We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HERITAGE HOTEL”
Review of Coffee Atelier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coffee Atelier
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Very very unusual hotel. very old 1912 hotel with all original features. small family hotel and has its own restaurant. Good fresh breakfast very filling could do bit more choice and variety. very very good staff and very helpful. great location. value for money.

Room Tip: Try upstairs rooms nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jazzcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write a review! Glad you enjoyed our little place Coffee Atelier and hope that we ca welcome you soon again. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in a downstairs suite at this converted shop house. The suite consisted of a dressing room, bedroom and outdoor courtyard with private bathroom. Our stay was so quiet and comfortable. The bedding and bed were fantastic. Breakfast at the onsite cafe was inclusive and was excellent. The owner and staff at this guesthouse were very friendly. The location is excellent for e coloring Georgetown and beyond from, being just a short walk from the ferry and bus terminal. I hope we return.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sueanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thanks again for staying for us and for taking time to write a review. Glad you enjoyed George Town and our little place Coffee Atelier. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We stayed at the ground floor and it was big on space and characteristic. The history behind the hotel is very interesting and the art gallery is very nice too. The bed room was well appointed and the bathroom and toilet facilities at the back were very spacious. Suggestions: It would be nice to have collapsible rack for the luggage and night curtain for the bedroom.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TKLee888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your kind review. Will look into your two suggestions (collapsible rack and night curtains), thank you for mentioning them. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

It is hard to say why exactly our family felt that way but perhaps it was summary of all these small things. Check-in was very friendly, our First floor suite very interesting with separate comfy bedroom for our child. All these interesting details in the room did add up – nice old renovated furniture, doors, narrow stairs just created very good atmosphere. Double doors to street-side small room (yes there is noisy bar just over street) did help to shut the noise. Bathroom was an almost open-air one so you can enjoy hot weather during washing up and dry soaked clothes. Location of hotel is really central in the warren of small streets that were all very interesting so we could enjoy good walks in vicinity. And breakfast was also delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcoming you soon again. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The owner, Stefan, and his staff were all so amazingly friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good. Our downstairs suite was a generous size, clean, quite comfortable, nicely decorated & furnished in the heritage style. Our outdoor courtyard complete with toilet & shower & lovely plants, was unusual & a nice experience. The location was good for seeing the old town and we would stay there again. No hesitation in recommending Coffee Atelier to visitors to the area. However, when people were staying upstairs their comings & goings were quite noisy (including the plumbing) particularly at night.

Room Tip: If you want quieter rooms, downstairs at the back is advised
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank POBox202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan G, Owner at Coffee Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thanks again for staying with us and for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will be able to welcoming you soon again. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
0.7 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 87 in George Town
674 reviews
0 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 87 in George Town
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,727 reviews
1 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#9 of 87 in George Town
502 reviews
0.3 km away
Muntri Mews
Muntri Mews
#7 of 87 in George Town
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coffee Atelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Atelier

Address: 47 - 55 Lorong Stewart, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in George Town
#4 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: $108 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coffee Atelier 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COFFEE ATELIER is located right in the core zone of George Town, Penang, a UNESCO World Heritage Site.It comprises a collection of five beautifully restored early 20th century shophouses. Today it houses an eclectic mix of a restaurant, an art gallery, a coffee museum and suites which are fully appointed with all modern amenities for short or long term stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coffee Atelier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Atelier Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing