We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each dish lit up our faces. Excellent Service!”

Wan Li Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 1,244 Restaurants in Johor Bahru
Cuisines: Chinese, Contemporary
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Restaurant details
Description: Dine on fresh seafood dishes and authentic Cantonese cuisine with a seasonally-inspired menu in a relaxed setting for lunch or dinner at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant in Johor Bahru. Our restaurant is now open for a la carte dine-in for fully vaccinated guests. All set up will adhere to hygiene SOPs and social distancing as outlined by the local authorities. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Reviewed 9 June 2017 via mobile

My oh my! Wan Li should be the level all Cantonese restaurants should aspire to. Then again I shouldn't be surprised as Singaporeans had made the journey over The Causeway to dine at this enclave. You know you've made the right choice when the hostess appears right on cue to deliver the next item on the menu or top up the Oolong tea. The food was marvellous. Deep Fried Groupa perfectly dissected by our ever helpful hostess, meant there was no need to worry about bones. I never knew the Chinese made such mouth-watering deserts. The pictures don't do the spread justice. Please visit if only to have a standard to challenge lesser establishments.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank tadeojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef / Acting DOFB at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Tade O,

My Oh My! Indeed as your review has motivated us and shown us the correct path we're taking is the right path with some minor adjustments to ensure consistency of which we hope you will have the chance again to experience.

Looking forward to having you again with us.

Best regards

Mahady
Executive Chef / Acting DOFB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

We love this restaurant a lot
Food are delicious and reasonable
Staff are attentive
Well done all ..
We will definitely be back for more

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank Norish78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear Norish78,

Thank you for your review and feedback of which i have shared with the team. Indeed we are proud that we have met if not exceeded your expectations.

We have since also have a new addition to our culinary team, Chef Bryan, a Malaysian Chinese chef who has just returned from Macau and brought with him new modern dishes which will be implemented into our new menus soon.

Do make a date with us to savor these new dishes and have a chat with our Chef to customize a menu to meet your preferences.

Best Culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / Ren - JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant while resident at the hotel and had one of the best Chinese meals there however, this was spoiled by the extremely intense air conditioning which left us feeling chilled to the bone. Needs urgent attention

Date of visit: January 2017
2  Thank memories137
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Dear memories137,

Thank you for your review and good feedback on the food quality. Strangely enough, folks usually feel quite warm but i guess we turned on the air conditioning a little too high and i have alerted those concerned to adjust accordingly the temperature settings.

Looking forward to having you with us again.

Best Culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / RHI-JHBBR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Dined there on 27-Dec with my family. The food is really tasty and excellent quality - we ordered the durian paste prawn (amazing!), sweet & sour deep fried seabass (ask them to put the sauce separately so that you can taste the cruchy..ness of the perfectly fried fish), a veg, szechuan soup, and toufu. The only downside - be prepared to wait at least 30-45 min for the food.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Choco22SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

Dear Choco22SG,

Thank you for your review and feedback which has further motivated us and encouraged us to further improve and have a consistent dinning experience for guest like yourself.

Do also drop by for the Chinese New Year reunion dinner and best to make a reservation as the menus this year have been further improved with a great selection for you and your family to celebrate.

Looking forward to having you and your family with us again.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / RHI-JHBBR

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2016

From being seated with a welcoming and caring smile to helping navigate the extensive Halal Chinese food menu and upon our request suggesting Chef's specialties, restaurant Manager NG Shen-Ynn's personality is a great asset to this restaurant, such a excellent service from her and assistant Coby made our second time around meal (Dim Sum) even more pleasant. The Chef's culinary expertise and dish presentation are superbe in every aspect. The Chef's homemade plum sauce for Peiking Duck is unique in it's texture and flavour.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank Rickfai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chef_Mahady, Executive Chef at Wan Li Chinese Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Rickfai,

Thank you for your positive and motivating review which has assisted us in ensuring we're meeting if not exceeding our guest expectations. Obviously, we have exceeded your expectation.
I have conveyed your appreciation to the team whom in return have also mentioned "It's our pleasure".
Looking forward to your next intended visit so that we can 'WOW' you again.

Best culinary regards,

Mahady - Executive Chef / REN-JB

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wan Li Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
Johor Bahru, Johor Bahru District
 

Been to Wan Li Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.