We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro, but not worth remembering”
Review of Syuen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Syuen Hotel
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed 21 August 2017

This is one of the oldest hotel in town, it is situated in a really nice location, right opposite Ipoh Parade, so you can have your shopping done or catch a movie at night. There are also a few delicacies around this vicinity.
The hotel's lobby looks amazing, very retro and elegant, but lacks renovation. The room was big and nice, but upon further inspection, it is rather run down, old furniture, broken wardrobe, the TV reception is quite bad, OH NO!!!!!!! It is still acceptable though.
Breakfast buffet, it is normal, just requires a bit of supervision for cleanliness, especially the bread counter, there are some ants around the table.
I love how friendly and helpful the staffs were though, overall the stay was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orange_le_Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

This is a message to the owners of this hotel. Why don't you spend some money and restore it?
The rooms are shabby, old and dated. Waited ONE hour for towels when we had none. ONE hour. No exaggeration. We were delayed going out because we couldn't shower coz no towels left for us when we checked in. The WiFi NEVER worked at all. Not even once in the 24 hours we were there. It is just shameful. However, it's a good location and the beds were very comfortable and the aircon was fantastic. I paid the hotel rate of 179rm nett. Would I stay again? Unlikely.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank 490SSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Visited this hotel during Raya break. Good location, near to shopping mall. Just few minutes of walking.

Room quite spacious, comfortable bed although I wish they could provide extra pillow. Clean toilet and equipped with toiletries.

We had issue with breakfast where my brother and I had stomachache after ate the breakfast buffet. Not sure which food that cause this. Hotel really look a bit run down.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank AzrelRahiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

I am a local people, I came to this hotel since20 years ago, after so long time I came back to my hometown I choose to stay in this hotel with all my good memories. The hotel room is good, both bed n bathroom are good. The breakfast is very nice too. Syeun hotel is very convenient near to the biggest shopping in ipoh. It's nice to stay here

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Saddha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Initial impressions were a bit of a worry as the old girl is nearly 25 years old and looks a bit tired. However it got better. The room was large, the linen good, the bed comfortable, the a/c cold, the bath hot, the fridge worked........what more could you want!
Being Ramadan we opted for room service and had some great food at a good price.
Westeners note this is an alcohol free hotel, so be prepared.
Breakfast the next day was very good, with a large selection of both local and western food.
Good value for money and we would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Suggest the higher the better to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank madeleine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.4 km away
Tower Regency Hotel & Apartments Sdn Bhd
1.2 km away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
0.2 km away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#36 of 63 in Ipoh
178 reviews
1.1 km away
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
#60 of 63 in Ipoh
484 reviews
0.4 km away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Syuen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Syuen Hotel

Address: Syuen Hotel 88 Jalan Sultan Abdul Jalil, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range: $54 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Syuen Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Syuen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing