We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Awesom_Andy
Sydney, Australia
Still a good option for a budget stay
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Feb 2014
My last stay was a couple of years back, and it's good to see everything has remained more or less the same. It's quite clean, and the bed is comfortable, and the standard inclusions, while basic, they cover for everything that's reasonably needed. The location is within walking distance to the food places on Jalan Mcalister, Komtar, and the nearby shopping malls. The shower works well too, although whoever thought that it's a good idea to have the toilet exactly where the shower is should be shot. There is also the issue with wifi connection, as it seems the coverage is not very good, and if you're in the room that's all the way down into the corner, you might not get a signal strong enough to connect.

Apart from these issues, Overall, I'm quite happy with the stay, and will definitely consider again should I venture in Penang again and looking for a budget option. For the prices charged, it works quite well as a budget base.
Date of stay: January 2014
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
S$146
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    S$97
  • Agoda.com
    S$75
  • Priceline
0.8 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$107
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    S$69
  • Expedia.com
    S$89
0.7 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
S$228
  • Expedia.com
    S$191
  • Agoda.com
    S$127
  • Priceline
1.2 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
getlstd_property_photo
Booking.com
S$66
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    S$50
  • Vio.com
0.7 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$285
Fully refundable
  • Hotel Website
    S$216
  • Algotels
    S$246
  • Expedia.com
    S$306
1.4 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$189
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    S$160
  • KLOOK
    S$119
  • Priceline
2.6 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Aerial View of Savv Boutique Hotel
Booking.com
S$118
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    S$76
  • Trip.com
1.9 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
S$45
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    S$34
  • Expedia.com
    S$40
1.1 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
S$46
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel website
    S$46
  • KLOOK
    S$35
  • Priceline
1.4 km from OYO 89421 PP Island Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in George Town
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
14
48
14
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
14
48
14
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here several times now and so far no complaints on this place.

It is located in the heart of Penang, giving you easy access to anywhere you want to go to. The price is very reasonable and cheap too. The room is very clean and simple, with all the basic amenities and facilities provided. They have hot shower, TV, a/c and a nice good bed. The reception staff keeps changing but their service is good. Fast and efficient (would be perfect if they would smile a little though) check-in and check-out.

We never tried their breakfast as there are many restaurants located nearby for dim sums or noodles in the morning and BBQ chicken wing and oyster eggs in the evening. The location is just perfect.

One minus point though, is the limited parking space. Its on a first come first serve basis and once its full you will have to find your own, and warn you, it is quite difficult as the parking space in the area is also very limited and you might have to park it very far down the road.

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunseanfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Not a bad hotel at all for the value. We chose a budget hotel for our stay in Penang and it served its purposes. Our room was quite small so we upgraded to the next class so the 3 of us could be more comfortable. The room had pretty strong AC as well. Located in a good area convenient to most touristy places, this hotel served as a great base during our stay. On our more ambitious days, we walked to the downtown areas. There were multiple food stalls nearby that are walking distance as well (soooo delicioius). The staff did their best to help us when we needed directions, a cab, etc. For a budget hotel, I would stay here again.

Room tip: The rooms are quite cramped so keep this in mind when you're booking a room.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jing0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

It's less than 10 minutes walk to Georgetown. Great dim sum places just across and beside the hotel.
Room is big and clean. However, bring ur own toothbrush and hair & body shampoo. The neighborhood is quiet and safe.

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yeekangwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

Clean and spacious room! It comes with a free first come first serve parking, good for those who drove to penang. Very good value for the amount we paid! :) love the location as well, so convenient and near to many good hawker stalls and restaurants! Will recommend my friends this hotel.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElsonKho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We booked the double rooms for rm85 / night. Location not bad, consider that there're many hawker stalls nearby. Parking is first comes first serve. Small lobby, no restaurant, only a vending machine

Rooms 706: nice view, small size, dirty bedsheets with two hole! , bathroom doorknob rusty to the state of unacceptable!, mouldy ceilings, shower head went wrong but was fixed immediately. No hair dryer in rooms(have to call). No tea making facilities. Paper thin walls.Wifi is snail speed.

It was very cheap stay but the quality is way too bad..will not come back again

Date of stay: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fayyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews