We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Book with this company!

We booked a local tour of the Ipoh, Malaysia area. We are planning to move here next month and we... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
MauriceK636
,
El Paso, Texas
Great Tour to the Cameron Highlands

Great Tour to the Cameron Highlands. Very flexible with the booking. Very easy way of booking... read more

Reviewed 15 March 2020
Harald S
via mobile
Read all 33 reviews
  
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
29
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
3
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2018

We have used ‘Raythetour’ for our transfer from Ipoh to Cameron Highland last weekend. I must truly thank Ray for his kind and exceptional service that he has provided to us. He was very accommodating when we need to change our departing pick up time. Throughout the journey, Ray was at the same time attentive to his drive and was also able to share with us the histories of Ipoh and Cameron. He was always ready to help us in any thing throughout the journey. Would definitely recommend him to everyone here looking for any Ipoh local tours or private transfer in Malaysia. Thank you Ray for your warmly host. See you soon again one day. Oh yes, and thank for bringing us to buy the home made local food products in Ipoh! It was really tasty......

Date of experience: May 2018
2  Thank elliekhaw1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

Our 7 day tour was about 3 sisters in different parts of the world getting together with one from LA one from Melbourne, Australia and one from Kuala Lumpur. Raythetour did an amazing job organising our itenenary from picking us up from KLIA1 and KLIA2 to our hotel then showed us the gems of quaint little towns like Kuala Lipid and Venting.We had the best seafood and prawns at a quarter of the cost in the US and Australia. We also enjoyed the best durians at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended your. Happy to be contacted for further validation.
Siro 9

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Siro9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Even though I am bit of a writer, I am struggling to find words that can adequately express the warmth, love and affection showered by uncle and aunty upon us. We have travelled a fair bit in our lives and have taken countless tours but none of them come even remotely close to the personalization, care (to even the smallest of things) and pleasure of company that these two kind souls provided us. We almost felt that we were on a trip with our own parents. That’s how much at home they made us feel. These people are not at all commercial or money-minded, they are simply gem of human beings which is a rarity in today’s world. We would go to Ipoh again simply to meet them once more.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank TanujK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Owner at Raythetour, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi Tanuj,

We are equally elated and thankful for your heartfelt response ! My dad was gleaming with joy when he read the review . Being not a technological person, my dad asked me to thank you and your other half for the review and of course, your time in Ipoh as well :) , he equally enjoyed your presence and would definitely love to meet you both again ! :)

Darren
Raythetour! Friend's First!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing service - no proper guide of the city & sights, no advice on what to do on an afternoon free n worse of all, all the food places recommended by friends that I asked Ray to take us to were ignored. Our group of 14 would have been better off just hiring our own driver to take us to the food places we wanted to go to & a proper guide for sightseeing. And had better use of RM600 we were all charged each for no service n so-so food.

Date of experience: November 2017
4  Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond L, Owner at Raythetour, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hi Christina,

We regret about your experience with Raythetour, I have talked to my tour guide and found that the there could be a case of rare miscommunication and perhaps a gap in expectation and hence I apologize sincerely for your disappointment.

We value your feedback greatly and I will be in touch with yourself and Jeff to understand the situation better so we can improve. We want to build a culture of friendly tour and excellent service and this will further my resolve to provide an even better service for our future guests to come.

Having said that, and I may be wrong, I have been communicating with Jeff Heng ( the gentlemen who has booked our tour on behalf of the group ) and he was corresponding with me via whatsapp and his message was " Going Well, The group is happy with Raythetour!! "

Perhaps a proper follow up wasn't done properly and appreciate if you could help us improve further.

The charges of 600 Malaysian Ringgit is to compensate the effort that we have successfully host the rest of the group safely and comfortably with transportation from Penang to Ipoh (200km) + tour/food and from Ipoh to Malacca (300 km) over a course of 3 days.

The rest of the reviews here are an example of our commitment towards excellent service and once again I apologize deeply for your disappointment, especially when you have come all the way from Oz and didn't meet your tour and service expectation.
We will strive to become better and i will reach out to you via Jeff soon.


Darren
Raythetour Founder.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Raymond, our Ipoh Tour guide is a very punctual person and always on time to pick us up at the hotel and recommended us some of the most interesting places in Kuala Kangsar especially an unique Chinese Mosque which is very impressive and surprise my Pakistani hubby. Raymond brought us to a coffee shop where they sell the best cheese sponge eggs and tea tarik at a very cheap price to our surprise.

Being a vegetarian, he also brought us to Vegan Delight which serves vegetarian Japanese food, Chinese and Western Food. The taste is simply awesome. I know Raymond and his wife have done their homework well before we start our private tour with them.

Well recommended if any of the reviewer here intended to use him as your trusted tour guide in Ipoh... Thumb-Up... Raymond :)

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank singdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews