We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi
Nearby Hotels
US$235
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa(Pantai Tengah)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$319
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Danna Langkawi(Pantai Kok)
US$382
US$322
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
US$241
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$41/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$800
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
35
156
101
57
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
156
101
57
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscactus restaurantpantai cenangswim up barlaundry servicehotel is greatnight lifean upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

We had booked Federal Villa for 4 nights since most of the reviews were encouraging. However when we arrived we had to check in at Holiday Villa and go finding the room on our own with our luggage. The room was good with beautiful beach view, however the bathroom was very much outdated.. There was a foul smell in the room.. So we asked to change room.. on request they changed the room.. but the room was also having a foul smell and the entrance floor was always wet.. we went to reception to talk about this where we came to know that there is leakage in the room.. they told that we can change room if we want.. but we had already spent our half day in changing rooms and were tired of it.. Finally we asked them to change us to Holiday Villa for which we had to bear extra cost.. But Holiday Villa was good and we are happy that we made this change.. However, at the time of booking there were many resorts in this area with equivalent price of Federal Villa and we are very disappointed that we made a decision to chose Federal Villa.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank prajakta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear M/M prajakta D,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Federal Villa Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi.

We wish to inform you that guest’s facilities are located at Holiday Villa Langkawi and are shared with Federal Villa in house guests. Federal Villa rooms are chalet or individual room in 06 different blocks and where as Holiday Villa rooms are all located under 01 roof with more modern facilities in comparison to Federal Villa.

Hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests and we constantly upgrade guestrooms and facilities. Also, we practice our Villa care system to maintain & upgrade our hotel. If repairs are not possible due to force majeure reasons we will then make a room replacement and normally, due to the high humidity of Langkawi Island climate that sometimes causes unpleasant odor, all guest rooms sprayed with air freshener by Housekeeping staff when they are cleaning the room and it will be checked by Housekeeping Supervisor before releasing them for new check-in. We are very particular that all guests are deserved to have a good room upon check-in.

Our hotel offer a wide varieties of room packages which you could check out at our website or you may contact us for your next return trip and we will be most please to offer you a package of your choice.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you and you family in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

This is a part of Hotel Holiday villa beach resort, but there is a lot of difference in standard of these two. Federal Villa is actually not a hotel they are 1BHK or 2 BHK furnished appartments used as hotel. Poor room amenities, Bathrooms are worst, they don't provide any complementary drinking water or any service to send luggage to room. The only good thing is breakfast which is combined with Hotel Holiday villa beach resort and very good.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajiv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Dear M/M Rajiv G,

Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us at Federal Villa Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi.

Indeed there is a difference between Federal Villa and Holiday Villa Langkawi. Guest’s facilities are located at Holiday Villa Langkawi and are shared with Federal Villa in house guests. Federal Villa rooms are chalet or individual room in 06 different blocks and where as Holiday Villa rooms are all located under 01 roof with more modern facilities in comparison to Federal Villa.

We wish to inform you that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage besides, hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests and we constantly upgrade guestrooms and facilities. Also, we practice our Villa care system to maintain & upgrade our hotel. If repairs are not possible we will then make a room replacement.

Generally, for the shampoo and bathroom amenities, hotel will only replace new one every 02 days one time unless it is finished on the same day while a bottle of drinking water plus tea & coffee sachets are provided on complimentary basis in all guest rooms at Holiday Villa. The exception only for Federal Villa guest rooms which the replenishment is chargeable (conditions apply).

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you and you family in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2017

My friend and I booked this hotel for 4 nights in the beginning of May:

- Please note this is a side hotel to the Beach Villa Resort Hotel (?), therefore you have to walk a 5-10 minutes to get to the main building with the restaurant and the pools etc.
- The room had a terrible smell of damp/attic and the air conditioning was not on when we entered, it was very difficult to air the smell out of the room.
- Note that the picture with the red sunbeds is of a pool that requires a fee to be accessed; this picture was the main reason why we chose this hotel and were very disappointed to hear that it was a completely different entity and that required a charge to enter.
- The hotel prioritises the customers that are staying at the beach villa and there are certain things that you cannot have such as bottled water in the room or any tea/coffee.
- After we found out about the above we tried to get some water delivered to our room through room service and it turned out that they had ran out of water.
In Malaysia when the outside temperature is about 40 degrees Celsius and when the tap water is not to be drank, that is a major faux-pas.
- In addition to this; there is not Wi-Fi in the rooms - customers at the Fereal Beach Villa must go to the main building to get some Wi-Fi.
- The hotel itself is quite far from the main beach and requires taxi rides or a scooter to access it.

On the up hand of being isolated out means that we got our own access to the beach which was much less crowded than at the level of the main hotel.

There were much cheaper places to pick, I hope that this review has helped!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coralie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2017

Dear M/M Coralie B,

We thank you for choosing Federal Villa Beach Resort during your recent trip to Langkawi Island.

We wish to let you know that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage besides, hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests and we constantly upgrade guestrooms and facilities. Also, we practice our Villa care system to maintain & upgrade our hotel. If repairs are not possible due to force majeure reasons we will then make a room replacement and normally, all guest rooms sprayed with air freshener by Housekeeping staff when they are cleaning the room and it will be checked by Supervisors before releasing it for new check-in. We are very particular that all guests are comfortable and deserve to have a clean & good room upon check-in.

Indeed there is a difference between Federal Villa and Holiday Villa Langkawi. Guest’s facilities are located at Holiday Villa Langkawi and are shared with Federal Villa in house guests. Federal Villa rooms are chalet or individual room in 06 different blocks whereas Holiday Villa rooms are all located under 01 roof with more modern facilities in comparison to Federal Villa. Just for your general information, we do provide a water decanter place in the refrigerator, a kettle , 02 mugs , stirrer and coffee & tea sachet with sugar & creamer in the room upon arrival.

In term of WiFi, it is provided in all Hotel rooms of Holiday Villa, Lobby & all outlets and it was functioning well but if all data uploaded and utilized, sometimes it will reduce speed capacity and slow down the WIFI connection. Only at Federal Villa is chargeable at minimum charge of RM20.00 per 24 hours. However if guests do not wish to pay for in room WIFI we do provide FREE WIFI for all Federal Villa guests at lobby.

Hotel has 04 swimming pools as part of the hotel facilities for guest’s free usage. Our main swimming pools consist of a huge main pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and indoor pool for ladies which are free usage for our in house guests. It is further complemented by our newest LaVilla Infinity Privatize Pool and in order to maintain its exclusiveness we impose a small fee that includes the usage of the pool and 01 drink. Guests are welcome to patronize our LaVilla restaurant for lunch and dinner or just for a drink or coffee if they don't wish to pay to use the infinity pool.

We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

We were welcomed to the hotel but had to make our own way to our room which was quite far away and hard to find and struggled with our bags even though porters were there we were offered no help. Our room had a stunning view of the beach, was a good size and had a really comfortable bed however had many problems. The bathroom is very old and run down and had the worst (and oldest) shower I have ever had. It was a dribble and refused to even stay in its holder whilst in use. Unlike every hotel and hostel we stayed in over recent trips, you get no free water and no free wifi which is supplied world wide but not this hotel!!! The room was constantly full of insects so take bug spray with you. There were only two power points, one used by the tv which only left one to charge two cameras, two laptops, use my hairdryer (not supplied) and a cpap machine at night etc I'm sure you get the point.

On the plus side the location is beautiful and quiet, the staff are very nice and helpful and the swimmming pool is wonderful. Even though you have paid for the use of the facilities in your room rate, be prepared to pay extra to use the infinity pool - unheard of!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fifo003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear M/M fifo003,
We thank you for choosing Federal Villa Beach Resort during your recent trip to Langkawi Island.
We wish to let you know that our hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture synonym with its “Truly Asia” slogan in its tourism campaign is promoting the uniqueness of local cultural and heritage besides, hotel had spent huge amount on refurbishment of hotel rooms over the year to improve the comfort for guests and we constantly upgrade guestrooms and facilities. Also, we practice our Villa care system to maintain & upgrade our hotel. If repairs are not possible due to force majeure reasons we will then make a room replacement and normally, all rooms cleaned by Housekeeping staff are checked by Housekeeping Supervisor before releasing them for new check-in. We are very particular that all guests are deserved to have a good room upon check-in.
Indeed there is a difference between Federal Villa and Holiday Villa Langkawi. Guest’s facilities are located at Holiday Villa Langkawi and are shared with Federal Villa in house guests. Federal Villa rooms are chalet or individual room in 06 different blocks whereas Holiday Villa rooms are all located under 01 roof with more modern facilities in comparison to Federal Villa.
In term of WiFi, it is provided in all Hotel rooms of Holiday Villa, Lobby & all outlets and it was functioning well but if all data uploaded and utilized, sometimes it will reduce speed capacity and slow down the WIFI connection. Only at Federal Villa is chargeable at minimum charge of RM20.00 per 24 hours. However if guests do not wish to pay for in room WIFI we do provide FREE WIFI for all Federal Villa guests at lobby.
We do highly recommend guest to always close the balcony at all times in order to restrict the entry of insect and small creatures into room. Also, Hotel is conducting daily garden fogging and all room sprayed by housekeeping staff on daily basis during the cleanliness process meanwhile we are placing in each room mosquito repellent to be used by guests. Being a Tropical Island with many jungles we will experience seasonal pest.
Hotel has 04 swimming pools as part of the hotel facilities for guest’s free usage. Our main swimming pools consist of a huge main pool, Jacuzzi, children's pool and indoor pool for ladies which are free usage for our in house guests. It is further complemented by our newest LaVilla Infinity Privatize Pool and in order to maintain its exclusiveness we impose a small fee that includes the usage of the pool and 01 drink. Guests are welcome to patronize our LaVilla restaurant for lunch and dinner or just for a drink or coffee if they don't wish to pay to use the infinity pool.
We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future.
Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

Probably 3.5 out of 5, rooms are dated and could do with a refurbishment, but you get what you pay for, breakfast buffet pretty good, location is excellent, staff were very good when we visited. Only slept in the rooms as out all day seeing the sights so not too bothered.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday V, General Manager at Federal Villa Beach Resort Langkawi, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2017


Dear M/M Mark W,

We thank you for choosing Federal Villa Langkawi Beach Resort & Spa during your recent trip to the island & we will continue to strive to serve our valued guests better.
We noted your positive comments about the Hotel meanwhile the current hotel design reflects the traditional style of Malaysian architecture. Hotel had spent million on refurbishment of Hotel room over the years to improve the comfort for guests and we constantly upgrade guest room & facilities.
We thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to write us a review. Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,
S. Hossam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews