We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly staff and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Ranked #17 of 101 Hotels in Langkawi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

First impression upon arriving at the resort is that it needs a little upgrading and renovation. Decor and style is stuck in the '80's. However, what impressed us is the friendliness of the staff. Check-in took just a few minutes. Stayed at the standard room with balcony. Room size is ok; clean, no complain with the bed and bed sheets. Room was cleaned everyday.

The only complain I have is the breakfast; room we booked comes with breakfast. They have a very limited menu, perhaps they should add more variety to it. Same with their a la carte menu.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelphotographer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes on our beach, the location of our resort and the restaurant which make us extremely happy that you have noticed them. We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We try our best to cater to guest’s needs and wants.

Our Standard Room upgrades that are in line with landscaping ambience to maintain our Green concept image is scheduled to complete by June end this year. You will be happy to see the renewed look on your next visit.

Our Executive Chef is always experimenting with some interesting food items to be added to the buffet breakfast, while the Ala’carte menu upgrade is being looked into. Home grown fresh organic sugar cane juice harvested from our farm is now available on order.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    580
    219
    87
    49
See reviews for
427
496
28
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My wife and I returned two weeks ago from our holiday in Langkawi. We have been several times to Langkawi and have tried a variety of accommodations. We stayed at the Frangipani Resort for the first time. We selected a Beach Villa (sea facing, RM 940 per night, room# 302) and stayed here for three nights. Compared to other accommodations on Langkawi (and Bali) we felt that this was at least 30% overpriced for what it had to offer. The room was good and the outdoor shower a nice touch. It surprised us that bedsheets were not renewed every day and we had to take care to throw our towels on the floor otherwise they would not be replaced. The breakfast buffet was sufficient: a wide choice of items. What surprised us was the complete lack of shadow: there are almost no trees providing shadow and there are no parasols. During the afternoons we saw almost nobody at the resort due to this: everybody seemed fleeing from the strong sun.
Our room was close to the restaurant, which made that we heard the music every evening, which went on until after 11PM. If the music were good this would not be a nuisance.....
The gym is a small room with only a few fans, no towels or water. It has two running belts, one cycling machine and a set of dumbbells.
The location is good if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing time. Pantai Tengah is much quieter than Pantai Chenang and the Frangipani is located at the far end of the beach. There are only a few restaurants nearby but a taxi to Pantai Chenang is cheap and there is a lot of choice over there.
All in all we did not have a bad time, but we will not return here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLinTKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative notes on our rooms and the location of our resort which make us extremely happy that you have noticed them. We will gladly share your compliments with all our associates, who will feel extremely proud to see their efforts are being recognized. We try our best to cater to guest’s needs and wants.

We encourage guest participation in our Environment & Energy Conservation Program to use the prepared card that says guests wanting to change the bed sheets daily, are to place the card on the bed.

Depending on demand, at times there are insufficient shades from the natural trees which we are now in the midst of arranging to get more umbrellas.
Guests who feel disturbed by the music at the Restaurant are allowed to change room depending on room availability.

Together with my team, we very much look forward to your next visit to experience the new enhancements and we are very sure you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed at Frangipani Resort for six nights. The overall impression is that this is very overpriced and that the owner is keeping operating expenses and investments to an absolute minimum. This resort is stuck in the 1980ies. The rooms and bathrooms are old. The hotel gym was smaller than a regular room - with no air conditioning, drinking water or towels. Impressively, there were no sunshades at the whole resort. Several of the waiters did not understand English, and to our surprise we did not get the food we ordered for dinner. In in-house band playing in the restaurant during the evenings...what a joke. When we asked the reception about restaurants in the area, they always replied that they only recommended a low-end Chinese restaurant which they got paid to recommend. We will not come back

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesperandEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrangipaniRep, General Manager at The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Jeffrey Goh General Manager, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa replies:

Many sincere thanks for your comments that will help us to take remedial actions and improve our services.

As a Green Hotel, our hallmark is to create an awareness to Reuse, Reduce and Recycle to avoid wastage.

We do not put air-condition in public areas like the gym, because it is not good for health during exercises, thus a fan is in place for comfort. While the gym is not manned, bath towels are available from the pool area which is within reach from it.

Training courses for English class and customer service are in the pipeline and only proven Restaurants with positive feedbacks from other guests are being recommended by our Receptionists. We do apologize if it is not up to your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I had read reviews on TripAdvisor before booking my 2 night stay here, and I hoped my stay would turn out to be excellent.

In fact, the location, amenities, pool and the restaurant turned out to be good. What was not so good was the quality of room and the service.

Room: Our room was a garden facing standard room; interiors are a bit old fashioned and small in size. Faucets in the bath tub were old and creaky and had to struggle with the shower adjustment knob.

Staff: Service was not upto the mark, the staff need better training in hospitality. For instance, the house keeping staff came to our room and asked whether we had any clothes for laundry. We told her that we wanted to give some under garments but they were not listed in the price list, so what should be done. Her response was one word - "Ok" and she walked away! Also at the time of checkout our luggage was taken from the room and left at the reception but there were no porters to help load the bags in the taxi. I had to do that myself. (All these were pointed out to a senior duty manager who listened to us with patience).

Surroundings: The pool, bar and the access to the beach are very good. There is a place for doing water sports just outside the resort. The sand is also clean and is well kept. A part of the beach is private for the resort.

Overall, just an average stay. Will look out for a better place next time I visit Langkawi.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinodIyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Ok rooms are basic but clean and perfectly adequate! The location is the key to this resort-far enough away from cenang beach so you don't have to smell the petrol from the landrovers and motorbikes whizzing up and down or dodge the parasails taking off or landing, and within easy walking distance of some of the best restaurants on the island. Pool is also a must in langkawi if you don't like jelly fish! Breakfast was a good selection and filled us up till dinner. Overall a very pretty resort with a laid back hippy feel. Would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0uiseAndNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Langkawi hotels
12.1 km away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
0.6 km away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Langkawi
12.2 km away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
22.2 km away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#6 of 101 in Langkawi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
14.0 km away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa

Property: The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Address: 138. Jalan Teluk Baru Pantai Tengah | Mukim Kedawang, Langkawi 07100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Langkawi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Langkawi
#14 Spa Hotel in Langkawi
Price range (per night): $153 - $395
Hotel Class:4 star — The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked between coconut palms and lush tropical gardens, the Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa is located by a pristine, white sandy beach overlooking the tranquil Andaman Sea and an archipelago of over 104 islands. The resort remains close to the bustling Cenang Beach, yet retains its natural charm as secluded hideaway as the two beaches lay parted by a cliff, accessible only by road. Over the years, The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa has garnered a number of prestigious awards, including the ASEAN Green Hotel Award 2014, as well as Tripadvisor's Top 25 Relaxation and Spa Hotels for Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Frangipani Langkawi Hotel Langkawi
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort And Spa
Frangipani Resort Langkawi
Village Langkawi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing