We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short stay”
Review of Hotel Shangg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shangg
Ranked #30 of 83 Ipoh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We were actually on the way to Alor Star & we planned to stay in Ipoh for a night. We reached there very late at night but the receptionist greeted us with smile. The good thing about this hotel is the room is not too small and it was clean. They also provide clean towels. The toilet was good too, just nice & very clean. The hotel location is also ok. It was quite easy to get the after we exit from Simpang Pulai. The not so good thing is that there is not many parking space. So if you arrive late, you will need to park your car by the roadside or at the shop nearby. You have to move your car when the shop is open.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not looking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a new hotel in Ipoh; the location is quite good, but it's situated not directly in the center of Ipoh; we need ca 20 min walk to the heart of city. In the nearby there are some cofeeshops and restaurants, there is also local bus station not far form the hotel. The staff at front desk were very firendly and helpfull. The room was spacious, very clean and camfortable. There was free WiFi in the room (not very fast but it worked enough good for check email etc.). The bath was O.K. with towels and some bath accessories. There is no breakfast in the hotel but you can eat in the nearby. Generally they offer good value for money and nice athmosphere.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Very nice hotel with helpful staff and nice room.
The room has big windows, clean bathroom, good bed.
Would recommend this place for sure! Good value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The room & the bathrooms are nice and clean. Towels are changed everyday. No complain about the room.
Location is OK. It's not in the heart of the city but not too far either. It's 5 minute walk Sri Maju bus office so we had no problem with transportation. It's also near a halal Indian resto that opens from 6 am until late at night, so no need to worry about food.

The one that is not reliable is the front desk. Although they they are all friendly (they showed us 'Gerbang Malam' the complex where people sell food) but one particular Indian man seemed to try to hide information (well, I am not really sure about the rest. So I don't know whether it is the hotel's 'policy' or it was an individual act). Actually he was very friendly but when I asked whether the hotel had a map of Ipoh, he said that the hotel was running out of map because it was a peak season. When asked where we could get a map, he said that most probably all places would be running out of map as well as it was peak season. He suggest us to rent a taxi to give a tour. When asked about the attraction in the city, he mentioned places far away. In shorts, if you want to go sightseeing, you need a taxi! But, he couldn't give the price of the taxi. He said it depended on the deal between me and the taxi driver. (Well, my friend and I had heard about the taxi in Ipoh already. They don't use meter. So we decided not to take taxi)

In the evening we finally could dig the information where the tourist office is out of him. We went there in the morning. It turned out that the tourism office is in the middle of the old town of Ipoh. It is where the main attraction of the city is. The staff in the office is friendly and helpful. And we finally managed to get the map of Ipoh. And the map is actually a photocopied map. (There are other map that is printed and colorful but they are not the city map) If the hotel had the willingness to provide the map for its guest, even though it is in peak season, the hotel should be able to photocopy it. Photocopy is NOT expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ekazfootprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The hotel is really very poor. Far form city center, rooms not so clean. To choose just if you need a budget accomodation.

Room Tip: Rooms giving on main road are very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Budd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
3.7 km away
Hillcity Hotel & Condo
1.4 km away
Dragon & Phoenix Hotel
2.9 km away
Fair Park Hotel
Fair Park Hotel
#36 of 63 in Ipoh
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
650 reviews
1.4 km away
Hong Hin Hotel
Hong Hin Hotel
#29 of 83 in Ipoh
8 reviews
5.6 km away
Mornington Hotel Medan Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangg

Address: 37 Jalan Leong Boon Swee, Ipoh 31650, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Ipoh
Price Range: $17 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shangg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best rated budget hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shangg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing