We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Tanjung Rhu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Ranked #9 of 106 Hotels in Langkawi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We loved our 5 nights here. It is isolated and quiet and in a beautiful area. The place is huge but many rooms are blocked off for future renovations. The 3 restaurants are good and the main (adult) pool bar great - happy hour 5.30-11pm !!! Cocktails are great value. The pools are excellent and there's lots of areas to chill in the sun or shade. We had a car which is highly recommended in order to get about the island.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Rosemary F,

Warmest Greetings from all of us at beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort, Langkawi!

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of Tanjung Rhu Resort and spending your time to write a review of your experience with us.

It is rewarding to receive such a gracious review! It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your visit to Tanjung Rhu Resort and thank you for glorifying our hospitality with your wonderful feedback that summarizes the overall experience you had at our resort.

This is truly a remarkable praise that we intend to keep, and we hope you will visit us many more times in future. We will ensure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards from,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 1,410 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and we absolutely love our entire stay. Credit goes to the hotel staffs!
From the moment we were picked up by Azrin the concierge staff we were amazed with their politeness, friendliness & warm services. Once arrived the FO staff Ms Nurliyana greeted and attended to us. She explained in detail about the resorts facilities and the packages offered.

We arrived to a very wet Langkawi and the first day I've plan a romantic dinner by the beach weeks ago and due to the rain we were not able to dine at the beach but the staff were thoughtful to provide an area like a pagoda with lighted candles everywhere. The F&B staff attended to us superbly. Zulfan the F&B manager greeted us and apologies for the change of venue. Thank you to Tahir who cook and served us. I admit the Romantic BBQ dinner is quite pricy above RM700 for 2 pax but the portion was huge. We were surprised with a small anniversary cake and cheese & fruits platter was sent up to our room that night too.

Yes there are major renovations going on at the resort which is on the right wing but it didn't effect us at all as we didn't hear any renovation noises and all the hotel guests stayed on the other wing. Since we spent the next day out at the beach and pool we were not bothered by the effects of the closed wing due to the reno
Our room was in good condition too. Nothing to comment negatively about it like some reviews I've read.

Some points to note :
Do take their F&B promo which is called the All Inclusive package where you get to enjoy food anytime from their menu incl drinks & mocktails. Food quality was good too. Seafood was fresh. Breakfast buffets spread was superb.
We didn't bother to go out as our intentions were just to enjoy the tranquility of the amazing beach and hotel so taking the AIP promo was a good deal.
Resort is more ideal for adults rather than for family. But the beach is safe for children where there are hardly waves and water is calm and clean

Overall we truly enjoyed our stay because the warm hospitality given by the staff.
Thank you to Zulfan whom numerous times came to chat with us asking is everything taken care off. He even recommended some drinks and food from the menu.

Would definitely come back to this resort with my hubby.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JoNunis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear JoNunis,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and we greatly appreciate you taking a moment to share your wonderful Anniversary Getaway experience with us.

It is rewarding to receive such a gracious review! It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your visit to Tanjung Rhu Resort and thank you for glorifying our hospitality with your lovely feedback that summarizes the overall experience you had at our resort.

Our entire team, indeed, is passionate about enhancing your experience in any way that we can. We definitely do our level best to provide the best customer service to all our guests and it brings us great joy we accomplished that. Your review has been shared with the entire team. They were very happy to know that they were able to offer you an excellent customer service and they feel motivated to continually maintain the high standard. The entire team is one of the hallmarks of the service we strive to provide for every guest and they are the backbone of our resort.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and the ongoing refurbishment did not caused any problem to you. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

Thank you for pointing out our amazing private beach. In fact, Tanjung Rhu Resort’s beachfront has the natural advantage of being strategically located on 2.5 kilometres of prime sandy white beach facing the warm waters of the Andaman Sea. Our locale promises only warm, calm waters, ideal for those desiring utter and complete relaxation.

That is truly a remarkable praise that we intend to keep, and it’s wonderful to know our efforts are paying off. We hope to be of service to you again when you get to go back to Langkawi in future. We will ensure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards from,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

If you're looking for white sand beach in Langkawi, this is the place. There are only 2 resorts in this area - Tanjung Rhu and the Four Seasons. The share the same shoreline but not too close. I would recommend this place for couple or family who would like to have a relaxing weekend. I was 6 months pregnant at that time and wanted to chill only before I give birth and it was a short travel from Singapore. We took the Daman room and it's more than enough - very generous in space. At that time, few rooms are under renovation but not operation so no noise. They have 2 pools (kids and adults only). We mostly stayed on adult pool and just ordered food and drinks from the bar. The staff are friendly. Food in the restaurant was okay not fantastic and not too bad...again it depends on your standard ;)

We enjoyed our stay there and definitely will recommend to our friends.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRRKLSO, Owner at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear Gine P,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and we greatly appreciate you taking a moment to share your lovely experience with us.

It is rewarding to receive such a gracious review! It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your visit to Tanjung Rhu Resort and thank you for glorifying our hospitality with your wonderful feedback that summarizes the overall experience you had at our resort.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and the ongoing refurbishment did not caused any problem to you. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

This is truly a remarkable praise that we intend to keep, and we hope to be of service to you again when you get to go back to Langkawi in future. We will ensure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards from,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

The Tanjung Rhu Resort, Langkawi, is a beautiful property with an exquisite private beach that stretches up to 2.5Kms. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, well maintained and tastefully done. The property has a rich fauna which provides for an exciting experience for the guests. We saw a giant Komodo Dragon leisurely dragging itself around the gardens, enjoying the rains. We had never seen something like that up close and personal and it gave us such a thrill to walk along side a Komodo!

There are many fun activities organized by the resort which keep the guests thoroughly entertained. We took the river safari into the Kilim Geoforest Park which was super fun and attended other cute little craft classes. There are many water sport options to choose from, and other island hopping tours that one can take.

The island resort has something to offer to everyone, whether you are looking at just lazing by the pool or the beach sipping delicious cocktails or wanting to go island hopping and bird watching!

The restaurants are great and the food is yum! We hogged on the most delicious lobsters and king prawns almost every night!

The spa is very good too and the therapists are amazing! I highly recommend a visit to the spa here.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank 123sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Dear 123sinha,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and we greatly appreciate you taking a moment to share your lovely experience with us.

It is rewarding to receive such a gracious review! It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your visit to Tanjung Rhu Resort and thank you for glorifying our newly renovated room, ambiance, facilities and services with your wonderful feedback that summarizes the overall experience you had at our resort.

That is truly a remarkable praise that we intend to keep, and it’s wonderful to know our efforts are paying off. We hope to be of service to you again when you get to go back to Langkawi in future. We will ensure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards from,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

We stayed at this resort for three nights. The checked in was rather very smooth. It was raining at that time, in fact throughout whole duration of our stays. We rented a car and arrived at the hotel lobby drop off area but was told that car parking area was located at another place, which is actually 300m away. If we were to park at the lobby area will be considered as valet parking which needs to pay RM10 for each time. We left with no choice but to pay for it every night when back from dinner as it was far and dark from the designated parking area to lobby, especially during raining days.

There is no food, convenience shop or entertainment outlets at all within 3KM from the resort. It is simply a long and quiet road on your left and right heading to the property. When night falls, it is very dark and indeed impossible to walk along the said road. As such, do not ever think of having your meals outside resort. The only choice is to spend and eat within it. The food is just ok and nothing worth to highlight. The price of food is 5 star hotel range, about RM40 for a plate of fried rice.

We were lucky in the sense that our room was right at the first floor, as such we do not need to climb up because there is no lifts in the resorts for four story buildings. All rooms have a small balcony but we feel that there is no point to pay more for higher floor rooms as most of the view are blocked by the trees unless you book for direct sea facing rooms. There is no major complaints on the room iteself as it is rather new and spacious. The bed is the best ever that I have experienced before and very comfortable. Minor complaints mainly on stains in the room itself even though is newly renovated and few damages to the sanitary fittings.

The main highlight in this resort is the sand bar that appears naturally during low tide. It is a must visit during the stay and walk along the sand bar that may lead to small islands in front of the resorts, if you are lucky enough to experience super low tide. The view at the beach is fantastic especially during sunset. Just rest and relax at the sun loungers, listen to the wave crashing sound on the beach, enjoy the sea breeze and bird chirping.. Nice resorts to stay for a short break. But, beware of fire ants along the beach that may bite you!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Direct Sea View Rooms if you have the budget. If not, just take any room at first floor as no lift p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OsUhI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TRRKLSO, Manager at Tanjung Rhu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear OsUhI,

Thank you for choosing the hospitality of beautiful Tanjung Rhu Resort and we greatly appreciate you taking a moment to share your wonderful experience with us. We sincerely thank you for your valuable feedback and fair review.

First of all, please allow us to apologize for the frustrations that we have not managed to deliver, but grateful for bringing it up as this helps us to constantly improve on our service in every aspect. We appreciate your feedback and noted among all concerned. We will look into details in the areas that have been highlighted.

On a brighter note, it is rewarding to receive such a positive review! It was our great pleasure taking care of you on your visit to Tanjung Rhu Resort and thank you for glorifying our hospitality with your lovely feedback that summarizes the overall experience you had at our resort.

We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and the ongoing refurbishment did not caused any problem to you. We are working hard to provide our guests a beautiful brand new for both interior and exterior. We can assure that once our renovation and refurbishment are completed, Tanjung Rhu Resort will be more spectacular than ever.

It was an honour to have you with us and we look forward to your next visit. We will ensure that your upcoming experience with us will be both enjoyable and a legendary one.

Warmest Regards from,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
18.7 km away
The Danna Langkawi
The Danna Langkawi
#1 of 1 in Pantai Kok
3,325 reviews
20 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
16.8 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Four Seasons Resort Langkawi, Malaysia
21 km away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,460 reviews
18.1 km away
The St. Regis Langkawi
The St. Regis Langkawi
#5 of 106 in Langkawi
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanjung Rhu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanjung Rhu Resort

Address: Mukim Ayer Hangat, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#9 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
Price Range: $198 - $960 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tanjung Rhu Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanjung Rhu Resort, nestled in the shade of casuarinas over 2.5km white sandy beach, is one of Asia’s finest boutique resort renowned for its scenic views, impeccable service and gourmet fine dining. This is a place for romance, privacy and tranquility. The 136 luxurious suites Tanjung Rhu lies at the northern tip of the Langkawi island of Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tanjung Rhu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanjung Rhu Hotel Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing