We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice aquarium”

Underwater World Langkawi
Book In Advance
More Info
US$9.35*
and up
Underwater World Langkawi Admission Ticket
Ranked #35 of 108 things to do in Langkawi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An exciting and educational journey awaits you at Underwater World Langkawi ('UWL'). Featuring themed sections such as the fascinating Tropical Rainforest, the spectacular Temperate World, the engaging Sub-Antartic Climate and the abundant Freshwater and Marine Life sections; be amazed by over 4000 animals and aquatics life forms on display. To further enhance your experience, UWL features Eden Cafe and a great duty-free shopping. In recognition of its achievements, UWL was awarded the 'Leading Tourism Product' in Langkawi by LADA and is also listed in the Malaysian Book of Records for being the 'Largest Aquarium in Malaysia' and for being the '1st breeding of Rockhoppers Penguins in Captivity'. So make a visit to UWL - When Adventure Becomes Experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 29 June 2018

This is the largest aquarium in Malaysia and houses many different species of freshwater and marine fish.A very nice place to visit with children.

Thank Govindan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underwater Worl... L, Public Relations Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hello! Thank you for visiting us at Underwater World Langkawi! We hope you had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"sea creatures"
in 78 reviews
"marine life"
in 92 reviews
"penguin feeding"
in 29 reviews
"african penguins"
in 20 reviews
"nice aquarium"
in 20 reviews
"on display"
in 34 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 33 reviews
"different species"
in 19 reviews
"duty free shop"
in 31 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 56 reviews
"free shops"
in 31 reviews
"nice place to visit"
in 19 reviews
"cenang beach"
in 36 reviews
"clams"
in 21 reviews
"sharks"
in 105 reviews
"typhoon"
in 31 reviews
"klcc"
in 24 reviews
Filter

58 - 62 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

This is a good aquarium to pass time in Langkawi, however, I felt this was priced a little on the higher side for what it had to offer (in comparison to the other aquariums I have been to) and personally I felt I could have spent that time and money in some of the other activities in Langkawi. The ticket for adults (foreigners) costs 46 Malaysian Ringget per person. This place is more suited for people with kids or places to see when it's raining.

Having said that, the aquarium itself has a number of underwater life on display including numerous fishes, corals, penguins, seals, eels etc. The variety of sea life here was impressive. It also has a small section where the animals are free and you can walk all around. We saw flamingo, turtle, birds and some other animals here. This section was the best part of the underwater world for me since I had never seen a flamingo in real life before! Everything here has a description for you to read and learn more about these creatures which was very educational. There is also a section where you can see the penguins swimming from a tunnel underwater, which was also nice. You can spend as little or as much time here as per your personal preference.

All in all, it was a good experience but in hindsight, considering I had only 2.5 days in Langkawi, I would have probably skipped this one.

Thank kanika k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underwater Worl... L, Public Relations Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hello! Thank you for visiting us at Underwater World Langkawi! We hope you had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We loved this place ! And spent a good 2 hours watching the animals there. All sections have their own categorisation which makes it more interesting. The exit ends at a junction of different duty free shops where you can buy liquor, chocolates and many other duty free items. Malaysians pay RM36 while foreigners pay RM46, but it's definitely worth the money.

Thank ShaluShalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underwater Worl... L, Public Relations Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hello! Thank you for visiting us at Underwater World Langkawi! We hope you had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Easy to locate no rush you can take your time children are fascinated by the diverse exhibits. Price of admission is very reasonable and it’s close to two big duty free shopping centres.

Thank grantley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underwater Worl... L, Public Relations Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hello! Thank you for visiting us at Underwater World Langkawi! We hope you had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Never expected to see penguins in langkawi, excellent place to bring your children they will enjoy immensely.

Thank mcnamee11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Underwater Worl... L, Public Relations Manager at Underwater World Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Hello! Thank you for visiting us at Underwater World Langkawi! We hope you had fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Underwater World Langkawi also viewed

 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to Underwater World Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing