We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Shangg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shangg
Ranked #30 of 83 Ipoh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I took 10 rooms in this hotel for an educational tour. what impressed me about the place was the security factor and also the cleanliness of the property. the property is well maintained and the staffs are friendly too. Besides that the two who own the place are pleasant people who want you to have a good stay.

There other upside for this property is that although it is a budget hotel, the crowd that comes here is mostly family and backpackers. so there is little or none riff raff.

The aircond and water heater from the ten rooms that I took was good... my students were very impressed. The kids have requested that they stay there again if we go to Ipoh..... I believe that speaks for the property it self

Room Tip: when everything is good what else to say except come and stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurajoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

I parked my new car outside the hotel in a public area and was strongly advised by the staff that I should haved parked it at the designated area inside the hotel , as there were many car theft cases lately.

Good to have such good advice...!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DIonLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed in Hotel Shangg for 2days 1 night with a bunch of kids and the service was very friendly.for the service they give i feel the price of a room is cheap .the whole hotel in cluding the room was very clean and we also had alot of fun there .....i felt very a home staying there.I would recomend this hotel 4 alot of travellers.


From,
Kishan D.Buxani

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyrajoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We are travelling around Asia and this is without doubt the best budget hotel we have stayed in. The joint owners have more than 50 years experience in the hotel business and it shows! There are clean towels and bed linen EVERY day. The room is spacious, very clean and tastefully decorated. One of the owners went out of his way to show us some of the sights of Ipoh. He set the standard for all the staff being very courteous and friendly. Breakfast was a 60 second walk away and an excellent Chinese restaurant was a 5-10 minute walk away. We will definitely use this hotel again if we return to Ipoh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JMB1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

The hotel is located in the middle of a car sales/industrial services area, meaning there are no restaurants or shops close by. As there is no breakfast possibility at the hotel, one has to walk a fair bit to find a breakfast restaurant (especially if you don't want a hot Malay/Chinese type breakfast), and the choice for dining options in the area is very limited, too, but Ipoh is relatively small and you will find something close enough.

As for the hotel, I had booked a superior room which was relatively large and clean, but I did not like the carpetted floor that had sucked in the smell of cigarettes smoked in the room. I asked if I could have a non-smoking room instead but was told the only non-smoking rooms were windowless, which I did not like. I would suggest the management to take the carpet out to have a cleaner feel to the room in general.

As a solo female traveller I did not feel very comfortable in the evening in the area, but other than that the hotel was great value for the money, a clean and safe hotel to stay a couple of nights.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a window, please remember to ask for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
3.7 km away
Hillcity Hotel & Condo
1.4 km away
Dragon & Phoenix Hotel
1.4 km away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Fair Park Hotel
Fair Park Hotel
#36 of 63 in Ipoh
106 reviews
4.5 km away
Le Hotel
Le Hotel
#20 of 83 in Ipoh
4 reviews
1.4 km away
Hong Hin Hotel
Hong Hin Hotel
#29 of 83 in Ipoh
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangg

Address: 37 Jalan Leong Boon Swee, Ipoh 31650, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Ipoh
Price Range: $17 - $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shangg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best rated budget hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shangg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing