wan Li and the lady in charge was amazing , she helped us choose our dishes and we even played around with special requests which much to our surprise tasted great. The ambience and the team are truly a plus to this place. Will dine again the next time I'm there .

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank HonestTruth88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2016

Dear HonestTruth88,

Thank you for your feedback and we're glad you stopped by to both see and try our lunch specialties.

We're looking forward to your next visit and this time also try our dinner specialties which is second to none.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady / Executive Chef - REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016

This is a good quality restaurant with great food & great hospitality. We love the mango Peking duck & also the prawn with grass noodle (with lemon grass flavor). The cost is very reasonable especially it's a hotel restaurant. Enjoyed that dinner very much.

Date of visit: August 2016
3  Thank HJKHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Dear HJKHongKong,

Thank you for your great review and feedback which has motivated us to further continue on providing good quality food and service.
We're looking forward to your next intended visit and we hope that we will again exceed your expectations.

Thank you and best culinary regards,

Mahady / Executive Chef - REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed in renaissance hotel Permas Jaya for 20 full months and wan li restaurant has always been my first choice of food! It has wonderful staff who are very friendly, accommodative, and treat me like a family member. The food is alright. I will definitely miss this place and those people here!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Seaside657733
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear En. Nik Mohamed,

Thank you for your review and comments which has indeed been very motivating and allowing us to further improve further to meet if not exceed both yours and our guest expectations.

We will miss you too and if ever the roads bring you back to this part of the world, do please drop by if not to dine but say hello and keep the connections going on.

Best culinary regards,

Mohamad Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wan Li Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Wan Li Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.