We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nam Heong Old Town White Coffee”

Nam Heong Coffee Shop
Ranked #2 of 36 Coffee & Tea in Ipoh
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The first Old Town White Coffee was born here. The food is very nice and tasty, especially the prawn mee and Char Kuey Teow. Coffee is very good too. They also served freshly baked egg tarts and dim sums. The place is always packed and we need to wait to get seats especially for a large group or family. Very vintage shop and you should come here to enjoy and feel the old street hawker food of Ipoh here.

Date of visit: July 2016
3  Thank hazph
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 120 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2016

very busy place. ordered a few food to share and the egg tart was really good. it was fresh and crust is flaky. it was not very sweet and is to my liking.will go back again if I am in Ipoh.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank heavyrainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This is a place I will visit again and again. The food was delicious. So many things to satisfy my taste buds. The eggs on toast was good so was the kueh Teow goreng and the Chee Cheong fun. Not to mention the dim sum. And few others which I could not try this round.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lynnchoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We bought the egg tarts as they were fresh out from the oven. The crust was flaky and not too buttery. The egg custard filling was generous and smooth. A must try!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Tang_kc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Nam Heong Old Town White Coffee, was not a very uptown type of cafe. It was at the corner of a row of shops. We passed by and decided to make a stop since our driver-friend said we should taste their coffee. According to him, this was the oldest Ipoh White Coffee where the name 'Old Town' came about.

At 11.10am on Thursday, it was already crowded. People sat down happily amidst the warm heat outside the shop. There was already a crowd standing & waiting around. Cars parked along the roadside with passengers waiting to 'packet' - takeaway coffee.

We didn't sit in, since we ate our heavy breakfast at Foh San earlier. We went in to buy packets of 3-in-1 coffee, some packets of coffee powder (grinded), and the delicious egg tarts. I found that Ipoh did sell one of the nicest egg tarts in Malaysia. The custard was so filled up to the top, sweetness was just right, the crust was so crispily layered. We ate them while they were hot! So yummy. My parents loved the coffee. The aroma was strong.

Note: No ambience. Just an old kopi shop. They did sell some noodles but we went there more for the kopi :))

Do drop by if you are not far from there. Might have to settle your cars along the roads though :((

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank TifKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Nam Heong Coffee Shop also viewed

Ipoh, Kinta District
Ipoh, Kinta District
 
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Been to Nam Heong Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.