We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo
Open today: 9:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Experience

This is a well-preserved building with all its period fittings. The tour guide was very informative... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Hariaran
,
Ipoh, Malaysia
Excellent Visit

Excellent guided tour to a very interesting exhibit. Enjoyed very much the clear historical review... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
TTartanpion
Read all 1,339 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ipoh
from US$4.57
More Info
Ipoh City Tour
7 Reviews
from US$70.00
More Info
from US$100.00
More Info
from US$52.02
More Info
Reviews (1,339)
Filter reviews
1,339 results
Traveller rating
964
351
19
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
964
351
19
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tin miners laksa guided tour hakka community book in advance historical building rich history concubine lane club donation museum industry chin leong exhibits clan insight
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 1,339 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2019

The visit to the museum is only allowed with the guided walk with prior booking online or at their door step. Originally, the museum was the home of the Hakka Tin Miners Club which founded in 1893. It was very interesting to know about the history of the building, the tin mining industry and Hakka people in the old days through the guided walk. The guided walk is available in either English or Mandarin. Small donation is recommended before you leave the museum to support the up-keeping of the museum.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Budakampung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2019

Dear Budakampung, thank you for writing a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are happy to know you find our guided tour interesting with plenty of stories to tell about the tin mining industry and the Hakka people. We also like to thank you for recommending to give a donation before leaving for the upkeep of the historical building. Have a great day ahead and hope to see you again soon ! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2019

During my recent travels to Ipoh, I actually went to 6 different museum (due to the Sama Sama festival, which is until the end of this year) and I find that this museum stand out, as compared to the others. We were also very fortunate, as we went on a public holiday (National Day), they actually extended their opening hours till 8 pm (woots).

This museum was especially my mom's favorite, as she is Hakka herself and she took joy in explaining the various things related.

The boards on the walls were informative and the set-up was so picture-worthy. Do drop by here to visit and learn and please don't forget to leave a donation on your way out!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Aliciakhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2019

Dear Aliciakhy, thank you for spending some time for writing a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are delighted to know you find our museum stand out from others and that your mom loves the museum very much. Yes, whoever comes in will surely have a glimpse of the past history of the Hakka community and tin mining industry. Thank you for mentioning to remember to donate on the way out. Hope to see you again back to our museum in the near future. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2019

Visited the museum in 1 Sep 2019. It was a very interesting & informative visit with the guide from Mandy (Chinese session). Han Chin Pet Soo (闲真别墅) is Malaysia's first Hakka tin mining museum. Originally the home of the Hakka Tin Miners Club, founded in 1893. The building was rebuilt in 1929 to replace the earlier double-storey club house on the same site to three floors unique museum. On display are artifacts, collectibles, ephemeras and also photographs from the 19th and 20th century. True to life murals painted on wall provides the experience of a tin mine. Visitors are required to make bookings online or in person prior to their visit. Worth to pay a visit but don't forget to leave a donation after visit!!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank AnnieLau82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Dear AnnieLau82, thank you for giving us your time to key a few words of your review on tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you find the Mandarin tour very interesting and informative with stories about Hakka communities and tin mining industry. Yes, all visitors are required to book online prior to their visit. We also wish to thank you for mentioning that it is worth a visit and remember to leave a donation after visit. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

We were recommended here by a taxi driver and had noticed the standout building beforehand. You had to leave your email address to book a place on a tour, but this was very straightforward.
The tour took about an hour and the delightful guide provided some terrific insights into not just clan life, but to life in tin mining Ipoh as well. The exhibits were varied in quality but combined with the commentary, made for an excellent experience. Make sure you leave a donation.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Cathat51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2019

Dear Cathat51, thank you for taking time to write a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are delighted to hear you had an excellent experience during your visit in our Hakka Miners Club with varieties of exhibits plus stories of the Hakka communities and tin mining industry. Yes, visitors are encouraged to make reservation online before coming to avoid disappointment. Hope to see you again some time soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

A great little tour of this most interesting and well presented museum. The guide was friendly,knowledgeable and spoke great English. Would recommend to anyone interested in Malaysian history, the tin mining industry and Chinese influence on this area.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank waiKowhai02
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Dear waiKowhai02, thank you for spending some time to write a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are happy to know you find the tour very interesting and well presented on the history of the Hakka Miners Club, tin mining industry and the Chinese influence in Ipoh. Hope to see you again back to our museum in near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews