We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cititel Express Ipoh
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is at Ipoh's Padang and just 10 minutes walking distance from the train station. It is comfortable and the service at reception is very effective and friendly. We had a small problem with the electric panel in our room and they changed our room quickly without problems. The views are nice from the room, beds are cosy and the breakfast is ok. The hotel is very well located in Ipoh's Chinatown and there's a lot to do and see in Chinatown. We recommend to eat at Plan B (awesome design and huge spaces) and STG Boutique Cafe (very comfortable chairs, nice local and good food).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Chiquindenait99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CE_Ipoh, Reservation Supervisor at Cititel Express Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cititel Express Ipoh
We appreciated on your good reviews.
Looking forward on your next visit in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Good to stay for:
1. Close distance to the tourist spots ie few streets away fr concubine lane and museums area. A short 5-min walk and you'll reach the heritage zone.
2. Cosy, clean and quiet room, ours is a triple room for 2nights. The decent size makes it spacious enough for 3 pax plus a baby.
3. Another plus point is toilet. Spacious, extremely clean with strong shower.
4. Acceptable wifi strength
5. No astro channel, but an interesting list of english movies, new and old.
6. Not a fan of 3-in-1 coffee, but my family members found the complimentary sachets fairly aromatic. Try and see on your own.

Better reconsider for:
1. Slow counter service, average check in time is 30min. This might be due to weekends perhaps. But for only 3 check in counter, there's a 10 staff standing and only 3 are working. Quite a sore and looks messy for the first walk in impression.
2. No housekeeping service provided for us who stayed 2nights. To assume guests who stay longer that they don't need housekeeping service is quite unacceptable, at least make an effort to replenish drinks. No sorry from the counter and housekeeping line after repeated complaints and callings. They only come at last at 430pm after an afternoon of waiting. Make sure you remind the counter to make the room is you are staying for another night.
3. Very very very limited parkings, truly limited. You'll be advised to park across the road. Some parkings require you to leave the car keys. Pls reconfirm with the parking attendant which roadside parking is safe from summons.
4. Poor breakfast, only mees and fried rice, as well as breads or coco crunch. Not even boiled eggs provided. Coffee tastes like water, so it might be good if you just ignore the hotel breakfast and hunt for good food in the town centre. As it's within close proximity, not hard to find decent old coffee shops at all, and it's also cheap if you dont opt for those commercial and travel-recommended shops.

In short, it's value for money if you dont mind much of the parking and breakfast.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank nicholas c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CE_Ipoh, Reservation Supervisor at Cititel Express Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cititel Express Ipoh
We appreciated on your good reviews,
We feel apologize for your unpleasant experience during your stay.We already forward your reviews to our management and will take immediate action to ensure that will not be repeated again in future.We will work rapidly and move beyond in order to fulfill our guest satisfaction.Regarding the parking and breakfast issue we are looking into this issue seriously. Looking forward on your next pleasant stay in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Free WiFi, free parking, free movies, complimentary water - what else can you ask for? It is located close to tourist attractions and local eateries - walking distance. The service is excellent. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.
The only complaint is that the parking is limited.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SiewKuenYee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CE_Ipoh, Reservation Supervisor at Cititel Express Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cititel Express Ipoh
We appreciated on your good reviews,
We are looking into our parking issue seriously and definitely
we will move beyond in order to fulfill our guest satisfaction
Looking forward on your next visit in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I have travelled and stayed all around the world and this hotel has to rank amongst the worst for service. The facilities are clean and OK but service is idiotic. I tried to make a local call from the room. They say it cannot be done because calls are blocked. But you can do it if you go down to the reception and they charge $1 per minute. ....They say the the phone is for room to room calls which you can make... why the F would I want to call other rooms but can't call out?

The breakfast was bad. It was so simple it reminded me of the open peanut butter jar and a loaf of spilling white bread in the dorms in London when I was travelling cheap in hostels in my youth...

I won't describe how it was speaking to the receptionists, and management, I might vomit blood in recounting my experience, but YMMV if you have the patience of 12 saints. My request for late check out was passed through 3 people, and made 3 times before I could get an answer. The answer was ridiculous for the hospitality sector. Avoid this Hotel.

Room Tip: high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShinEgashira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CE_Ipoh, Reservation Supervisor at Cititel Express Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Mr Shin,

Thank you for choosing Cititel Express Ipoh and thank you for letting us know the
We apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay,
we will forward all your feedback to our management to move beyond in order to provide better service to our valuable guest.We will take immediate action with the staff and make sure it's not repeated in future.

Your Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Cititel Express was an excellent value choice for my train journey visit to Ipoh.

The location was excellent - a reasonably easy and immensely enjoyable walk from historic train station along a heritage route to hotel, which took me only 5-10 minutes. Charming restaurants in Old Town - (I went to Thean Chun for dinner and Burps & Giggles for breakfast, both of which I recommend) - are only a few minutes walk away. In the morning I ran along the Kinta Riverfront trail and adjacent parks from immediately in front of the hotel, creating a nice 2-kilometer loop past locals doing morning tai chi and dance routines.

My 10th floor room facing east had views of the nearby limestone hills and modern buildings in the newer section of Ipoh along with more distant mountains. The room itself was clean, quiet and comfortable. The reception was very friendly

I would certainly choose Cititel Express again. Otherwise, the nearby Container Hotel looked like the other great location for visiting the charming historic section of Ipoh and being within walking distance of the train station, and which appeared to be a bit more atmospheric than the Cititel Express (which admittedly is a bit of an eyesore from the outside).




Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Jay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CE_Ipoh, Reservation Supervisor at Cititel Express Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear Valuable Guest,

Thank you for choosing Cititel Express Ipoh
We appreciated on your good reviews and comments.
Looking forward on your next visit in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.6 km away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
641 reviews
1 km away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#11 of 63 in Ipoh
399 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#36 of 63 in Ipoh
178 reviews
6.2 km away
Symphony Suites Hotel
1.4 km away
Seemsoon Hotel
Seemsoon Hotel
#25 of 63 in Ipoh
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cititel Express Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cititel Express Ipoh

Address: 2 Jalan S P Seenivasagam, Ipoh 30000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range: $39 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cititel Express Ipoh 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cititel Express Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing